We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Marton Road, Middlesbrough TS4 2PA England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (99)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (16)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Highfield Hotel
Updated 12/08/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 11 in Middlesbrough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Highfield Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Middlesbrough. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Highfield Hotel, visitors can check out Jamia Mosque Almadina (0.5 mi) and Temenos (1.2 mi), some of Middlesbrough's top attractions.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Best Western Middlesbrough features 24 hour front desk, express check-in and check-out, and baggage storage. In addition, as a valued Middlesbrough Best Western guest, you can enjoy a lounge that is available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Vine, Happy Villa, and Golden Mermaid, which are some seafood restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Dorman Museum (0.7 mi) or Albert Park (0.9 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

At Highfield Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Middlesbrough.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
371Reviews3Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 88
  • 68
  • 59
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
944smog wrote a review 19 May
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom237 contributions65 helpful votes
We popped in for lunch , really nice staff very welcoming get the nothing is too much trouble vibe , table was clean . Used the app to order we had burgers the drinks arrived very quickly , thanks Jonathan pleasant and polite , not to long after the burgers arrived , well presented , good portion , nice and hot .TBH for the price extremely good value and really tasty. Very satisfied with tge food and service, The manager Rosie ?spent a moment checking everything was OK, what a credit to your company so polite and professional . We will return great value thanks
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thanks so much for the Great review! We hope to see you again soon
Read more
Sue Connor wrote a review 19 May
2 contributions
Great atmosphere for both family with children and adults. Love the bar side for the over 18’s….. Staff helpful and polite, always smiling. Nothing is too much trouble. The bar staff kept the tables clean of glasses and wiped them down regularly. Food is good and great prices. Shout out to Pam who never seems to stop! Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thanks for the great review suzie! We hope to see you again!
Read more
Sam S wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Full English breakfast but no tost ,tost is extra 2.38 Bacon was burnt sausages not cooked It say on the menu 1. 20 extra for a drink but the charged full price on the bill,The say u can take awey but no takeawey box , when they bring sausage back was long microwawed . Cooked early morning sarve all day the was not same month before. We used to gat nice breakfasts there but not anymore
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi we do not advertise that we do take away anymore anywhere on our site for the last couple of months as we can not get the boxes. Two rounds of toast is 2.38 which we have no choice in the pricing I’m afraid. For the rest of the comments I can’t really make out what your comments are so if you would like to get in touch so we could resolve the situation please email 1729@greeneking.co.uk
Read more
robert d wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Stayed in the hotel recently. The staff are second to none. The food is gorgeous and reasonally priced. The staff go above and beyond to make sure youre having a good time and enjoying yourself. Caprice and tyler looked after us both. They are definitely a credit to the company and we cant wait to come back here :)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 5 Apr 2022
Thanks for the great review and we hope To see you again when the hotel has been refurbed!
Read more
gemmaxlewis2072 wrote a review Mar 2022
York, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Had a family meal out on a Sunday was a great atmosphere and great service. Couldn’t fault the food. We had the Sunday lunch and it was gorgeous. The pub was clean and well presented. Will definitely return
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
JamesG wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
We arrived at the highfield hotel yesterday as we were passing through Middlesbrough. The place was really busy and most tables were took. We spoke to manager sophie who said she’d find us a table straight away as soon as she took the plates into cleaning. a kind staff member named Tyler showed us to a table so we could sit and eat some lunch while watching the football. The place was very busy and it looked short of staff…however these staff members worked their socks off to try and make everything run as smooth as possible. Alex and Josh were a credit on the bar helping me and my family decide what to eat as other options were unavailable. We settled for two Beef dinners in which the beef was absolutely gorgeous. The drinks are nicely priced and due to the atmosphere in the pub and the football volume on it was a great vibe. A credit to the chefs as the food was delicious and even though we waited half a hour to 40mins due to the busyness of the pub it was well worth it. Tyler, Josh, Alex and also Sophie you are a credit to the pub and should all be proud of what you did today as without you I don’t think we could of had a better family day out
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 1 Mar 2022
Thanks for the great review, it’s amazing to see that while we are away our assistant manager and team continue to do a great job 👏🏻 we hope to see you again soon
Read more
Lee F wrote a review Feb 2022
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Looked great from the outside, loads of parking and nice pub, although didn't use the pub and restaurant. Hotel was of main restaurant, walk through to get to downstairs rooms. Security door (card operated) from pub to the rooms wasn't locked or functioning so access for everyone was available, and closer on it wasn't working so it banged continuously everytime someone entered ot exited. Room was ok, very small double bed, very small TV with exposed hanging wiring. Threadbare carpet, fire instructions inside door were ripped and partly missing. Bathroom was atrocious, bath handle missing leaving holes. Sink shelf missing, leaving brackets. Mould everywhere around bath and shower, bath seal was lifting in many places and compromised, shower screen seal missing so floor got extremely wet when used. Some sort of bracket missing on shower rail, which left a dirty bracket of some sort
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Thanks for the review, also the hotel will be going through a full refurb shortly. We. Know the issues with the hotel as well as Greene king do. We hope because you giving us a 3 star. If you return and we have had our refurb you will give us another chance
Read more
sam79812 wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
came to the Highfield hotel earlier this week lovely clean and friendly pub with very polite and welcoming staff :) food was incredible so thank you to the female chef (think her name was shannon) staff were very thorough making sure they asked us was sauces we required and making sure that all our meals were okay! thank you for a lovely visit im looking forward to returning
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your positive feedback we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Andy Maguire wrote a review Jan 2022
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom1 contribution
Me and my family came in tonight and what an outstanding visit it was, we were served and greeted by a lovely gentleman called Alex who brought the place to life. After we sat down and ordered our food a young lad called Joseph worked effortlessly to make sure we were all okay throughout our visit, when the food arrived, it was absolutely top notch, can’t give the chefs enough credit for it, all around it was a great visit would definitely recommend it if you want cheap but excellent service, we will be returning in the future👍🏼
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your comments we will make sure the guys who served you get some recognition! We hope you can join us more often and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Martin P wrote a review Jan 2022
2 contributions
Joe was always the first to ask how I was doing and if I had been served and Alex helped me out with a charity event I’m planning in future for blood bikes charity…these are two really great assets to the pub and always good to have great crack with when talking about football and other sports.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Highfield Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2022
Thank you so much for your comments we will make sure the guys who served you get some recognition! We hope you can join us more often and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$59 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western middlesbrough, middlesbrough best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Hotel Middlesbrough
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireMiddlesbrough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Highfield Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Highfield Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Dorman Museum (1.2 km), Rock Antics LTD (0.6 km), and The Buccaneer (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Highfield Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Highfield Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Highfield Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highfield Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Persian Cottage, Fellinis, and Cafe Central Park Bar & Restaurant.
Are pets allowed at Highfield Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Highfield Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ormesby Hall (2.5 km), Church of St John the Evangelist (0.7 km), and Dock Clock Tower (2.2 km).
Is Highfield Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.