We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Red Lion Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$ 140*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 178*
US$ 140*
Great Deal
US$ 178*
US$ 178*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Red Lion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 519: English reviews
Northern Ireland
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Henley is lovely and the Red Lion is in as good a location as possible. Yes there are parts that need a little smartening up but our room was lovely. Clean and fresh. Plenty of hot water and good towels and warm and comfortable. We were there for two midweek nights and the hotel was very quiet. Breakfast was grand...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ralph2013
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your impressions after your recent stay at the Red Lion Hotel. We are happy to read that you loved our Hotel, especially the location,the breakfast and the really friendly staff. We will forward your kind words to our team who will be delighted to hear that they are doing a good job. Looking forward...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

OK, so i will try and keep this brief! On a good note, the main building is nice, (but the decor is tired). That's probably about the only positive thing I have to say about my stay here over valentines day. Service was absolutely terrible, rude front of house, the manageress I assue she was told me she didn't care...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Lucie_C88
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay at our hotel. We regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed. We hope that you would...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Initially a shame we were not in main building but room off the carpark had a lovely rolltop bath in the room. Shower room small and dark and would have benefitted with blue light rather than dark of an orange one but the bath compensated! Comfortable, well-dressed bed and v nice decor. Did not have the breakfast so cannot comment....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LilacT
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My apology that you did not have a room in the main building. We will take note of it and when you return back we will check you in to the main building room. Thank you so much for writing a review after your stay at The Red Lion Hotel . We are happy to hear that you...

Reviewed 16 February 2015

We booked the Hotel for Valentine's Day, my friend have stayed in the red lion many times and he recommended me to stay, the hotel is situated on river Thames beautiful location, beauty of the hotel was their rooms every room has different decor not like expensive big Hotels, we booked the Valentine's package good value of money, four couse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kellyjohn76
Redlionmanager_12, Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your positive experiences at our Hotel - it is comments like these that keep us moving! With best regards Amit Manager The Red Lion Hotel

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

We booked this hotel for Valentine's Day as part of their offer. Where do I start.. To begin with it's important to mention that I'm not a bitter gold digger looking for money off or anything like that. I'm very happy to reward good service and recommend a worthy establishment. Credit where credit is due. First and foremost, we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank george s
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your impressions as this allows us to improve our services and provide an excellent experience to all our customers as expected by them. We would like to apologise for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to some aspects of your stay. We have taken...

Reviewed 5 February 2015

We haven't stayed at this hotel but would strongly recommend the Sunday lunch. Staff very nice and service very good. We have made several visits for lunch and will make many more and with family members.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your nice comment on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to the Red Lion Hotel. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your break with us and the service provided. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great relaxing break.

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We stayed here on the weekend of the 25th January for my partners birthday. The hotel itself is in a wonderful location right next to the river and the bridge and the town is right on your door step and the room we had was right next to St Mary's church. We had the room with the four poster bed...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank DavidC55
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

1. Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class accommodations and service to our guests. We regret we are not able to exceed your expectations during your stay and apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had. Please be assured...

powys ,wales
Reviewed 24 January 2015

We stayed for 1 night & so glad we did ! The hotel is lovely & our room was fab with a beautiful view of the river which was so pretty we loved it 😀 It was spotlessly clean & everything we needed will definitely stay here again !,!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sazzy41
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your wonderful reply after your stay in our Hotel .We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could in exceed all your expectations. Please visit us soon again, we would be happy to welcome you in our Hotel. With best regards Amit General Manager The Red...

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Spent New Year's Eve with friends at the Red Lion. Thought the deal for meal and dancing was good value for money. We didn't stay over as thought that was a bit pricey. The staff we very attentive, we were greeted with a glass of fizz and canapés which we enjoyed before being shown to our table. We were surprised...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Julie T
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing our hotel for your New Year`s Eve and for sharing your impressions as this allows us to know how to improve our services and provide excellent services to all our customers as expected by them. While we are pleased to read you found our staff friendly and helpful and our food excellent, we...

Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a birthday treat. The room was absolutely lovely. We had a four poster bed and lovely wooden floors and original features. The room is next to St mary's church and the view from our room was of the church's beautiful stained glass windows. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannah1718
Redlionmanager_12, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate your feedback following your recent stay at The Red Lion Hotel Henley on Thames. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was pleased that we met your expectations and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. With...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
758 reviews
0.2 km away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
586 reviews
3.2 km away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
255 reviews
0.3 km away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
147 reviews
0.4 km away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#5 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: ₹ 6,368 - ₹ 14,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Red Lion Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all costs.”
Ilikehotelsalot, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“not good for afternoon tea”
bobjoyce2017, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 102!!”
SpanishMike, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher up is quieter on an otherwise busy junction”
beverleyh864, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only choose as last resort”
T5012AGmatth, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 140* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 178
PricelineUS$ 178
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates