We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highfield Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Highfield Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Start your review of Highfield Hotel
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The coffee was undrinkable, the seats throughout were stained, the tables were sticky and dirty. The whole place needs a good clean,even the menus were sticky. I would not recommend anyone to go here. Sorry

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scotlass123
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front of House at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business, we are truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We do hope you return so that we can show that this is not the norm here

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I took a party of 6 out for tea here and we all had different meals. They were all lovely and generous portions. The waitress looked after us very well and was friendly and helpful. Typical bar meal menu which is just what you want.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nmaidwell123
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front of House at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business, we always love to hear when a guest has enjoyed their visit with us!

Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The mattress was just a bag of protruding springs basically. I had to sleep on the floor as it was impossible to get comfortable in the bed. Room and hotel facilities were fine otherwise but i mainly wanted a good night's sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kuepper
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front of House at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business, we are truly sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your experience with us. We do hope you give us another chance to prove that this is not the norm here at The Highfield Hotel

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice place to stay clean, warm and everything is in the one place. So you don't really have to hunt down somewhere to eat. Love the massive cake cabinet. Nice hearty breakfast if you want one, and the lady that seen to us was really nice. On booking in the young man could've smiled a little. The lady behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mrsdecan
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front of House at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business, we always love to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us

Northampton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very poor experience at this hotel - starting from the second we walked through the front door. Reception was unstaffed with no means of notifying anyone you had arrived (e.g. a push bell, buzzer etc). After waiting 10 minutes I had to go to the bar in the adjoining pub and wait for staff to finish serving...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Daniel P
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front of House at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your visit with us. We would like to apologise for everything you encountered throughout your stay and can assure you this is not the norm here at The Highfield Hotel. We do hope you give us another chance in...

Flemish Brabant Province, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

This old style hotel which also houses a pub and restaurant has friendly staff and spacious rooms. Here and there some TLC is in place to patch up some degradation in this aging place. From the positive side, doesn't this add up to the charm?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ignace D
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Clean, friendly staff, everything we needed. Hotel is a Hungry Horse restaurant. Kettle with tea coffee and biscuits in the room. Full English breakfast inc with cereal, pastries etc inch. Quick and easy check in and out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front Desk at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always love to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay!

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Location good, cooked breakfast quite good, bar meals were of reasonable quality and good value for the money, bed nice and comfy, overall good value for the price paid. However, our room (112) and bathroom were tired and tatty looking, one radiator did not work and room felt chilly all night, also there was a constant humming noise off the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front Desk at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate all feedback left!

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I stayed at the Highfield for one night after visiting Middlesbrough to see West Brom play. I only booked a single room but the bed was massive and the room was much bigger than I was expecting. Everything was clean and the towels were nice and soft. I didn't use the attached Hungry Horse pub for an evening meal but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deanothebaggie
HighfieldHungryHorse, Front Desk at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always love to hear when a guest has enjoyed their stay with us!

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Just had a excellent meal in the hungry horse prawn cocktail to start then chicken skewers salad chips onion rings and roasted peppers and onions £9 and a gorgeous pint of San Miguel. What a find in middlesbrough well done. Better than the town centre been late night shopping as we work shifts. No xmas music lots of places shut...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine A
HighfieldHungryHorse, Reception at Highfield Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business, it is always lovely to hear when a customer has enjoyed their visit to The Highfield Hungry Horse!

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middlesbrough hotels
1.7 km away
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
Jurys Inn Middlesbrough
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
251 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge
0.5 km away
Baltimore Hotel
Baltimore Hotel
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
161 reviews
3.9 km away
Blue Bell Lodge
Blue Bell Lodge
#8 of 11 in Middlesbrough
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middlesbrough
Price Range: ₹ 3,022 - ₹ 5,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Middlesbrough
Middlesbrough Best Western
Highfield Hotel Middlesbrough, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highfield Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Highfield Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay that little more”
 of 5 bubbles nmaidwell123, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a large room if booking a single.”
 of 5 bubbles deanothebaggie, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“recommend room 4 on the ground floor for quietness”
 of 5 bubbles sapper245, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All good rooms and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles RayC612, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Pay extra for big room”
 of 5 bubbles 816leannef, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5