We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Angel Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Angel Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

857 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 857: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice rooms, if a little dark. Booked a room with a harbour view and weren't disappointed as it was great to see all the fishing boats going back and to. Typical wetherspoons hotel, with good service and all the food/drink at great prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A little late on the review, but I always wanted to leave one as they were so fantastic here. My mum and dad stayed here last year for my mum's birthday. I e-mailed them as we were sending some flowers to the hotel for her, and they responded fast, my parents were out at the time of delivery, so the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayleighbaldwin
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Very good value. Comfortable well equipped room. You don't expect a telescope in your room to look out over the harbour! Friendly helpful staff during the stay and enjoyed a great value Wetherspoons breakfast during the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Covar74
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was average for the price, complained sink was not draining twice never fixed, heating system noisy, bathroom radiator working but was really cold in there, staff in and out of number 204 next door all Thursday afternoon making a terrible noise. Upstairs restaurant cold. Reception staff and team leader excellent on day,s one and three.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank berry654
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately we do not have an onsite plumber however when maintenance issues are raised rest assured call outs are placed and if a problem is found the engineer will fix it as soon as practically possible. The heating system has been checked and we could not find an issue with it. Due to the flooding that...

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night, lovely room, nice girl on reception. Wetherspoons is right next door, we are there twice, both times nice food, service on bar could have been quicker but actual time waiting for food to come out was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loopylew29
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My first day in Whitby and I thought The Angel would be the ideal place for lunch and a pint. Not busy at all when I went in, decent selection of beers reasonably priced as is usual for a Weatherspoon's pub. Was served quickly with my pint but then told that the kitchen was closed but not told why. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Trevor D
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Due to essential planned maintenance works we did have to close the kitchen for around two hours on Monday afternoon from 1pm. I'm unsure why you were unable to see the signs that advised of this closure both on the bar and at all entrances of the pub, but I am pleased to hear that a...

sheffield
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked because of location and reasonable price. Upon arrival the lovely woman at reception had upgraded our room to a balcony room overlooking the harbour. Superb room with all mod cons. We will definitely be back, many thanks to angel hotel and staff.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonlw1
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It's great to know you had a good time here and that the staff played their part in it. I will pass back your comments and we hope to see you again.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great place to stay for a winter's night in Whitby. Our room and the bar overlook the harbour, up to the Abbey and on a quiet night it was a fine place to sit and watch the harbour lights with a great selection of beers. The room was cosy and quiet.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gnomesecretary
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It's great to know you had a good stay and we hope to see you again.

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A beautiful room with first class trimmings at a wonderful price. In a different way as brilliant as the the Royal hop pole in tewksbury. A shame no parking cost £7.50 a day in a public car park . Breakfast great value .

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 434jen60
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit and thought so highly of our hotel and pub. We are in a great location but as a result of the hotels position, we unfortunately do not own any parking. The long stay however is only a short distance away and guest can use the loading bay outside...

Norwich
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fantastic place didnt expect it to be as it was been a wetherspoon very clean would recommend it and stay again the hotel is in a fantastic place staff a very helpful they cater more for food than the normal drunken people you tend to get so great for a chilled or romantic weekend

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank julian2483
Angel H, Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We do work hard to make sure the atmosphere is just right in the pub and I'm pleased to see you thought we achieved that. Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon.

236 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (70)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.1 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,825 reviews
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
958 reviews
4.1 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
424 reviews
0.3 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: 1 New Quay Road, Whitby YO21 1DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Price Range: ₹ 3,892 - ₹ 6,418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Whitby, North Yorkshire
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Angel Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Bradford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sheffield
4 months ago
Mexborough, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from The Angel Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a Harbour view”
 of 5 bubbles briancW7719SI, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you can, request a balcony room! The views over the harbour are truly stunning...”
 of 5 bubbles Kayleighbaldwin, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you want a room with a good view at busy times pay extra for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles lynandStocktononTees, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 302 has 2 windows as it on side of hotel , so it wasn't noisy”
 of 5 bubbles H3601YCgaryc, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't use it.”
 of 5 bubbles satiate001, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay