We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin York

TravelocityUS$ 126*
View Deal
#20 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 140*
US$ 126*
Great Deal
US$ 140*
US$ 139*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin York
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin York
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,454: English reviews
karensi32
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with the hubby. Lovely hotel with great food and all the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and the bed was so comfy. The only negative which is more as a personal preference was there was only coffee provided in the room and I am more of a tea drinker.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karensi32
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Karensi32, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms in a beautiful setting. We will certainly take your feedback on board to make improvements for future guests, of which i hope you will be one were we will be more...

london
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on our first visit to York. Boutique style hotel with a beautiful well stocked bar and lovely areas off of the bar to sit and chat. Breakfast is really good with a lot of choice. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we weren't too keen on the menu-very French inspired(obviously) and hard for my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank essbeeLondon
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Essbee, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback about your recent visit to Hotel du Vin York. We strive to deliver consistently great service in our beautiful hotel and city, we are very glad we achieved this. We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you both back...

Lincolnshire
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed here overnight purely due to its location for a private party elsewhere. Whilst fairly expensive all areas of our stay where fantastic. The evening meal was part of the package and couldn't be faulted, the service was quick and food was good quality as was the breakfast. The room was vast and contained a heated bathroom floor AND...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank missymlincolnshire
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear missymlincolnshire, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out of your day to feedback about your recent experience. We are very glad that you have found a comfortable base to visit York, we like to be considered a home from home and it appears we have achieved that which is fantastic. We very...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Room and location were both absolutely fantastic. Service was predominantly great however upon check in the woman at reception didn't seem very happy to see us, it felt like we were doing something wrong by asking to check in (at about 4pm). Apart from this the stay was perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjc1232015
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear rjc1232015, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are glad that you enjoyed the rooms in a beautiful setting, however a little sad your arrival experience was not more welcoming. We will certainly take your feedback on board to make improvements for future guests, of which...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Arrived at the hotel and was delighted to be met by a super friendly receptionist. I was offered an upgrade to the hotels best suite for a very reasonable price.... I'd say book a standard room and wait until you arrive until you ask if any upgrades are available. The suite was HUGE and really nicely presented. It was costly...

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KirstySC
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear KirstySC, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a great review about Hotel du Vin & Bistro York. The suite's are lovely, if you are looking to return for a special occasion then I can highly recommend our Moet suite, with two roll top baths in the bedroom it really is stunning! We...

Manchester
Reviewed 31 August 2015 via mobile

Room was spacious and well decorated however the cleanliness & overall maintenance of the room really let it down! The room smelt musty on arrival and unclean. Our room was desperately in need of a spruce up. Tiles falling off shower wall, lime scale all over taps, chipped paint everywhere! Bed wasn't made properly. Unacceptable for the price charged. We...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JH1788
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear JH1788, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify the areas you mentioned for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We stayed here for my other halfs 30th birthday, this was our first time away from our 18 month old daughter & i have to say the hotel was fabulous completley faultless. The room was stunning & the breakfast thr next morning was lovely.

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charlotte C
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte C, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York, thank you for choosing us for your partner's Birthday. It’s great to hear that you had a flawless stay, we take great pride in delivering consistently outstanding service and feedback such as yours helps motivate the team...

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Good location walkable to city Relaxed atmosphere at hotel Confused at restaurant menus as other tables seemed to be offered set menus not offered to us Meal was disappointing compared to expectations

Review collected in partnership with Malmaison & Hotel Du Vin
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F R
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear F R, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel, however a little sad that the Bistro did not live up to expectations. We will certainly take your feedback on board to make improvements for future guests,...

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel the staff were excellent we arrived with a baby and toddler plus a dog the rooms we were allocated were not big enough for a cot and put up bed so the young lady on reception said no problem leave it with me and within five minutes we were given another two rooms one for my sister and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Teresa F, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time out of your day to feedback about your recent experience. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable visit with your family and that the team were able to make you all comfortable. We very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

You can not fault the quality of the hotel and its accommodation, the decor and furnishing are all to an exceptionally high standard....... However..... In my opinion the standard and speed of service could do with improving. There were several occasions through the my short stay I was left thinking, is someone going to ask what I want! I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Browny27
Richard C, General Manager at Hotel du Vin York, responded to this review

Dear Browny27, Thank you for taking the time to share your views on your recent experience of Hotel du Vin York. We are sad that on this occasion we did not meet fully expectations, we take your feedback on board and will look to rectify areas for improvement. If I can be of any assistance either now or in the...

697 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (323)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (171)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (358)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Browns Brothers (24)
Viewed
Dom Perignon (30)
Viewed
Krug (27)
Viewed
La Grande Dame (41)
Viewed
Moet Vintage Collection Suite (34)
Viewed
Penfolds (37)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Tattinger (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Umani Ronchi (37)
Viewed
Veuve Clicquot (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,143 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
1,117 reviews
2.5 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.2 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Cuisines: French, European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel du Vin & Bistro York is located in the tranquil area known as The Mount, close to the city's historic centre. This beautiful hotel in York city centre is housed within a Grade II-listed building that dates back to the early 19th century. Formerly a private home and an orphanage, the hotel houses 44 stylish bedrooms and suites, trademark bistro, bar and private dining rooms, along with a terrace, courtyard and inner forum for alfresco dining. York is a historic and beautiful city, believed to date back from Roman times. York is the county town of Yorkshire, perfect for a cultural getaway or a romantic weekend break that will inspire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin York

Address: 89 The Mount, York YO24 1AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 7,755 - ₹ 19,581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin York 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in York
#10 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 month ago
Beverley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Chester, United Kingdom

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had the superior which was fantastic, ideal for a weekend break.”
ianbarnfield, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Get there early to bag a car parking space,stay in a room at the back for most peace.”
JoS346, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you're bothered by traffic noise ask for a room with a window facing the backyard.”
Smaskifa, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Request room to rear of hotel as main road can be busy”
, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't have Pol Roger”
kafrins, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$ 126* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 140
PricelineUS$ 139
Orbitz.comUS$ 140
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates