We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Grand Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Grand Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,681 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,637: English reviews
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed at the grand hotel for one night. Hotel is very nice, staff are very polite. Great location. Room was a good size, although very warm. Put on air con which was so loud and rattling that we had to turn it off. Also my partner woke up saying the place is haunted so there's also that. Overall really nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank grace0392
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear grace0392 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel and Spa. I am sorry to hear that our air conditioning unit let you down and disturbed your stay. We have already had an engineer come and look at this and fix the motor which was causing the noise....

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at The Grand for three nights for our wedding anniversary. From arriving to the valet parking through to leaving everyting was perfect. Every member of staff that we came into contact with was excellent, their focus on customer service was superb. We stayed in an executive room which was huge. On entering there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary H
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gary H, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team was able to look after you so well. We believe that going the extra mile and providing an...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

I was recently a guest at a wedding at the Grand, it was truly amazing. We were looked after perfectly by all the staff. The grand came to the rescue of my friends wedding after her previous venue was not in a fit state to use any longer. A special mention to Gracie the Wedding planner she was amazing. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arizona46
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Arizona46, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team was able to look after you so well. We are very lucky to have such a passionate team and...

London UK
Reviewed 3 October 2015

It was the central Post office so the corridors are cavernous as are the rooms. Our suite smelt a bit drainy at first, however we were comfortable after opening all the windows,. The beds and the lighting were good. The bathroom excellent. The service was prompt and friendly. And although the dining room was rather empty, the food turned out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jiinx
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jiinx, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team was able to look after you so well. It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back here...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights while attending a conference in York. The hotel is perfectly located for the train station, transportation links and walking around the historic city centre. My room was massive and extremely well appointed, I was spoiled by the comfort. Breakfast was excellent with hot coffee and superb discreet service. Stay here as it is worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 33Gastronaut
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 33Gastronaut Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team was able to look after you so well. It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back here...

Leeds
Reviewed 3 October 2015

My granddaughter and her fiancée got married here. The rooms were very good . Everything went according to plan and the staff were excellent. The Champagne & Canape's were excellent as was the Wedding Breakfast. It was a lovely day helped by everyone involved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeedsPinklady
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LeedsPinklady, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team was able to look after you so well. We are currently looking forward to a complete redesign of the...

Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2015

The Grand Hotel was wonderful, friendly reception staff, valet attended to our luggage immediately and the room was enormous. The rooms were Goverment Offices prior to the hotel conversion and as the building is heritage listed they remained a very large size. Breakfast was nice and the staff attentive. We had afternoon tea and it was as good as any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraceyLea2013
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TraceyLea2013, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team was able to look after you so well. We are currently looking forward to a complete redesign of the...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

Had a great stay at the grand hotel in York. Executive room lovely, worth upgrading. staff friendly and helpful. Near the station and within easy walking distance of town. Will definitely go back. Great place for a long weekend or longer break.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fiona T, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and pleased to hear that the team was able to look after you so well. We are currently looking forward to a complete redesign of...

South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Went to this hotel for my husbands birthday door staff and receptionists fantastic! However downhillafter that treat like paupers at breakfast because we didnt put credit card details at reception wanted to march us to front of house to pay samewhen ordering drinks. When emailed a complaint a waitering supervisor replied basically saying it was our fault, tried emailing the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Littleangel1979
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Littleangel1979 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at the Grand Hotel and Spa. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as you had expected. We had tried to address your issue with the confusion over your breakfast payment and apologise for the message from the...

Vancouver
Reviewed 30 September 2015

We travelled the UK in September including three nights in York at the Grand Hotel and Spa. It was an extravagant experience at a reasonable rate. The staff were very friendly, and the concierge helped us out as this was our first trip to York with great restaurant recommendations. It is a couple of blocks from the train station, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duane D
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Duane D, Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and pleased to know that the team was able to look after you so well. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back here...

1,211 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (813)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (136)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (195)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (78)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (342)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (335)
Viewed
Accessible Classic Room (40)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (38)
Viewed
Executive Room (34)
Viewed
Junior Suite (44)
Viewed
Master Suite (48)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (48)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
978 reviews
3.1 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,032 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Hudson's
Hudson's
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Price Range: ₹ 10,772 - ₹ 22,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Grand Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
63 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (63)

Questions? Get answers from The Grand Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book a room at the front of this hotel, they are too noisy and you will not get any rest.”
 of 5 bubbles carolineh601, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“First floor facing the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Lol313, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“503 gives decent view towards rail station, quiet and clsoe to lift!”
 of 5 bubbles seawisedave, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I am led to believe that each room in this hotel is different. Room 224 did not suffer from any disruption. It was a very pleasant stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 1stprinciples, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Executive rooms are not much more expensive, but worth the money.”
 of 5 bubbles hate-popups, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5