We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel 53

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
Panoramas (2)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,723 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,689: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel 53
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed at hotel 53 last night for my 21st. The hotel was Morden and close to the city centre. The staff was helpful and polite! The room was clean and good value for money. The only down fall was the double bed was very small, and not having curtains in the room which ment the light came straight thru the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, the staff were very friendly, the hotel was lovely. Our room was a good size, plenty of space for us. The shower was fantastic. Overall clean and tidy. The only things that mark it down for me are: 1) the bed had a significant dip in the mattress on one side, that really affected my sleep....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanne C
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights early March.Quite welcoming place as you enter and the staff were nice and polite.Was given a king room that was adequate although on the small side. Lovely bathroom with great walkin shower which was a nice change from stepping into a bath to shower and no horrible shower curtain to put up with.Overall a very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bettsy47
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Bettsy47, Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to ensure that our hotel is equipped with everything our guests need to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, thank you for your comments regarding our showers . I look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the...

Peterlee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked hotel 53 for one night getaway with my wife , on a Sunday. Great value for money. Room was more than adequate , with a great walk in shower. Reception staff were really helpful & offered us a voucher for breakfast at a reduced rate for the following morning. Will definitely be returning

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 95Graeme
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Graeme, Thank you for your review, and for recommending us! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when you next visit York - returning guests are entitled to a 10% discount when booking directly, so be sure to get in touch with our Reception team when you've chosen your dates for your next visit. Best...

Cleethorpes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely, modern hotel along the lines of and every bit as good as Premier Inn conveniently located 5 mins walk from York city centre. The welcome was brilliant. Everyone seems genuinely pleased to welcome you as a guest. The room was spacious spotlessly clean with a fantastic bathroom and shower. The bed was HUGE !!! and really comfortable. Lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gareth-Tina
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Gareth, - Tina, Thank you for your review, and for recommending us! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when you next visit York - returning guests are entitled to a 10% discount when booking directly, so be sure to get in touch with our Reception team when you've chosen your dates for your next...

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Excellent location on the edge of the city centre. Has lovely pubs and restaurants in close walking distance. Has a handy 24/7 public car park at the rear. Rooms are in excellent condition with quality en suite facilities. Breakfast was excellent and staff very friendly. We would certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Nick, Thank you for your great review of Hotel 53. I am pleased to read your comments about our fantastic location and wonderful staff and look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Laura Eyles

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us stayed overnight whilst visiting my daughter in york, booked here because this was the best deal at the time out of most hotels in the city centre. Ticked all the boxes...very friendly polite staff. Twin rooms spotlessly clean, bathroom spotless, great powerful shower. Comfortable bed, gorgeous pillows so good night sleep. Breakfast was average, did the job....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JueC69
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Jue, Thank you for your great review of Hotel 53. I am pleased to read your comments about our fantastic location. We work hard to ensure that our hotel is equipped with everything our guests need to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and it is fantastic to see this reflected in your comments. We would be delighted to...

Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Small hotel and small rooms w/o tubs, good for business travel. Nice lobby and bar area, breakfast selections were very good. Professional, friendly staff. Within walking distance of most sights and ample supply of nearby restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peripateticmensch
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Peripateticmensch, Thank you for your review, and for visiting hotel53. Thank you for your comments regarding staff and i will be sure to pass these onto the team. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when you next visit York - returning guests are entitled to a 10% discount when booking directly, so be sure...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside to the hotel was that the air conditioning units outside the window were quiet noisy. I had read about this on trip advisor before visiting the hotel and hoped that we landed a room that wasn't so close to the noise. We weren't lucky unfortunately....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Melissa D
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, Thank you for your review and for visiting hotel53. I'm delighted to hear your comments and look forward to sharing them with the team. I am disappointed to hear you were disturbed in the early hours by the units. It is an issue we are in the progress of resolving, however we do take requests and we are...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice 2 night stay as a base. Clean and well placed for visiting York centre. Next to road so some noise in morning. Had a rude awakening 1st morning by fire alarm (at least we knew it worked if there was a fire) Good amenities. Bathroom felt a little squashed in but had worse. Would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire A
Hotel53YorkCentre, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Claire, Thank you for your comments and for visiting hotel53. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I would like to stress that it is extremely rare for these incidents to occur, of course the alarm system is in place for the safety of our guests in the event of a fire and is...

287 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (183)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (66)
Viewed
Accessible Double Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (12)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (11)
Viewed
Classic King Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (PRE-RENOVATION) (14)
Viewed
Triple Room (PRE-RENOVATION) (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,034 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.9 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Novotel York Centre
1.2 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#15 of 46 in York
1,423 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 5,468 - ₹ 15,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 53 staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 53 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“perhaps better to have a room facing the back of the hotel, not the street, but all are generally quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles IcedPie, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 404 is a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles midas7908, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure of quiet rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kevincX1976ZI, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“King size room was great!”
 of 5 bubbles amypC8235VM, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floor 4 was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles DottieG787, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5