We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Best Western Monkbar Hotel

Show Prices
#24 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Best Western Monkbar Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 426: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the hotel for two nights this week. It was the first time I had stayed at the hotel since it's refurbishment and what a transformation. The hotel has a modern look and the bedrooms are well decorated, spotlessly clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. A good selection of hot and cold options are available for breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimoJH
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have just returned to the Monkbar for the first time in over 2 years and wow how it has changed. It has been fully refurbished to a very good standard. The only downside is that there is no parking any longer but that is not a problem as there is a secure public car park 2 minutes walk away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Morning Ian, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  Very pleased you enjoyed your time with us Ian and liked how we have refurbed the hotel from last time you stayed with us. I do hope you had a nice time visiting York and I Hope to welcome you back to the...

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If your a light sleeper don't bother. This hotel is situated on a main junction, 3 sides of the hotel are facing main roads. As only some of the rooms are double glazed the traffic noise finishes around 1.30 and then starts again around 6.00. The room we had was above the reception just off the road. The old wooden...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris S
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  I'm glad to hear you found the hotel clean and enjoyed the locally sourced buffet breakfasts we offer. I am sorry for any issues you had and all comments have been noted so thank you. We offer all our guests parking at the...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for a long weekend, the staff were friendly and helpful, the double room was smaller than we thought it would be but very clean and comfortable, we had the buffet breakfast each morning ( open untill 10.30am sat/sun) which was great, plenty to choose from and not rushed. The hotel is located in an ideal place, we parked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  I am very pleased that you had a nice time with us and liked the location and enjoyed our locally sourced buffet breakfasts we offer. All comments have been noted so thank you. Very pleased our helpful staff were friendly during your visit....

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel and it didn't fail to please. Rooms, decor and food all fabulous. Just one complaint - the guy (Kris) who was seating guests at breakfast, we found to be a little too officious. Much more intent on his table plan than greeting guests with a smile. Also, table clearing a little slow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  I am pleased to hear this was your second visit to us and liked the rooms, decor of the hotel and food we offer in the Yorkshire Bar and Grill. Sincere apologies for any issues regarding breakfast. I am glad you enjoyed the...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for celebration afternoon tea with prideful. Restaurant deserted so no atmosphere. Slow service of drinks. Choice of three fillings all in yellow brioche rolls; crayfish, ham (with gristle) or cheese. Plus a sort of deep fried bla pudding, very unpleasant. For afters, a lukewarm Apple crumble (apples not cored properly) and a piece of parkin. Altogether disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
Management response:

Good morning Jenny, Thank you for the review regarding your recent visit to the Yorkshire Bar and Grill We do get many compliments about our 'Yorkshire' take on the afternoon tea so it is disappointing to hear it wasn't your cup of tea (pardon the pun). Being January our restaurant can have quiet spells and I am sorry this impacted...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Best Western Monkbar hotel in York is a strange juxtaposition of a modern facade and a rather rambling older building, a vicarage I believe, with staircases all around the place. The room we occupied was spacious and the bathroom had modern fixtures and fittings, which is always welcome. Perhaps the best aspect of the hotel is its proximity to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renewalsh
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Evening, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  I am very pleased that you had a nice time with us and liked the location. It is perfect for visiting York. The hotel is an older building, like many in Historical York and it is a quirky building layout which, for once I...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The aesthetics of the hotel are nice, I take it these have all been updated in the renovation. We had a room on a main road so had concerns of road noise, but not a problem at all once you close the inner set of windows. Turns out the internal noise of the hotel is more of a concern -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florlor
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  I am glad you found the decor of the hotel nice and yes we have been through a full refurbishment recently. I do sincerely apologise for any issues and inconvenience caused during the stay. Regarding the radiator, each are equipped with a thermostat...

Worsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the new year .great location , close to the shops , the Shambles , spacious room and beautiful hotel with friendly staff .Breakfast was well set out with lots of choice ,parking was close by and a bargain .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lydia H
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lydia, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  I am very pleased that you had a nice time with us and liked the location and enjoyed our locally sourced buffet breakfasts we offer. All comments have been noted so thank you. Very pleased our helpful staff were friendly during your visit....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel clean rooms ok stayed 2 nights bar prices to expensive food menu very poor not much selection for the money we paid for our stay. Breakfast excellent. Staff very good very attentive to our needs.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank staywr
garya224, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Monkbar Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at The Best Western Monkbar Hotel.  It's great to read you found the staff very attentive and found our locally sourced buffet breakfasts excellent. All comment have been noted for future discussion so thank you. I do hope you had a nice time visiting York and I Hope to...

288 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (23)
Viewed
King Bedroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Superior Bedoom (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 46 in York
934 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.9 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#32 of 46 in York
1,670 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#16 of 46 in York
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following an extensive £3m refurbishment program the Monkbar Hotel has been transformed into a stunning contemporary, boutique hotel 4 star hotel. Now boasting 125 individually designed and decorated rooms, some overlooking our Yorkshire courtyard garden, others overlooking the City Walls and some with a Minster View. As any true destination hotel our restaurant - The Yorkshire Bar and Grill - will not disappoint. A stunning bar and grill concept open for brunch from 8am daily, you will be greeted by staff with a professional yet relaxed approach, who appreciate the importance of great service - and great coffee! During the day you can take your pick from modern tapas-style dishes made with the best of Yorkshire produce or be swept away with an incredible restaurant menu. Armchairs and booths make the bar a perfect place for meeting friends you can simply relax in the bar with a glass of locally distilled Mason's gin and tonic or on sunny days enjoy a bite to eat in the beautiful walled garden. Produce is key, so our Head Chef Ben and the team have chosen incredible local suppliers to create a seasonal menu that will showcase the best of local produce and put The Yorkshire bar and grill firmly on the culinary map. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Monkbar Hotel

Address: St. Maurices Road, York YO31 7JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 6,631 - ₹ 11,918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Monkbar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Best Western Monkbar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in York
#11 Luxury Hotel in York
#13 Romantic Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Monkbar Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
14 days ago
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Portsmouth, United Kingdom

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Monkbar Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the rear of the hotel away from the roads and make sure it's double glazed”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisS848, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms overlooking the busiest road”
 of 5 bubbles Renewalsh, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ideal for central York”
 of 5 bubbles 426lydiah, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor for quiet rooms”
 of 5 bubbles bulman957, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Even if on the road side still quite”
 of 5 bubbles 720philipb, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay