We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,036 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Eastgate Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Showing 948: English reviews
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I booked this hotel as something different for our anniversary. I paid £169 for a double room (NOT including breakfast), which is a little over what we would usually pay. When we got to the room it was not like I expected, it was very small to the point when we opened the door it skimmed the double bed. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kayleigh J
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Kayleigh J. Further to our telephone conversation earlier this week. Once again please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment you experienced whilst visiting the hotel last weekend. As discussed when you are next planning a visit to Oxford ,please contact us directly and we will ensure that you have a much improved stay. kind regards Iain Waite GM

Penicuik, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Had a nice time staying in this hotel for 3 nights, the bar did nice cocktails and drinks. The staff were very friendly and the location was great, very central. The room was a little small but that didn't bother us because we didn't spend much time in the actual hotel as we were out and about all day

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KirstyMas0n
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear KirstyMason Thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Iain Waite GM

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Visiting Oxford with friends whose granddaughter was at Christchurch college, we checked into the Mercure for two nights having booked 2 superior rooms for the four of us. The receptionist asked whether for £15pppn we would like to upgrade to their 'privilege' rooms. Why not we thought, the weather was grim outside a little bit of extra luxury wouldn't be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Teresa M
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Teresa M Thank you for you feedback given via trip advisor. At the outset ,please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you highlighted in relation to your accommodation. The maintenance issues you raised are unacceptable and I will address this with the Housekeeping Manager. In relation to the size of the rooms these do vary greatly given the...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014

A little late in reviewing !! Stayed at the Eastgate for a 3 day break over Christmas, we did upgrade to the suite, and could not fault the size of the room, as others have, the whole break was just fantastic, from start to finish, esp the staff, who work so well as a team, the food was just right....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gordonweller
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Mr Weller Thank you for kind comments posted on trip advisor. I was pleased to read your comments following your stay over the Christmas break. We look forward to welcoming you back in December ,if not sooner. Kind Regards iain Waite GM

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I staid at the Mercure Eastgate in Oxford for one night in January 2014. On the bright sides, the hotel is very centrally located. The room was nice, the showers were working properly (not a given in this town), and the breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately, the room was not ready when it should have been. Moreover, it had not been...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JCD32
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Jens D Thank you for your feedback following your stay at the Mercure Eastgate Hotel. At the outset ,please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you detail in relation to your bedroom. This matter will be addressed with the Housekeeping Manager. Thank you for your positive comments on all other aspects of your stay We look forward to...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just spent a couple of nights at the historic Eastgate while I attended a conference in Oxford. The food was good as was the service. But if I had brought my cat with me I would not have had room to swing it in the room I was allocated. Nor was there any provision for leaving a case except on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank david r
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear David r Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel . On a positive note I was pleased to learn that you found the hotel to be of an adequate standard albeit ,your were not thrilled. I was sorry to learn that your room was not as large as some of your fellow conference...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After a four night stay over the New Year: We simply loved our room on the second floor. It had the most comfortable bed, a nice clean bathroom and four windows facing the Examination schools. It was quiet and peaceful. We found the fridge hidden in the cupboard under the TV useful and enjoyed the fact that there was room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hella_10
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear hella_10 Thank you for your very positive feed back following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Oxford. Kind regards Iain Waite GM

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 7 January 2014

You can't beat the location of the hotel and the room was clean but a little dated. The bathroom was big and both rooms had a lot of natural light. On the downside there was noise from the restaurant downstairs (from the music as the place didn't appear to have a single customer during our entire stay... ok, maybe 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew O
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Mattew Thank you for your feedback following your stay at th Mercure Eastgate Hotel. Whilst like many hotels in early january we were indeed a little quieter than normal, I am only sorry that you were disturbed by the music from our Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford in the near future. Kind regards Iain...

Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The Mercure Eastgate Hotel is located brilliantly, just a 7 minute walk from the high street and 10 minutes from most colleges. If one comes to pick up/drop off bags for students, this hotel is located well for that to happen. The parking can be a bit tedious if one comes with cars, but otherwise nice. The breakfast was really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arvind A
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Aroraair, Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay at the Mercure Eastgate Hotel. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards iain Waite GM

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2014

In line with many of the other reviewers, the real bonus of this hotel is the location. Having said that, the staff were great, the service we had was fine and the room was fine too - we had 317 which is in the attic and no other rooms either side which was a bonus. The shower was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucyaspinall
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review

Dear Lucyaspinall, Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us over the New Year Period. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your own special New Year celebration. Kind Regards Iain Waite GM

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
658 reviews
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
626 reviews
1.3 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 10,473 - ₹ 22,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, ACCOR, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Eastgate Oxford staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Eastgate Oxford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room 110 at all costs! Actually, stay somewhere else just in case.”
 of 5 bubbles Everydayanadventure, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room in the new wing, at the back, is quiet at night.”
 of 5 bubbles boybanker, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the second floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Gimlima, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Dont forget the car parking cost in your cost calculations”
 of 5 bubbles 194grahaml, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking Merton Street or High Street have much better views. Deluxe rooms have more space.”
 of 5 bubbles G4774REmichelleb, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5