We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Hopping Hare

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hopping Hare
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 402: English reviews
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are clean and pleasant, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is well maintained and appropriately stocked, dinner was delicious and so was breakfast. Made a perfect overnight stop. Would recommend

Helpful?
Thank SussexChap1
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Sussex chap, Thank you. I am really pleased you had a perfect overnight stay. We are one of the very best restaurants in Northamptonshire and thanks for recommending us. We hope you are passing again soon and choose to stay with us again. Kind regards, David. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a table for evening meeting with friends. My main course of cod loin on lentil base was very good. Plenty for me (a small woman) but anyone with bigger appetite would have needed a bigger portion or a pudding to supplement their meal. Puddings (which my fellow diners had) were generous. Prices not the cheapest but standard good and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cherokee2014
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Cherokee, Many thanks for your kind words and for awarding the team top marks. It is great when the efforts and commitment of our chefs and front of house staff are appreciated. We source from the very best suppliers, every dish is cooked on site and we do deliver outstanding value for money for the quality of our offer.... More 

Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights sharing a luxurious twin room. The layout is not for the faint hearted or those who are easily lost. Also those with mobility difficulties should ask for a room on the ground floor as there are many, many stairs. We really enjoyed our stay here. The food was wonderful and the staff friendly. Would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Littletruckerchick
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear LT Chick, Many thanks for your kind review, for recommending The Hopping Hare and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by us all. The Hopping Hare was formerly a Manor House and our rooms are on two floors (but are very well signed). I imagine you had one of the rooms on the second floor, but... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the soup was great but the roast beef mains was poor. There were two tiny roasted potatoes on my plate that were too hard to cut, after breaking through the crust there was nothing inside! The beef was two rashers of beef both nearly raw and chewy!. Also, no one came to ask "is every thing ok?"

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Peter, I am sorry you were disappointed and I will investigate this. All our meat is sourced from Woburn Country Foods, an excellent supplier. The Manager on Duty would certainly have dealt with your complaint to ensure your satisfaction. Kind regards, David. More 

Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an overnight here for a family reunion due to its central location. The price was very reasonable, rooms very nice and service friendly and efficient. The dinner was reasonably priced, nice wine and lovely food enjoyed by all. Relaxed atmosphere due to nice staff. Breakfast service was poor. The hotel was busy and it seemed understaffed - only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brinylobster
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Briny, Thank you for choosing The Hopping Hare for your family reunion. The team do give 100% commitment to delivering first class customer service and I am always very pleased when their efforts are recognised by our customers. I can only apologise for a 30 minute wait for breakfast, something must have gone wrong. Normally breakfasts are very quick... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a table for 7 of us for 7.30pm on a Saturday night. Having never eaten here before we were very pleased with both the food and service. We went straight into the main courses and everyone was pleased with their choices. The lamb burgers and fish dishes were enjoyed as were the few desserts. The only slight grumble... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Many thanks for your kind review and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by us all. Excellent quality food and first class customer service are our top priorities and I am pleased we delivered on both. Our biscuits, like everything else, are home made. Please call again soon. Kind regards, David. More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We decided to celebrate a family birthday by having lunch at the Hopping Hare. It was my mum's birthday and she chose their 2 course special menu, having Welsh rarebit with poached pear to start, which she said was tasty, followed by guinea fowl in pastry with mashed potatoes - Luke warm, and green vegetables a bland tasteless white sauce... More 

Helpful?
Thank LareineD
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Lareine, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry and apologise for the inconsistencies you have highlighted. Our produce is sourced from the very best quality suppliers and all our dishes are cooked to order. Generally the feedback we get is overwhelmingly positive and it is very disappointing we failed to deliver on this occasion. I do hope... More 

Roade
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Congratulations on your excellent venue. From the minute you arrive through the door you are welcomed by a smile. The food was superb, the service wonderful and the attention to detail excellent. We look forward to returning.

Helpful?
Thank GGWRoade
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear GGW, Many thanks for your kind comments and for awarding the team top marks. Very much appreciated by us all. Excellent quality and value for money food and first class customer service are our highest priorities and i am very pleased we delivered on both. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, David. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Came here for a friend's birthday. Staff were so welcoming, friendly and attentive. Great menu which is changed every few weeks and a specials menus which changes daily. We enjoyed every single course single and personally I thought it was the best meal I've eaten out in a long time. We plan to visit again next week. If I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank kevster147
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Kevster, Many thanks for your kind review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the best meal you have eaten out in a long time at The Hopping Hare. If there is a special vegetarian meal you would like on your next visit then please ask the staff as the kitchen team will always try to accommodate special requests,... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Visiting friends in Northampton, we booked a table for a group of six. We were greeted and shown to our table as soon as we arrived and our drinks orders were taken. The seafood sharing platter as starter was outstanding, and more than enough for two people. All the mains we ordered were equally as good, I had the lamb... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicki H
david g, Owner at Hopping Hare, responded to this review

Dear Nicki, I am very pleased that you have discovered The Hopping Hare and thanks for awarding the team top marks, very much appreciated. Our highest priorities are to serve excellent quality home-cooked food and to deliver first class customer service and I am very pleased that we delivered on both. A great excuse to visit your friends again soon?... More 

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northampton
6.9 km away
The Poplars Hotel
The Poplars Hotel
#1 of 29 in Northampton
273 reviews
17.2 km away
Fawsley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Northampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Northampton Marriott Hotel
Northampton Marriott Hotel
#7 of 29 in Northampton
455 reviews
20.4 km away
Kettering Park Hotel and Spa
4.8 km away
Sedgebrook Hall
Sedgebrook Hall
#1 of 1 in Chapel Brampton
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Hopping Hare
Hopping Hare
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When my family bought the Hopping Hare in 2006 our aim was to create an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, somewhere just a bit different. A place to dine, stay or meet up and relax with friends, family or colleagues. We didn't want it to be stuffy, intimidating or over the top. We set about creating luxurious rooms, a subtle, sophisticated bar with a great selection of quality drinks and a restaurant offering some of the best food to be found in Northampton. As a family owned and operated business, we set the standards on service, value for money, atmosphere and personality. No detail has been overlooked in creating a hotel, restaurant and bar in Northampton with an individual blend of 21st-century chic, high standards and a laid back friendly feel that we are sure you'll begin to notice as soon as you step inside. We've got to know some of our guests well because they come back time after time. In fact, 2010 saw the completion of an extension to the hotel to meet increased demand for accommodation from a growing clientele. My team and I would love to welcome you to stay for brunch, lunch, dinner or just a drink. Once the Hopping Hare is on your radar we guarantee you'll be back. David George, General Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hopping Hare

Address: 18 Hopping Hill Gardens | Duston, Northampton NN5 6PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton
Price Range: ₹ 6,458 - ₹ 8,008 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hopping Hare 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hopping Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopping Hare Northampton
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Northampton
#5 Family Hotel in Northampton
#8 Romantic Hotel in Northampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hopping Hare staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
newcastle upon tyne

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hopping Hare staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 10 is in the eaves and very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles SussexChap1, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We paid an extra £10 for a deluxe room for a bigger bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Brinylobster, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask about stairs etc if necessary...and book early as they are often full anyway!”
 of 5 bubbles tinasV5625WK, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“They are small but very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Very clean. Excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles jbriggs4, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is lovely”
 of 5 bubbles simong642, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay