We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Middletons York

Expedia.comUS$ 128*
View Deal
#23 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 128*
US$ 128*
US$ 128*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Middletons York
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

787 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 777: English reviews
Start your review of Middletons York
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

I took my girlfriend here recently as a romantic treat, she had never visited York before and I thought it's a brilliant way to spend a weekend. This hotel looks amazing as soon as you pull into the car park, lavish and grand. Unfortunately when we arrived it was very busy and trying to get parked was an issue, my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
North Somercotes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am 68yrs old and have eaten in many restaurants over the years. Some good some bad. CONGRATULATIONS to the Middleton for being the worst of the worst. Portions were minuscule, flavour non existent and aesthetically on a par with todays school dinners. The chef, cook, student or whoever produced such an appalling meal had the decency not to change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pidgeon123
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank-you for your review, we really appreciate the feedback as we are constantly trying to improve our products and services. I do find it a shame that although we had the decency to acknowledge our error on this occasion and refund you, you still felt the need to take your complaint to social media in an attempt to...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed here several times and the staff are brilliant. The hotel has recently been taken over and the staff who have remained with the hotel have ensured that their quality service has remained. Thwaites should be very proud of them. I arrived and the team on reception sorted a more suitable room immediately as I am not keen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie J
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant, there were 5 of us. The dinner was just awful, at first we thought it was a joke, then it was offensive. I ordered the Mushroom risotto, it was green and I tried one bite and could not eat it anymore. The portions were an absolute joke. When dinner was over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tootsie134
New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You will not find better accommodations in this small quaint town! The hotel is beautiful with great rooms- we stayed in the outside "cottage" room and it was huge for us 4! The staff go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Young lady at the front desk Harriet is what makes places like this spectacular. Thank you for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gladys09
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team, especially Harriet! Should you be returning to York we would be thrilled to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off accommodation, plus we also have great packages available. Best...

newcastle
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were booked in for an evening meal in the restaurant but when we got there and ordered a couple of drinks before our meal we were shocked at the price £6.80 for a pint and a half of mediocre real real ale which I get for £2.50 a pint at home.So we decided to eat else where.Do not enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geordie01
Carlisle
Reviewed 1 week ago

Most enjoyable two night stay with our grandchildren in very well appointed Family Room. Bedrooms are located in a number of buildings which comprise an historic location within a five minute walk of central York. Our room was spacious, with a double and two single beds. Our only slight "moan" would be that I found the double bed to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cazza1999
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. Should you be returning to York we would be thrilled to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off accommodation, plus we also have great packages available. Best Regards, Middletons,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely dinner at the Saw Mill Restaurant, while was visiting friends who stayed at the hotel. The restaurant is well decorated, staff are friendly, professional and very attentive. But the biggest surprise was the selection/quality of dishes. Very well balanced menu, reasonable prices, seasonal ingredients, just how it should be. I had a venison starter while my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeslieCarter
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Evening, Good Afternoon, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. We would be delighted to welcome you back to our Sawmill restaurant next time you are in York, we will look forward to welcoming you back soon! Best Regards, Middletons, York

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has a great location for exploring the city and is easy to get to. Parking is an extra £10 per night on a first come first served basis but we got a space each time we arrived. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was tasty and there was plenty of choice and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. Should you be returning to York we would be thrilled to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off accommodation, plus we also have great packages available. Best Regards, Middletons,...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great weekend in York and what a first class hotel we stopped in lovely food,staff,room and surroundings already booked again,can't wait to go,and the hotel is only five minutes walk away from the centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
MiddletonsYork, Manager at Middletons York, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank-you for your review we have thoroughly enjoyed reading your comments and we will really enjoy passing them onto our team. Should you be returning to York we would be thrilled to welcome you back to Middletons! Remember to always book direct as we offer 10% off accommodation, plus we also have great packages available. Best Regards, Middletons,...

450 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (18)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Single Room (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (20)
Viewed
Other (47)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Small Double Room (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.2 km away
The Churchill Hotel
0.6 km away
The Judges Lodging
The Judges Lodging
#12 of 46 in York
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,096 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Middletons York

Address: Skeldergate, York YO1 6DS, England (Formerly Lady Anne Middleton's Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 7,691 - ₹ 13,646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Middletons York 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Middletons York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Anne Middletons York
Hotel Lady Anne Middletons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Middletons York staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Middletons York staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take own pillows”
pidgeon123, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would not go to this hotel”
tootsie134, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 34 was fine.”
dfsimpson3, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had room 46 was nice clean, comfortable, spacious and even though the road was just outside, it was very quiet.”
eileenEngland, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Historic buildings, so expect stairs.”
firenze02, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 128* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$ 128
Hotels.comUS$ 128
TravelocityUS$ 128
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates