We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel

Save
Share
Marton Road Teesside, Middlesbrough TS4 3BS England
PremierInn.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (32)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel
Updated 27/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
At our Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel you're just a short drive from the town centre, with great transport links to all the sights and sounds. From tourist attractions like Saltburn or York, to business destinations like Teesside University and the Tees Docks, or even visiting James Cook University Hospital just across the road, it's all on your doorstep. There's so much to see, where to start? How about Saltburn, with its sweeping beaches and Victorian charm. Or Whitby, a favourite with tourists and Dracula fans alike. Or the stunning moorland of the North York Moors. Whatever you do, make sure to finish off with a meal in the restaurant just next to us, then collapse into your super-comfy bed.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Restaurant
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
41Car recommended
Grade: 41 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
1019Reviews7Q+A89Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 627
  • 255
  • 89
  • 24
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Mary wrote a review 19 May
Leeds, United Kingdom61 contributions42 helpful votes
Stayed here with friends for a for a funeral. Sad times but our stay was made perfect by the amazing friendly staff at the hotel. Janet and tracy checked us In and we’re very friendly with suggestions for a good place for an evening meal as we weren’t keen on a carvery. Rooms are spotless and clean and all staff members we encountered were cheery and friendly. We had breakfast the morning of our departure and I must say the chef Denise does amazing poached eggs. Well done and we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JohnW19292 wrote a review Mar 2022
Skegness, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Very clean. Members of staff from check-in to cleaners very friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic but have everything needed except a mini fridge. The corners of the beds in the rooms are very close to the table below the TV about 15 inches, meaning having to pass going sideways or risk bumping you toes on the legs of the bed but you learn to avoid this painful experience. A word of warning, DO NOT accept room 204 as directly below the window are two very large exhaust fans which continue making a loud noise all night long making sleep impossible. We requested a room change for our second night and given room 217 which was perfect. Completely quiet. Would definitely stay at this hotel again as this was our second visit
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ahmad Mitoubsi, General Manager at Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear JohnW19292, Thanks for the kind review and insight from your stay with us. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thanks again.
Read more
MrsD1983 wrote a review 10 May
Aberdeen, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
I stayed over for 1 night for here. This was my first time at this Premier inn. Check in was great. Arrived and got checked in with no issues. Got room 212. Later that evening I started hearing loud clanging noises from the room next door. The noise was like the sound of coat hangers being rattled in the wardrobe. My thoughts were why people would be so noisy at that time of night. This time it was around 10/10.30pm. The noises continued until around 12/1 am. I eventually managed to drift off to sleep however I was awoken at 5.30am to the loud and unbearable banging/clanging noises again. The noise was so loud. I was absolutely knackered having had a short disturbed sleep. I decided to stay up and get myself ready for checking out and I couldn’t get back to sleep. After I had my breakfast I spoke to the receptionist who was really helpful. He checked the room (210) next door to see who was in that room and to our surprise, the room was actually vacant. We went upstairs and he opened the room door where the noise was coming from and it was empty. Both of us were pretty freaked out but it didn’t explain these noises. I had video recordings of the noises which he listened to and agreed was terrible. Overall my stay here was really not the best. If I had been staying longer than the one night I would have asked to move rooms. Please avoid room 210 or 212. I couldn’t wait to get home to my own bed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Whitbread Hotels and Restaurants, Other at Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hello, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We’re very sorry that you had a disappointing experience due to noise during the night disturbing your sleep. This certainly isn't what we would expect for any of our guests. We’ve ensured this feedback has been logged to the Hotel Management so that they can look into these issues with the Reception Team. Although we can't completely control noise levels, the team will do what they can to reduce disturbance when this is bought to their attention. This will help us to prevent this experience from being repeated again in the future. Moving forward, our Reception team are on hand 24/7 and so we would advise speaking with the team as soon as any issues arise to help resolve this whilst you're still in-house. Again, our apologies and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to one of our hotels again soon for a more enjoyable stay. Kind regards, Lauren
Read more
Joe S wrote a review 10 May
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Our family needed to be close to the hospital after a family emergency so chose the premier inn. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff and the support they have given us throughout our stay. The rooms are clean and well serviced, breakfast is freshly cooked to order and staff have been very supportive and helpful to us all.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Quieter at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
melshmel wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions4 helpful votes
We regularly stay in Premier Inns and always enjoy our stay and our visit to Middlesbrough Central was up to the usual good standard until we went to get in our car in the morning and the window was smashed, as were the windows of two cars parked next to us. Apparently the same thing had happened to 5 cars a couple of nights before in the same Premier Inn car park. We reported to local police and were told the car park was a known crime hotspot. Such a shame as the rest of our stay was very good and the staff were lovely. Premier Inn must review security in the car park though. Drivers beware!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Ahmad Mitoubsi, General Manager at Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear melharris1305, I'm really sorry to read this. I'm aware of the local issue and can only apologise. Our CCTV system is state of the art following a recent upgrade. This is something we will further investigate however. Thanks again.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$48 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
premier inn middlesbrough central south hotel middlesbrough, middlesbrough premier inn, holiday inn middlesbrough
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central South Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireMiddlesbrough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, free parking, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toby Carvery Marton, The Highfield Hungry Horse, Middlesbrough, and The Sanctuary Coffee House.
Are there any historical sites close to Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Ormesby Hall (1.7 km), Church of St John the Evangelist (1.8 km), and Dock Clock Tower (3.3 km).
Is Premier Inn Middlesbrough Central (James Cook Hospital) hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.