We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

York Marriott Hotel

Marriott HotelsUS$ 102*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
York Marriott Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,800 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,781: English reviews
Start your review of York Marriott Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. It's very tired. Air conditioning broken, fridge broken, windows won't open, weather very hot, gave us a fan and a portable fridge. Paid top money very disappointing. This is a prime case of Marriot bleeding their hotel and not putting any money into it. Stayed on third floor really old and heat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F J
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for my partners birthday , very easy to find , big car park at the back of the hotel , grounds were really nice as were the facilities, pool, jacuzzi , steam room and sauna were all very good and clean , bar staff very friendly and restaurant food very nice , would stay here again , maybe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
Fareham
Reviewed 1 week ago

We Booked to stay here for a reunion and planned to stay 2 extra nights after that. Our room for the first night was old and tired. The flush didn't work very well. The bath water didn't drain away and the room was hot, when we opened the window there was a large air conditioning unit on the roof outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WinnieFareham
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WinnieFareham, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We do not enforce a strict dress code at our breakfasts, as we want our guests to feel as comfortable and at home as possible in Marriott hotels. Should the supervisor on duty feel that someone is dressed inappropriately, they will take it upon...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked this Hotel because I bought my husband a Red letter day with Virgin a champagne Hot Air Balloon ride . And this Was the ideal Venue as it went up from the Race course at 6am on the sat am , the Reception was lovely and the manager spoke to us ,he seemed lovely and very proud of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
Rob B, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Michelle C I was sorry to hear that your balloon ride was cancelled. I hope they let you re-book for another day. I do remember speaking to you in the lobby and I hope we get the opportunity to chat again in the future if your travels bring you back to York. Warm Regards Rob

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely large room, with two double beds. The window was small though, so not too much natural light coming in. The bathroom was also large, and the shower was in the bath.The bathroom was in need of updating, with a cracked sink, and no heating! Everywhere was very clean. Dinner in the hotel was not the best,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Devontravellers_42
Eleanor W, Front Office Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Devontravellers_42, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at York Marriott. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not have the best of stays with us, as we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable experience for all our guests I am disappointed that we did not meet expectations on this occasion. With regards to...

Waterloo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excited to share this venue with the world. Charming, charming, charming. Compared to my room in Glasgow a month ago this was the royal treatment. Two entrances to the suite it was so large! Bedroom area with bathroom adjoining, dressing area, and an office/living room! Loved the squeaky floors, but the views overlooking the gardens and the racecourse were stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UWaterlooTraveller
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stop here as it had recently been refurbished while we visited York. The hotel and staff are lovely (although I wouldn't say it had been refurbished). The staff were really fantastic. They were always polite, friendly, and helpful. They offered to carry bags and delivered a fan to my room when I was too warm. The only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Novaa_Star
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Turned up to a full car park - concierge said to park on the lawn, but the point where you could get on the lawn was very tight. Not a good first impression. You have an event on, you know your car park will be full - a couple of cones round the entrance to the lawn would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S77pag
Lauren G, Guest Relations Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear S77pag, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We have over 160 complimentary car parking spaces at the hotel and on the rare occasion that the car park does become full we endeavour to find any of our guests suitable spaces. We do now have the option on the set menu for...

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here en-route to Hull for one night and we booked the available Grandstand suite with a request in for the Penthouse suite, which we were delighted to find we had been given when we got to the hotel. What a fantastic room, large space and a fantastic view. Fantastic balcony on the top floor looking over the race...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dale C
Rob B, General Manager at York Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dale C We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Remember always book direct with Marriott to ensure you get the best deal. Regards

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quite old furniture, fridge didn't work. It was really sad that you have to pay for a better coffee (like cappucino) during the breakfast. I thought it should be complimentary in 4 star hotel. On the other hand hotel has a really nice leisure centre ( the best from 5 hotels I have visited in York). There is also a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichalL24

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (290)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
1.4 km away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
2.6 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.1 km away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Chase Bar & Grill
The Chase Bar & Grill
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool, gymnasium & private tennis court. The all new Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. ... more   less 

Additional Information about York Marriott Hotel

Address: Tadcaster Road, York YO24 1QQ, England (Formerly Marriott York Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 6,559 - ₹ 21,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your York Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott York
York Marriott
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in York
#15 Luxury Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from York Marriott Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from York Marriott Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't pick third floor”
331fj, 26 May 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
WinnieFareham, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“The best rooms, with balconies, face the race course, but are expensive.”
Devontravellers_42, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Overlook the garden.”
UWaterlooTraveller, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Racecourse Views are good”
  • View from balcony
  • Balcony
  • Bathroom with double sink, bath and separate shower
  • Two fridges
dalec225, 2 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Marriott Hotels
US$ 102* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$ 137
ElvolineUS$ 112
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates