We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Reading Whitley

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Reading Whitley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Reading Whitley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Good location & price, however desperately needs some renovation & money spent. The communal areas very very tired. The bathroom was thick with limescale. We had a family room, and although the king size bed was very comfy, the additional beds for the children were as hard as concrete - all members of the family nned to sleep well.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience, in such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or resolve the issues you have. In any case we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience and apologise for your last stay...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I travel a lot for business and use Travelodge frequently. I have to say the Travelodge at whitely is by far the worst I have ever stayed in. The room stank! The stench emanating from the filthy un hoovered carpet was very unpleasant forcing me to leave the window open for my entire stay ( not great for a women...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wmor2n
TravelodgeUK, Shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not to the exceptional standard we strive for and we do apologise for this. We can assure you we will be passing on your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel to enable us to improve the service we offer. Could we kindly ask you...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We had a lovely stay but if you have an late check out,make sure you check with them and not the rude receptionist blonde and chubby girl but rooms were lovely and the room was quiet and the rest of the team was approachable and kind

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charleyy R
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Reading Whitley Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear of your experience with the reception team and we would like to reassure you that your comments have been passed to the hotel manager to ensure all team members are retrained in Customer Care. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you received....

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Our bath had stains in it and pubic hairs in it. The dusting of the room had not been done in days. There were stains on the wall near our bed. And the carpet had not been hoovered in days or at any time over out 2 day stay there.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry930
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Reading Whitley Travelodge. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Very basic rooms.The standards of cleanliness in terms of carpets and bathroom was very poor,although bed linen was clean.Also a smell of dampness in rooms.Overall the whole place looks tired and in need of upgrading.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shahida552
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Reading Whitley Travelodge. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we would like to apologise that your room was not cleaned to our usual high standard. We will be sure to pass your valuable comments to the hotel to ensure that the service we provide improves. May we thank you again for your...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with 2 adults and a baby. We said this when booking. When shown to our room there was no cot but two extra beds made up. Luckily we had our own travel boy with us. The room smelt awfully of damp. When I complained I was asked to wait whilst they checked another room. This took ages....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetvs
TravelodgeUK, Adele from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Reading Whitley Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Very friendly staff , lovely beds so comfortable too , well presented hotel, out standing disabled parking places . the staff were very helpful and very polite , with lots of knowledge , very eager to help you

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Reviewed 16 July 2016

On our recent trip back to Reading we stayed in this Old Faithful Hotel, one we have used many times. Our previous trip to Reading we had an unexpected and not a great expectation!! In a Reading Hotel, however this Hotel is dependable, easy to find, clean and comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stubai99
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive. We will be making the hotel aware of your comments and we do hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Sarstedt, Germany
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

A standard Travelodge. Reasonable prices for a good nights sleep. No frills service. Friendly, helpful staff. Free parking. Would be better if the shower head could be moved. Not very good for tall people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frank3357
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

It's a Travelodge. Don't expect anything fancy because you won't get it it, and that means it can be poor value. However, it's functional, and we slept well. Rooms are a decent size. There's a snack and drinks vending machine in the foyer. It's next to a pub/carvery, although we didn't go in there. It's about an £8 taxi use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Hiscocks
TravelodgeUK, Adele from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Reading Whitley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us in improving our services. We will ensure our hotel team receive a copy of your review and we do apologise for any disappointment that has been caused on this occasion.

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.7 km away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
916 reviews
0.7 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 32 in Reading
1,700 reviews
1.4 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
3.0 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Reading Whitley

Address: 387 Basingstoke Road | Whitley, Reading RG2 0JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: ₹ 3,989 - ₹ 9,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Reading Whitley 2*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Reading Whitley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Reading
Travel Lodge Reading
Reading Travel Lodge
Reading Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Reading Whitley staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Workington, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Reading Whitley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles spock_10, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“In answer to the question: "Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room"..... my answer would be: book in somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles WarringtonBaz, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great Food just opposite at world turned upside down pub”
 of 5 bubbles 264jg, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I got room 1 next to reception and front door and thought it might be noisy but it was fine. Really spacious and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles 579carolineg, 25 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Wifi is only 30 mins free”
 of 5 bubbles 998colink, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5