We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

De Vere Oxford Thames

Show Prices
#5 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
De Vere Oxford Thames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 907: English reviews
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

While spending time before a customer visit I stopped by this place for lunch. The lobby/bar area was comfortable and the lunch (egg/mayo) sandwich was very tasty. Unfortunately I didn't have the opportunity to stay for the night but I will definitely try this one out next time I am around Oxford

Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A group of us were visiting for our Christmas party and the staff were simply great!! Natalie and Csilla (apologies if that's spelt incorrectly) looked after us and they were such lovely girls they need a special mention because not only were they polite and professional but they were friendly and hilarious!!! They even got our moody boss drinking espresso... More 

Helpful?
Thank lucylatts
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear lucylatts, Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review of De Vere Oxford Thames. Natalie and Csilla were thrilled to read your kind comments, as they very much enjoyed your company and humour during your stay. I personally thank you for your kind recommendation of De Vere Oxford Thames and look forward to welcoming you all back... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We went to the spa bit it was not worth it. The spa itself is not a relaxing luxurious place but a small swimming pool with little room to put towels down. We had treatments which were ok but the treatment room was down the corridor, which smells strongly of the swimming pool, in the hotel and no advice was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty W, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I was very disappointed to read that some aspects did not live up to your expectations. We are working tirelessly to improve our product and services, and I will of course share your feedback with the team. Your feedback is vital... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I have stayed here twice for business and whilst the hotel and the two rooms I have had have been nice, I object to paying £11 for a glass of Sauvignon. The house white is £7.50 but disgusting. Service in the restaurant is slow and inefficient.

Helpful?
Thank Staffs18
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Staffs18, Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased that you have found the rooms met your needs, but I am naturally upset to hear of your other disappointments. It is most unusual for our guests to comment negatively on the Restaurant service, and I will obviously follow up with the team. Please accept... More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place is big and yet it has not lost the personal touch. My wife and I went up to Oxford for four days travel and shopping. The welcome was warm and friendly, our room superb with everything we needed, warm, spotlessly clean and with fabulous towels, white and fluffy ( I have a thing about towels). The staff everywhere... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very happy you were impressed by the housekeeping standards and the service from all our staff, as at De Vere Oxford... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great hotel in terms of location, room was very spacious and to a high standard. Drove to the sister hotel (4 Spires) and parked there and a short stroll to the city centre. Used the spa facilities later in the afternoon which was perfect. My only gripe was we had to wait an hour between our first and second course,... More 

Helpful?
Thank JackN007
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear JackN007, Thank you so much for writing your review of De Vere Oxford Thames. It is always a pleasure for us to receive such positive feedback with the constructive comments made throughout. The team will be delighted with your comments, but I am sorry with the abnormal delay you experienced at dinner. I am delighted to note that you... More 

shrewsbury,england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I arranged a four day stay at this 30 acre property by the River Thames. Our plan included dinner on two nights and breakfast each day.The food was good and the dinner showed imagination in it's preparation and presentation. The breakfast buffet was extensive and provided sufficient variety to suit most palates. Our double room was spacious,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nicholson38
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear nicholson38, Thank you for taking the time to post a super review of De Vere Oxford Thames, following your two night stay with us. I am delighted to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations regarding the location and the value for money. I am very happy too that you appreciated the food and that the staff... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After choosing this hotel for a midweek break and it leisure and spa facilities, we were very disappointed. The staff were nice room very nice, but we wanted to spend our 2night stay in the hotel using the spa and leisure facilities, only to find the spa closes Tuesday and wednesday this was not clear when booking. We decided it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Collins S
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Collins S, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. Naturally we were disappointed to read that we failed to exceed expectations on this occasion. We value the feedback that our guests supply and will work hard to improve in the areas identified. Regarding the pool being utilised for a mother and baby... More 

Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a great two night stay with my wife. Our room was superb, with drinks provided in the fridge and the wine a nice touch. The food in the restaurant was fantastic. The staff were attentive and very helpful, especially in reception and in the River Room restaurant. We spent some time in the lounge/bar area which was lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank davesmith99
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear davesmith99, Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on De Vere Oxford Thames, it is much appreciated. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated the service and how highly you enjoyed the experience at the Oxford Thames Hotel. As a team, we strive to exceed our guests expectations and a review such as yours... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have to say unfortunately I walked away from my two night stay disappointed. The hotel is nice, the bar area nice, the spa nice, the restaurant is nice but limited menu. The bar drinks I thought were on the steep side . The staff were friendly although not very clued up on my gluten-free requirements and were unable to... More 

Helpful?
Thank kirsty f
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear kirsty f Thank you for taking the time to write us with your feedback following your recent experience at the Oxford Thames Hotel. I am extremely sorry for some of the issues that you experienced with us and we were unable to address them before you left. The workmen noise you mention is beyond our control as it is... More 

483 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (276)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
College Chic Room (26)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Balcony (22)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Terrace (20)
Viewed
Garden Chic Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sitting Area (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
5.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.8 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,531 reviews
8.5 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
671 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 8,728 - ₹ 18,819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Family Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“50 & 51, ground floor and large rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles chriswU3993JC, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We suppose that some people might prefer a room looking out towards the River.. We think that all rooms will be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles nicholson38, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not 90 as the door to the corridor bangs every time someone goes in or out”
 of 5 bubbles collinss681, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A short walk to the Henley area. Rooms 47, 48, and 49. Real quiet and very modern.”
 of 5 bubbles F5658IKpetert, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I think all rooms are probably ok”
 of 5 bubbles Flyingmullion, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay