We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malmaison Oxford Castle

Save
Traveller (1813)
Room & Suite (584)
Dining (120)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“converted prison”(159 reviews)
“cell rooms”(108 reviews)
“roll top bath”(130 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (3,250)
Filter reviews
3,166 results
Traveller rating
1,367
976
477
227
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,367
976
477
227
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted prisoncell roomsroll top bathunique hotelcell blockexercise yardoriginal cellssuperior cellsunday stopovermain prisonpizza expressporridgespecial occasionbirthday treatcontinental breakfastcar parkingcity centre
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 3,166 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

I have stayed here many times although the building is great the service is at times awful ! Each time we go back hoping it will be better but its the little niggling issues that spoils a stay here. For example, you can leave a...More

Thank Carol C
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I’m a little late with writing this review but our experience can not be forgotten. My partner had booked us in for a night as ‘a treat’ and it truly was. From the minute we arrived the service we received was 2nd to none. Unbeknown...More

Thank Claire B
Response from Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford CastleResponded yesterday

Dear Claire B, Thank you very much for your review. Firstly congratulations to both of you on our engagement! We are thrilled that we were able to help with this special occasion, and I have already passed on your kind words to Patrick. We hope...More

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This was our first stay in Oxford and we were very pleased that we selected the Malmaison as it is an excellent hotel in a very good location. It’s easy to get to in a car and they have valet parking facilities. The hotel is...More

Thank tbuae999
Response from Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford CastleResponded 4 days ago

Dear tbuae999, Thank you very much for your review. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your first visit to Oxford! We are pleased that you enjoyed the converted prison cell room, and I will pass on your feedback...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Stayed a Saturday night. Expensive room rate which did not include breakfast or parking. Room had a small full length mirror on a cupboard door,inadequate when preparing for a party. Bed was a small double. Not enough space in the bathroom for toiletries.Basin plug did...More

Thank Horsetown
Response from Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford CastleResponded 5 days ago

Dear Horsetown, Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to see that you did not enjoy elements of your stay with us, and I will share your feedback with the team. Kind regards, Kasey Watson Bar and Brasserie Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Hotels in old prisons have a tendency to be hostel-like, even if they’ve been thoroughly modernized. It’s something to do with all those whitewashed walls and the small rooms with tiny windows. Malmaison pulls it off better than most, in my opinion. The place is...More

Thank Fre B
Response from Antonio S, Manager at Malmaison Oxford CastleResponded 5 days ago

Dear Fre B, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our rooms to be comfortable and cosy. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Kasey Watson Bar and...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oxford
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 219 - US$ 515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 219 - US$ 515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (1813)
Room & Suite (584)
Dining (120)
Amenities (18)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mwelsh06
27 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Antonio S | Property representative |
Good evening, Yes we do have a lift, which access the majority of rooms. There are however some rooms which cannot be accessed, or have a few steps within the room, so please specify when booking. For your information... More
0
Votes
Rach B
29 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Stephen S | Reviewed this property |
For the full experience of the prison, book in the actual prison. The house of correction is opposite the prison.
2
Votes
Portugal103
18 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Antonio S | Property representative |
Dear Tanya, Thanks for your message - I have cancelled the car parking space for you. We look forward to seeing you soon! Kasey
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Avoid any room above the Slug&Lettuce"
Read review
"Sunday stopover rates good value. You have to spend a minimum amount in their restaurant but easy to do."
Read review
"Book in the old prison section to get the "old cell" feeling!"
Read review
"Go for one of the superior cell rooms to get the real experience."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing