We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 87*
View Deal
#22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,223: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
 Click to rate
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived a little early for check-in, but our room was ready - a bonus! We were shown to a delightful room on the ground floor with doors leading out onto a terrace which, although not completely private, was a delight - particularly as we arrived in sunshine! The room was on the small size but beautifully decorated and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neann2546
Oakland, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked one of the apartments here and found the room to be very quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed the extra room to relax in and to eat our own breakfasts. Location is OK, but a bit far from the walled center of town. Note that the apartments are across the street so it is a little hair-raising to cart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas V
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Thank you for a wonderful weekend. The room we received was excellent including an unexpected upgrade. Food all weekend was lovely. 2 tiny criticisms are about the temperature of the room and the scrambled egg. The room despite having the fan going all day and night the room was still tok warm. The scrambled egg was bland and powdery but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda S
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A friend and I visited the Pavillion for lunch. We were looking out for somewhere to have a light lunch and spotted a sign saying '2 courses £10'. What a revelation! Really good car park. Proper table linen, beautiful setting and lovely, attentive staff. The menu wasn't huge but a really good selection, cooked and presented so well. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean m
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed my stay here, my first time in a Best Western hotel and would recommend them. Lovely inside and nicely furnished. Good size rooms and good bathroom with excellent shower. Freshly cooked breakfast and good selection of continental. Only thing that lets it down is the scrambled eggs are bought in and not freshly cooked which was disappointing with lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SARACEN77
Irene C, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sara - I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - but horrified that you would think that our scrambled egg was anything other than freshly prepared. I promise that our eggs are fresh arriving daily from our Yorkshire producers ... so next time you come back do give our scrambled egg another chance ... you'll love...

Thirsk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I took my mum for her birthday treat for afternoon tea here yesterday and I have to say it was fab. The staff were lovely very friendly and welcoming and were quite happy to let us sit outside in the glorious sunshine in their lovely courtyard gardens. The afternoon tea itself was delicious and all freshly prepared and all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KHHyg
Irene C, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and I was delighted that we arranged perfect weather to match your afternoon tea. Our pastry chef is a gem and enjoys preparing home-made cakes for the afternoon teas each day. Come back soon! Thanks for the great review - they are really valuable to us and I love to share them with our...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel for the weekend (5th & 6th May). We arrived early evening on and checked into our deluxe double room which was very clean and spacious. On the first evening we ate in the hotel restaurant we ordered the sirloin steak and chips, the chips were gorgeous however, our steak was a little tough and fatty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greenfall2014
Irene C, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and loved the accommodation. I was disappointed to learn that you had poor steaks - all our beef is Yorkshire beef and is of the highest quality so I have asked Chef to have a word with the local butcher...

Birmingham
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for one night over the bank holiday weekend. The site we had booked through advertised the hotel as only being one mile from the city centre - as we don't mind a walk we thought this would be ok, but I would say it is further than the one mile claimed. This didn't cause...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T11254
Irene C, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review and I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - and that my team made you very welcome. The room you had was Grandad Woolley - they are all named after people and places which are special to my husband and I. Grandad Woolley was my grand-father and he had a passion...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very well looked after when we popped in for coffee on a Monday morning my 90 year old mother - they were very welcoming! She particularly loved the crumpets - and we had a chance to read the newspapers :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaintsAlive08
Irene C, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

I was delighted that our service of coffee and crumpets touched the spot - bring your Mum back any time - we always have lots of papers to browse through whilst enjoying fresh coffee! Thanks for the lovely review - Kind regards Irene Cossins Owner

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

For great character - an ideal place to stay. Staff are efficient and friendly. Food is very good with an exciting menu. Presentation and taste are both top notch. Rooms are well appointed and well equipped. Perhaps they could consider reacting some power sockets as adaptors do not fit. Downside has to be the very creaky floorboards and thin walls!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJetset
Irene C, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I was delighted that my team made you very welcome and that you enjoyed our menu - I have enjoyed sharing your comments with everyone! I was surprised to read that some adaptors don't fit the sockets - I will get Peter to check them out. Unfortunately the age of the building does mean...

398 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (23)
Viewed
King Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room with King Size Bed (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
The Knoll Apartment (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
2.8 km away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
3.0 km away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,263 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 5,889 - ₹ 11,863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western York Pavilion Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
east lothian
5 months ago
Rome, Italy
over a year ago
England, United Kingdom
England, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western York Pavilion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't do this as we only visited for lunch but will definitely be there again.”
jeanmN7392PN, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“The four poster in room 42.”
davemeek, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Previously found downstairs room with walk in shower although each room we have stayed in has been excellent”
735frankh, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a suite !”
Barb7267, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“there is no lift so if you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room”
paulvK3247HP, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 87* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 184
PricelineUS$ 87
Orbitz.comUS$ 87
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates