We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel 53

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,602: English reviews
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here with my husband nice modern hotel the only downside was that our room was cold and the heater was down the side of the bed so didn't really heat up the room and it was on all night. Shower was nice, plenty of towels. Close to Christmas market so we didn't have to walk far. Overall nice stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kerri_Whittaker88
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Kerri, Thank you for your review of Hotel 53. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your honeymoon in York and were able to spend some time exploring our lovely Christmas markets. I'm sorry to see that the room was a little too cold for you - we have extra plug-in radiators available on request and would have...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really friendly staff, good sized room, hotel and rooms were really clean,great location only 5 minutes walk to centre, great breakfast, great value for money...would definitely return and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank INCE007
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear INCE007 Thank you for your fantastic review, and for recommending us! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when you next visit York - returning guests are entitled to a 10% discount when booking directly, so be sure to get in touch with our Reception team when you've chosen your dates for your next visit....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night room really nice and clean and spacious had a double bed a sofa bed, tv, tea and coffee,shower really nice and clean. staff really helpful and polite. Hotel not for from centre. Parking was easy to find just across the road .Would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanwarren2016
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Susan Thank you for your 5* review of Hotel 53! I am delighted to read your comments about your stay with us and look forward to sharing them with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future - we offer a 10% discount to returning guests so be sure...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

£250 a night and we couldn't check in till half the days gone 3pm even though I'd emailed in advance and requested a early check in. To top it all they charge £10 a day parking rip off! Rubbish view out of the window and couldn't keep window open at night because of the kitchen extractor fan on the roof...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JOANNE B
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Joanne Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see you didn't enjoy your stay at Hotel 53. I notice that you stayed with us on a Saturday night, the first weekend of the York Christmas Markets and so a very busy weekend indeed - it is often the case that hotel prices are at a premium on such...

glasgow
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hi stayed 1 night . Hotel good location, rooms clean . Beds very comfy , the breakfast a real let down especially paying extra for it . Some of hot food not very hot and no cornflakes . If breakfast was better it would be great hotel . If you charge extra for it . You have to improve ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharr69
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear sharr69 Thank you for staying with us, and for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read your general feedback about your stay and look forward to sharing your comments with the rest of the team. I am disappointed to see you didn't much enjoy your breakfast with us. We usually have great feedback about our breakfast...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night in room with double bed and sofa bed, allocated parking in car park over the road for £10 per day. Reception staff very pleasant, one small lift so may have to wait at busy times. Room very pleasant as is bathroom with lovely big shower ( no bath). Not much floor space when sofa bed is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzzymac
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Suzzymac Thank you for your great review of Hotel 53. I am pleased to read your comments about our fantastic location and wonderful staff and look forward to sharing your feedback with the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Helen Roberts

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Friendly welcome and informative staff. Room was bigger than expected. Very clean and smart. Bathroom was good and the shower was bliss. Breakfast was fabulous and plenty of choice. Will be back for another stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Lynn Thank you for staying with us, and for your great review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to sharing your comments with the rest of the team. We offer a 10% discount for returning guests and Tripadvisor users when booking direct, and you can contact our Reception team for...

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel for my mum and aunt to stay in for 4 nights so they could visit the Christmas market and York's other attractions. My mum was so full of praise for the hotel and the staff, particularly Wael, the Duty Manager, they made their break quite special. The location of the hotel is excellent and they wouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ScotlandBaygirl
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel close to city centre two minute walk we were at the Christmas market and shops . Staff very pleasant and helpful .room was spotless nice walk in shower .large bed ,plenty tea coffee milk etc .parking just across road . Breakfast was lovely plenty of choice we will be staying here again next time we visit York couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Sue Thank you for your 5* review of Hotel 53! I am delighted to read your comments about your stay with us and look forward to sharing them with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future - we offer a 10% discount to returning guests so be sure...

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel. Staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Rooms clean. Parking across the street (£10 per day). Bar serves cocktails. Breakfast choice was good. Recommend this hotel. No problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
Hotel53YorkCentre, DM at Hotel 53, responded to this review

Dear Tim Thank you for your review, and for recommending us! We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when you next visit York - returning guests are entitled to a 10% discount when booking directly, so be sure to get in touch with our Reception team when you've chosen your dates for your next visit. Best...

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (78)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (19)
Viewed
Classic King Room (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Handicap Accesibility (18)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)
Viewed
Triple Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
843 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#13 of 46 in York
1,359 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 46 in York
2,419 reviews
0.9 km away
Best Western Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel 53 is in a central location within the city walls and is a short walk from York's major attractions. The hotel's clean, modern exterior is complemented by elegant interior design, creating an atmosphere of stylish simplicity. Whether you're taking a short break, staying with us for a little longer or on business you'll feel immediately at ease at Hotel 53 York. At Hotel 53, we aim for individuality and flair, with the most modern facilities to ensure that our guests receive a warm and professional service throughout their stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel 53

Address: 53 Piccadilly, York YO1 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 5,796 - ₹ 17,908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 53 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn York
53 Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel 53 staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel 53 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Better value for money can be found elsewhere in York”
 of 5 bubbles SummervisitorLondon, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Keep away from rooms on the road side, it is very busy.”
 of 5 bubbles kenpollard60, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles carolk239, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not 102 rubbish view”
 of 5 bubbles patmason24, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“third floor was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Derek-N-555, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay