We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bocardo

PricelineUS$ 135*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Bocardo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bocardo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 170: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Unfortunately, I thought I was booking myself and daughter into a boutique hotel - this is anything but. Grossly over-priced for what they are offering. I mistakenly thought the high room rate indicated an upmarket room. I should have read the reviews more carefully - I don't understand how they are getting good ones.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxijoll
THE_BOCARDO, Guest Relations Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you were disappointed, but trust the location contributed to your enjoyment of Oxford City centre, and we do compete with other Hotels that charge more in the City centre

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We chose the Bocardo because of its central location, and it was. It had a hostel-like entrance. Reception on first floor accessible only by stairs. Reception wasn't particularly friendly. Room size was OK. Bathroom was small and a noisy pump shot in action each time we used water. Early morning street activity was very noisy. We paid £115 plus an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Filip C
THE_BOCARDO, Guest Relations Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, and hope you find the right location next time.

caerphilly
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

four star hotel then you wont be disappointed. it was clean, the staff were friendly and to be honest i didnt see the fuss with the steps. as i have stayed in grandeur hotels that have more stairs to climb. the reason for booking was the central situation of the hotel. close to many well known restaurant chains and individual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
THE_BOCARDO, Guest Relations Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

thank you for your review, and great to see the balanced view direct from a guest. Look forward to you staying with us again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Room was clean, reception was very friendly and the location was excellent, and I think the location dictates the price. Breakfast is not available although there is a spoons opposite. The reception was very friendly and gave us good advice and kept our bags during the day of our checkout so we could walk round Oxford. For someone who doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjontaela
THE_BOCARDO, Guest Relations Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

This is NOT a four star hotel. It is more like a hostel. £135 for a tiny cramped room with a shower on what must be the noisiest busiest road in the city with the all night noise that comes from night clubs and bars. OK I could have researched that but the hotel has no breakfast facility (or restaurant)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank timstuckes
THE_BOCARDO, Guest Relations Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Your description of the City centre is accurate, and explains the buzz of the City centre ... we agree not for all !

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

Lots of steps to get in be careful if you cant do these - however very nice clean place in the centre of Oxford no food but good clean rooms with big bed and hot shower room had very good nights sleep

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
THE_BOCARDO, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to share your thoughts following your recent stay with us. It’s always a great pleasure to receive valuable feedback. Our team here at The Bocardo consistently makes every effort to provide an excellent service to all our guests. I was also glad to read that location was convenient for the purpose...

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

I am so surprised by the time walk in the room as consider the tiny entrance and lobby, but the rooms are definitely big enough as those five stars hotel, but cost half. Bacardo located in the centre of Oxford and walkable distance to most extraction. Although it said has parking in some website but it doesn't and the close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raymond_DELAYNOMORE
THE_BOCARDO, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to share your lovely review and your kind recommendations. I was thrilled to know that the team and in room facilities have exceeded your expectations. I was also glad to read that location was convenient for the purpose of your stay. The nearest car park is on Worcester Street (OX1 2BQ in...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Please, please, please think again about using this "Hotel" (boarding house). To be fair they are right that the place is in the centre of Oxford but anything else in their advertising is pure fantasy. A double bed in a room at the top of god knows how many stairs does not constitute a double room when you can't even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pete K
THE_BOCARDO, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at The Bocardo. Please accept my sincere apologies that we have inadvertently managed to detract so much from what I otherwise hope would have been a most enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is most appreciated and please rest assured that we...

Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

The location is the best thing about this hotel- that you can't fault and the bedsheets and towels were clean but for the price the place is looking really shoddy. We stayed in room 1, tired furniture, the faucet was hanging off the sink, the TV was glitchy, when you ran the water the noise from the pump was incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bonnie G
THE_BOCARDO, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us at The Bocardo. Please accept my sincere apologies that we have inadvertently managed to detract so much from what I otherwise hope would have been a most enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback is most appreciated and please rest assured that we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Avoid this hotel at all costs. A tiny, un-inspring room an even tinier bathroom, no receptionist most of the time and at £155 per night a complete rip-off. Up a narrow staircase above a busy restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Laddie54
THE_BOCARDO, Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. Please accept my most sincere apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I really appreciate your feedback and I will make sure to speak to the team regarding these issues. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Management

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
0.8 km away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.5 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 83 in Oxford
193 reviews
0.2 km away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#23 of 83 in Oxford
357 reviews
0.1 km away
Henry's
Henry's
#42 of 83 in Oxford
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about The Bocardo

Address: 24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 9,270 - ₹ 14,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bocardo 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bocardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bocardo staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Northampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Bocardo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't bother”
822petek, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 2 faced the street and was noises until 3 am.”
DrForgot, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter because the room at the front overlook the main high street and night club.”
K9450EXmatthewp, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had a corner suite on top floor, very noisy at night, but bright and sunny during the day.”
crackers2014, 28 May 2016 | Read review
“Not much choice to be honest..!”
grgreen2016, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 135* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 135
Booking.comUS$ 135
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates