We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Saxon House

Booking.comUS$ 76*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Saxon House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Saxon House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 210: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Went with my boyfriend for a midweek 1 night break in york. Booked over the phone no probs. Location great only a 5 min walk to the town centre and there is a car park at the rear of the hotel, however you do have to move your car upon checking out. Check in was at 1p.m we were provided...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank emloveshols
sheffield
Reviewed 14 September 2011

A one night stay in the four poster bedroom. Great base to explore York and a lovely walk into the centre if you take the lady's advice and cross the street to walk in by the river. Complimentary bottle of wine was a nice surprise. Clean throughout and modern bathroom - small yes but aren't the bathrooms always small in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank peteinengland
Swansea
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Lovely welcome, friendly staff, beautiful breakfast every morning. Our family room at the top was lovely and comfy beds. Fresh towels every day.Ideal situation, as bus stop across the road which would take you straight into town. You could even walk into York.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nicola P
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hotel was basic but for the price we paid it was ok, apart from the drawer fronts falling off and if I turned over in bed my nose was in the bathroom, the thing that upset our group was, as we unpacked, on arrival early afternoon in our allocated rooms, my friend's daughter discovered during unpacking, that her boyfriend...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dizzilizzi55
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review

During your stay at our guest house we noted that when first checked in there was an excessive amount of noise that did not last only 2 minutes. We had another guest complain of the noise and when it continued we obviously had to notify your party that you would be asked to leave if the noise continued. The next...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in this B&B for one night. The experience was overall positive. The room was clean and well equipped, although the quality of the bed/ bed clothing was below average. Some furniture looked tired. That is what I can say about our room in particular; others might be different. The common living room was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leop79
Wrexham
Reviewed 15 August 2011

When booking this hotel we first looked at the hotel website which showed modern spacious rooms however on arrival we were sadly disappointed.... The double room was very small and toilet practically right next to the bed. Aware this is a b&b however feel that it was slightly mis sold on the online pics. We were down for breakfast 1st...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lafwinter
TheSaxonHouse, Owner at The Saxon House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Ms I have checked what I believe to have been your booking and you had booked a Single/Small double. As for the comment regarding the toilet, I feel this has been exagerrated, as the room comes with an en-suite, which of course is located in a room. Breakfast this is rather concerning especially since we always cook breakfast fresh...

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed at this lovely bed and breakfasts for three nights! Can't fault anything! The location is fantastic a 10 minute walk to the centre! Rooms are big enough and clean! Breakfast is excellent really good portions. Staff all very friendly! Can't understand some of the negative reviews on here. Would deffo stay here again.Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen5534
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Clean,comfortable, well maintained, excellent location, 10 mins walk to city center, adequate car parking, good full English breakfast, friendly hosts. Nice weekend spoilt only by inconsiderate noisy female guests arriving back in the early hours (on both nights we stayed. Free wi fi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clayshooter
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Myself and Mrs BTEP stayed here for two nights. The room was sold as a small double but was perfectly adequate with plenty of room. The bathroom was perhaps a little small, only being the width of a shower tray. It also had what was perhaps the world's smallest sink. However, the room was lovely and clean and had all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobTheEvilPenguin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed at The Saxon House Hotel for 1 night on 31st March. Occupied 2 rooms, 1 for me & my boyfriend & the other my friend and her boyfriend. Both rooms were of a good standard and were impressed with both rooms. Complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits etc in the room .. Nice &clean. Breakfast was good- ordered as you arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clairemc29

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 km away
Moorgarth Guest House
Moorgarth Guest House
#94 of 193 in York
9 reviews
0.2 km away
Lighthorseman
Lighthorseman
#73 of 193 in York
180 reviews
0.2 km away
Friars Rest Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The York Priory
The York Priory
#41 of 193 in York
486 reviews
0.6 km away
Barbican House
Barbican House
#32 of 193 in York
397 reviews
0.2 km away
The Holly Lodge
The Holly Lodge
#151 of 193 in York
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Saxon House

Address: 71/73 Fulford Road | Fishergate, York YO10 4BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 4,859 - ₹ 15,416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Saxon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Saxon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saxon House Hotel York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Saxon House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Saxon House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose somewhere else if you want a good room”
sallyj279, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure. Avoid the family room!”
ruthirving, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“park bench”
24chasb, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“This apartment had 2 rooms on the top floor both very comfortable and airy.”
charlucy0191, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Back rooms quieter as front rooms on street but higher you are the traffic noise muted.”
W7036MCmaryt, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 76* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 76
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates