We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge York Central

Show Prices
#28 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 759: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge York Central
 Click to rate
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good Value for money excellent location, rooms very good staff friendly and helpful Would recommend this hotel to others, it was everything I expected and as advertised. It is one of the best travel lodges I have stayed in

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillipc718
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Fab location, fab pub and fab hotel. Staff very helpful, perfect location for York, pub built in (Wetherspoons) and fab value all round. Would defo recommend for a stay in York. Ideal for walking around York and not too far from Railway Station. 👍😀

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gareth1920
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, room good size for family of 4 my only complaint is the kids beds the spring of the mattress are very close to the surface this is the second travel lodge I have stayed at and both have been the same it must be the mattress design please look at this travel lodge

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannecH4841QZ
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for one night as we were out exploring york and returned to hotel after 5pm the room is basic which we know stayed at many travelodge before the bathroom was horrible the bath was black where you stand in to shower I think personally soaking in bleach would remove these stains the floor must get quick lick...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hazelgled
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Handy for York centre, near to the wall and river, useful having the pub next door for meals, hotel room comfortable and reasonably clean, staff pleasant, no hairdryer in the room but reception gave us one, lovely big fluffy bath towels. Car park nice and close.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P5436TJlisag
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is an absolute delight to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, especially our hotel location being handy for the area and experiencing clean, comfortable accommodation. We will be making the hotel aware of your comments and we do hope you stay with us again in the near future.

kent,England
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed from Friday to Sunday as part of a rail deal with super break. I found the hotel to be very good, clean and compact with friendly staff. It is ideally located for the city centre (less than 10 min walk) and is close to York castle, York dungeons and Jorvik centre. There is a large, well run wetherspoons underneath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maidenengland
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found your room to be clean and comfortable during your stay. We strive to provide a positive experience and are happy to see this was the case. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Like most Travelodges you know that it's a bed for the night and really just a base during your trip. I booked this Travelodge as it was the cheapest place in town. It was comfortable enough and modern. Perhaps it could have been just a touch cleaner as I noticed a dirty mark on the pillowcase and a towel (probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eaterouterr
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge York Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s great that you were happy with the location of the hotel and that you found the staff to be friendly during your stay. We are sorry to learn that you found marks on your pillow and towel and will be sure to pass your comments onto the hotel manager. Thank you again for your...

Doncaster
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night as we were attending a show at the Barbican. The hotel is walking distance. If you want breakfast it's available at the ajoing pub come restaurant. The room we had overlooked the river and a mill house. It was quiet except for the ducks in the morning. The room is basic as you would expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent F
Rushden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is just what you need for a weekend stay in the Centre of York, Staff are friendly and made the effort to talk to my 5 Year old Twins, the hotel is clean and tide, and the pub next door does some good food,

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P5ulk
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel before as it is only a fifteen minute walk to and from the train station, The staff on reception are always on hand to help and nothing appears to be a problem. There are signs on each floor asking people to be quiet when returning to their rooms late at night and there are...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sp1re1te

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
1.0 km away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,694 reviews
0.3 km away
No photo provided
4.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge York Central

Address: 90 Piccadilly, York YO1 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge York Central 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge York Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge York Central Hotel York
Central Travelodge York
Travel Lodge York
York Travel Lodge
York Travelodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge York Central staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge York Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the cleanliness thoroughly.”
 of 5 bubbles DKVB, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms can be a little noisy facing the hotel across the road - due to staff outside smoking and chatting!”
 of 5 bubbles R5325DGpatriciab, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room near lifts (e.g. 201)”
 of 5 bubbles NorthEast_76, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“not near the lift or above the bottle bins”
 of 5 bubbles Moonchild484, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 206. Lovely view out of the window in the morning (we arrived in the dark) of canal and city walls”
 of 5 bubbles ARM555, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5