We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel

Traveller (278)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (7)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
596Reviews
309Photos
1Q+A
92Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 147
  • 136
  • 102
  • 71
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We have stayed in Best Westerns all over the world and the United Kingdom since 2004 and always been satisfied with the people and establishment. Including Bestwood Notts We stayed hotel at the Best Western Bestwood Lodge Dr, Arnold, Nottingham again last week and where
Read more
Response from GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for your review and comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We apologise for the ladybirds in the room, as you mentioned on check out, during your discussions with our General Manager and in your review on TripAdvisor. As we are set in the country park, we do have a slight issue with ladybirds at this time of year, which is managed in a considerate manner. I must apologise for any distress the presence of the ladybirds has caused, and can assure you that your feedback has been taken on board and will be used to improve the experience for future guests. I have spoken with the Receptionist who informs that she apologised on the morning, and mentioned that she would pass on your comments regarding the ladybirds to our Housekeeping Team and for us to address accordingly. If she had been made aware that you was looking at a discount or some kind of refund, which you imply you was, she would have been able to have asked the Duty Manager to discuss this with you that morning. I spoke with her also regarding other points, however she cannot not recall you mentioning the 'rash on your forehead', therefore we are unable to comment on this. Had we be made aware of the ladybirds during your stay we would have happily moved you into a different room - we wouldn't expect you and your partner to have to suffer their presence. I understand you contacted asking for a refund because of the ladybirds in the room. I have spoken with our General Manager who I believe explained that as the presence of ladybirds in the room was beyond our control and not something that could intentionally prevented, we wouldn't be in a position to give you a full refund. As we weren't informed during your stay, and therefore not given an opportunity to rectify this for you, we apologise again for this, however as a gesture, I understand that he offered 30% discount off your next stay. I must apologise if you found the General Manager to be rude, however this was not his intention and on behalf of the hotel I apologise if this was the case. As a hotel, we feel that a 50% refund was sufficient as an apology and recompense for the ladybirds in your bedroom. You are correct in your understanding that all Best Western hotels are independently owned. We thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Read more
Arrival was fine. Sat nav didn’t like post code. Speed humps are excessive. Pot holes are an issue. Wouldn’t want to do it in the dark. Beautiful building. Basin taps were loose. Toilet seat was very loose. Shower wasn’t, it was a dribble. And it was cold. Some people may enjoy
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for your review, following your most recent stay with us. I am disappointed that you found that the bathroom in your bedroom, didn't meet your requirements and therefore this affected your overall stay with us. I have taken all your feedback on board and will address the concerns with the maintenance team & also highlight this to our Head Housekeeper. We do have signs in the rooms to indicate that on some occasions you may need to run the water for a short while, however I apologise if this wasn't visible in your room. I, again, have asked our Housekeeping Team to ensure they check and replace any signage missing, regarding the water, which would inform future guests. In relations to your comments regarding the excessive speed bumps, pot holes and approach to the hotel, this unfortunately is land which belongs to the council, as it is a public highway, therefore unfortunately we have little to with the drive up to the hotel. However, apologies if this affected your initial arrival. I am, however, delighted that you enjoyed the beautiful building in which our hotel is set. Thank you again for your review.
Read more
A beautiful hotel set in a fantastic location, tall trees, garden and victorian building dripping with history. Fantastic lobby with classical furniture and a bar, little did I know that it would be our nemesis at 3:00 am in the morning. A 24 hour bar, some very noisy selfish
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Response from GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our stunning setting and great building set within the country park. I am also happy to read that our lobby/bar area impressed too. I am, however, disappointed to hear that you were kept awake until the early hours due to a number of guests using the bar area. I recall the Duty Manager/Night Porter informing that they did speak with the guests regarding the noise levels in the bar area, however I apologise on behalf of the guests using the bar for the noise they may have caused. I do also note that the Duty Manager/Night Porter did close the bar earlier, at 1.30am, to assist you in the best way possible. I am pleased, however, that the room overall was large with comfy beds and the bathroom was clean.
Read more
Have just returned home from a 3 night stay here and couldn't have asked for anything better. The room was a lot bigger than expected, bed ever so comfy and it was so quiet. Breakfast was a buffet breakfast but all food was hot and they do poached or scrambled eggs if you ask.
Read more
Response from GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor. Its great to hear from our guests and finding that the experience was a memorable one. I am most delighted to hear that our team here looked after you during your stay and that you was especially impressed with the effectiveness of Simon - I will pass on your feedback to him. We look forward to welcoming you again next year
Read more
I got married here on 22nd December 2018. Myself and the wedding party stayed the night before the wedding and the night of the wedding. All of our rooms were lovely and I had a complimentary upgrade which was a nice touch, the breakfast too was delicious. All the way through
Read more
Response from GeneralManager17, Manager at Best Western Bestwood Lodge Hotel
Responded 8 Feb 2019
Thank you for you review following your special day. We are most delighted that your wedding with us was memorable, special and everything you wished for. The whole team are privileged to have been a part of your day and would like to wish you every happiness in the future. We also look forward to you revisiting the hotel and keeping us up to date with your life together. I am most pleased that the team here looked after you and happy that you felt that Jodie, the Wedding Coordinator and the Management Team; Stephen, Simon & Tanya, ensured your day ran smoothly. We take pride in every wedding we conduct and are proud when couples revisit the lodge, share their experiences and most importantly add to the romantic history we have embedded in our royal roots. Thank you again for choosing Bestwood Lodge as your venue for your special day. Best Wishes for the future Stephen Operations Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
PreviousNext
12345615
Do you accept dogs
Yes they do. We took ours and they allowed her in an area near to the bar. Lots of walks just outside the door in the woods which is very handy too.
0 votes
"Great view from the second floor, steep staircase."
"small number of rooms, all we saw seemed fine,"
"Book elsewhere"
"would not stay again until i knew it had been refurbished, seen better at travelodge for fifth of the price"
"All rooms I stayed in during my stay were great."
PreviousNext
12345619
PRICE RANGE
US$ 75 - US$ 142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western bestwood hotel nottinghambest western nottinghamnottingham best western
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNottingham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing