We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

920 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hillingdon Prince Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 886: English reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, thankfully. Let's just say never again.. it reminded us of a hostel. We were put in room 508 and there was a lovely white stain on the headboard? Can only imagine what that was. Throughout the night people where in and out of the building which was very odd especially early hours of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica D
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

I am sad to receive your review as I have no record of your complaint at reception and no record of any loud music, I am very sorry to hear that you were disturbed. The cleaning issues you mentioned will certainly be investigated and are certainly not to our usual standard. It is such a shame to hear about any...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Spent the first hour cleaning my room - I requested anit-bac spray from the reception after being ignored by a member of cleaning staff. Pubic Hair, stains, Grey Toilet Brush Water -& a blocked toilet. I requested help to clean it and was ignored. The location is in quite a rough part of Reading - I don't feel particularly safe....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A-RJames109
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

We take all guests comments very seriously as we want all our guests to have a great stay with us. This is an unusual review as this lady lives close to the hotel and knows the area well, therefore I am surprised to read her comments about the area being rough and cars not being safe. We are in a...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a good sized family room , had issues with the window, however, Darren sorted this instantly. We ate the veggie curry which was good value for money. Very convenient for the university and the shops, both within easy walking distance. Ample free parking and left the car there the second day without charge. Staff are very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tine1971
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU for your kind comments Darren was especially chuffed to see his name on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Katy Beeson - GM

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I stayed for a couple of nights in this small, elegant and very friendly hotel in November quite close to the University in Reading. My room was simply furnished but spotlessly clean and came complete with mini kitchenette. I particularly liked the relaxed, comfortable and cosy bar area and the large lounge with comfy armchairs and also the fact that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 271Peterd2014
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review regarding your stay at our hotel, all the staff really appreciate your comments. I do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the UK. Did you pick up one of our discount cards? if not please do let us know so we can post one to you. Many...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Nice location, just far enough to not be too busy. Very nice old building with very helpful and friendly staff. Rooms not as luxurious as some hotels but everything you need. I also paid half the price the Hilton was asking. If you want a bed for a night, with free open air parking attached, then it's a bargain. Probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. You are right we are not a luxurious hotel hence the two star rating, however we pride ourselves on friendly service, clean and comfortable rooms , free wifi and fridges & microwaves in all our rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will come and stay with us again soon....

Wiltshire
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This is the second occasion that my wife and I have stayed at the Hillingdon Prince. We find it suits or short stay needs very well. It is only a 2 star hotel but as such fills this rating very well. On both of our visits the rooms have been clean and tidy with towels supplied. The breakfasts are of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AEGP
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, all the staff do appreciate your nice comments. I am pleased to hear both times you have had a great stay and appreciate you sharing this with others. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Reading. Kind regards Katy Beeson General Manager

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Good points. Plenty of parking and meal not bad although menu not good. 5 meals offered. Cosey bar area but expensive especially soft drinks. Stayed at rooms at the back and as soon as you walk in it smells. Rooms clean but if you are an early bird forget it as you can here tvs etc from both rooms either...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carl r
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Situated a short, 15 minutes or so walk from 'The Oracle' in reading centre, this is a clean and pleasant hotel. Staff are always friendly and helpfull. You must remember that this is a 2star hotel, so do't expect a Mariott or Crowne Plazza, but that said the rooms are clean and functional, with a decent sized kettle (not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Visited in December. There is only one word for this place: Dirty. The place did not have the cleaners in perhaps since it was built. The place was run down with unidentifiable smells all over the room. I was definitely misguided on booking by inappropriate reviews or really low standard customers. I would score 0 if there was this rating.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vassilis764
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review

It is such a shame to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at our hotel. The cleanliness we provide is very important to us and I am sorry to hear of we did not meet your expectations. I welcome you to contact me directly to discuss your comments in more details katybeeson@hotmail.co.uk Thank you Katy Beeson General Manager

Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

I always stay at this Hotel when I'm working. The staff are friendly,helpful and efficient. Nothing is no problem as they resolve it to their best abilities. If there is a problem they will change rooms which in some cases is an upgrade. The reason I use this Hotel is because of the facilities it has in the rooms to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcpw1

402 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
3:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (209)
Viewed
Budget Double Room (21)
Viewed
Club Double Room (22)
Viewed
Double Studio (21)
Viewed
Family Room (for Four) (29)
Viewed
Family Room (for Three) (22)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Small Single Room (24)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.6 km away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
946 reviews
1.9 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 32 in Reading
1,725 reviews
2.5 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 32 in Reading
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
2,185 reviews
1.6 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Price Range: ₹ 2,821 - ₹ 6,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillingdon Prince Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hillingdon Prince Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“In another hotel”
Deeley91, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms are spacious”
rpool14, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms looking over Christchurch or with a view of the church (at the front of the hotel) are better and the road is quiet too.”
271Peterd2014, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to book the studio accommodation as this does give more space in the rooms.”
AEGP, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are varied. We prefer the Club rooms”
353ians, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5