We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

De Vere Oxford Thames

Show Prices
#5 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
De Vere Oxford Thames
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,006 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 969: English reviews
Start your review of De Vere Oxford Thames
 Click to rate
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed overnight at the Oxford Thames on an inclusive package which was excellent value for money. The hotel is in a stylish collection of buildings, some original and some more recent however all sympathetically finished in character and to a high standard. Our package included a deluxe room in an original building, with welcoming drinks and snacks tray, 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daviesrusu
Partridge Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Fantastic place to stay. Spotlessly clean, fantastic facilities including a pool and health club. Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient for visiting Oxford. We did not eat here so can't rate food and restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgaltd
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited the hotel for dinner as my parents where staying here on a secret escapes deal and I only live a few miles away. We had a drink in the bar before dinner which is lovely with a big open fire and exposed beams the whole setting is very nice. Dinner was lovely, food was amazing especially the celeriac soup...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahunt49
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is actually just out of Oxford but has a sister hotel which you can use to park at and walk into Oxford, which is a great bonus. The hotel is in a beautiful old manor house building with beams and flagstone floors. It has been renovated beautifully. We were a bit disappointed with the "spa" - it just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mirren B
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here 18/2/17. The hotel and facilities are fantastic and clearly evident that significant investment has been put into the hotel, however the hotel now need to invest in its staff. Each individual member was always very friendly and courteous but they all lacked the cohesion which makes for a great team. We received a few contradictory bits of information...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Worldexplorer1989
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Worldexplorer1989, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that overall you had an enjoyable visit. The feedback we receive from guests is vital if we are to make improvemenst. My role is to ensure that through investment in the product and with training and development of the team, that we exceed guest...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this trip for myself and my boyfriend and first impressions of this hotel was good. We checked in and were recommended by the receptionist to visit the pub down the road for lunch whilst we waited for our room to be ready. The Kings arm was reasonably priced pub where we had a really enjoyable lunch. We returned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Emma C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit. I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations and that you felt let down by the food and beverage experience. We not only have an AA Rosette awarded for our food, but we get many great comments regarding the food and...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I booked this trip through secrecy escapes and got a drinks tray included and dinner and breakfast. Upon arrival the rooms were not quite ready on time. We didn't mind as we sat in the bar and had a drink. The rooms were gorgeous. Very light and airey ... very spacious. The food was excellent and came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JordanEmilyLaw
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear JordanEmilyLaw, Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review of De Vere Oxford Thames. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and the team will be thrilled to read your kind comments too. I thank you for your kind recommendation of De Vere Oxford Thames and look forward to welcoming the two of you...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I (and the rest of the English speaking world) took advantage of an offer and stayed for two nights bed, breakfast and evening meal. Extras included a drinks tray, a bottle of red wine and a glass of prosecco each at both evening meals. We had a lovely room in the older part of the hotel, All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Jonathan O, General Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Ian S, Thank you for your review of De Vere Oxford Thames and for choosing to stay with us. I am glad that overall you found the hotel met your expectations and the staff friendly and helpful, however, I am sorry to hear that you felt the portions at dinner were too small and that the choice for vegetarians...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Travelled with my family and young son, swimming pools are key to all hotel trips as the boy loves it. The De Vere was the best looking hotel with a pool in the area, it's a short drive into Oxford, it's a rural-ish area, peace, quiet, nice. £140 per night, it's a good price for the Oxford area, especially considering...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear James B Thank you for writing your review, which I was really pleased to read. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time relaxing in our idyllic building and 30 acres of grounds. We are very lucky to have a beautiful hotel, team and food and I was delighted that you enjoyed it. Regarding your room service, I...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had an overnight stay with Secret Escapes...very impressed. Nice room...spa area functional but needs updating...had the most fabulous massage though. Every staff member we dealt with was very friendly and professional. Dinner was extremely tasty and breakfast plentiful with hot and cold buffet. Had no complaints whatsoever and would have given a five if the spa was better as I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
Jonathan O, Manager at De Vere Oxford Thames, responded to this review

Dear Diane J Thank you for your review on trip advisor and we are pleased you enjoyed both the dinner and breakfast as well as your overall experience. We hope to see a refurbishment of the Spa in the future to enable us to sell ourselves as a Spa hotel. Our staff are a wonderful asset who enjoy the jobs...

518 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (306)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (146)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
College Chic Room (26)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Balcony (22)
Viewed
Connisseur Room with Terrace (20)
Viewed
Garden Chic Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Room with Sitting Area (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
5.2 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
4.8 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
644 reviews
3.5 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,594 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stylish AA Four star Oxford hotel, is perfect for those wanting Oxford accommodation in a rural setting. Set on the river, in 30 acres of landscaped grounds, this Oxford hotel is just three miles from the city centre. The River Room Restaurant has an AA Rosette award for its food quality and choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Vere Oxford Thames

Address: Henley Road, Oxford OX4 4GX, England (Formerly Oxford Thames Four Pillars)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 8,781 - ₹ 16,155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Oxford Thames 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your De Vere Oxford Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Family Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from De Vere Oxford Thames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“So many of the rooms are excellent, with terraces and river views available. Check options when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles daviesrusu, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Garden rooms are on the ground floor with a little patio which is nice”
 of 5 bubbles MirrenB, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles Z8654XYemmac, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Older rooms have a good view of the garden and are of a good size. We has room ^.”
 of 5 bubbles E1968FYians, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nice friendly but food and drinks a bit pricey”
 of 5 bubbles markus69x, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5