We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When I shell out £83 for a night's accommodation, I expect a few things: a comfortable room, a private bathroom, and, if I'm being honest, something a little nicer than the average hostel. When I checked in and found that my room made my college dorm room look spacious, I was understandably disappointed. My too small single bed was crammed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AussieOnTheRoadcom
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment about your stay. We are sorry that you felt letdown. We are a mixture of a hotel and a hostel, and we always try to provide the best possible comfort for our guests. We keep remotes for the TVs at reception and they’re available upon request. The bathroom of your room is wheelchair...

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We found the idea of staying in a large budget place a bit daunting, as they can be scruffy, but here we found the staff very pleasant especially as we were 'just' of pensionable age and most of the clientele were youths! Good to see a few more of our age there too. it is also next door to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs J
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, We’re delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We’re proud of having great staff who speak different languages and are very customer focused. The bathrooms are small but have everything you need in them. However, we will undergo a refurbishment of our bathrooms to make them larger in the near future. We hope to welcome you again!...

Mendoza, Argentina
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Where should I start? - First, the hostel charges for EVERYTHING, even the crappy ear plugs that most hostels give for free. The say they let you "borrow" towels, but you have to pay and leave a deposit. - The WIFI is awful, we didn't get any signal in the bedrooms, only in the lobby. And if you want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danilabra87
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay. We are sorry to hear your stay didn't meet full expectations. We always aim to provide an excellent customer service and that is why your opinion is very important to us. At the hotel we try to provide as many amenities as possible so our guests can...

Manosque, France
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Booked this hostel,last mintue and was pleasently surprised at how great a hostel it was.located right next to the free museums and hyde park,I walked from the hostel to buckingham palace in less than an hour.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monika W
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy with our location with easy access to some of the best attractions in London, as well as plenty of places to eat or simply hang out with friends. We hope to see you again in one of our Meininger hotels around Europe. Best wishes, Your Meininger-Team

Paris, France
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is a youth hostel, very basic and expensive for the quality of the beds and the room. The sheets were not clean and for a family room for four they do not make the bed on the top...so you have to do it yourself.....unbelievable. Do not come with a car since there is no car park even if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
Meininger H, Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. The company we use for the housekeeping department does not allow employees to do the top bunks for health and safety reasons. Anyhow, we are sorry that your sheets had some stains on them. Next time please ask for new sheets at reception. We do have a parking garage...

Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I ended up staying here twice on my trip. The first time I was on level 6 in a tiny 4 person dorm, with no air con, and two of the showers didn't work, plus a distinct lack of power points in the rooms. But the location is good, and I felt safe (as Im traveling by myself) The 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MilHope
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking your time to leave your comment about your stay. On the 6th floor we have our basic dorms with are a bit different from the rest of the dorms in our building. Unfortunately we had some maintenance works in two of the bathrooms and we deeply apolozige for the inconvenience. We are glad that...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2014

for £27 a bunk bed in an 8 bed dorm with an ensuite in Central London is fantastic for those on a budget, the bathroom IS like something on a plane, the shower curtain is clingy plastic, the mirror gets steamed up, the "lockers" should be lockable, the fellow inmates were all fine & easy to get on with, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorMagee
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for leaving your comment with us. We know that our central location offers a lot of possibilities to our travellers to explore London and our staff is always available for nice tips on how to get the best from your trip. We are also starting a refurbishment in our bathrooms to provide extra confort to our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2014

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank koko_2013_reviews
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I ended up at the Meininger because I had to make a last minute change to my itinerary and it was the only affordable hotel near an event at the Science Museum. Beggars can't be choosers, but this rated as one my worst hotel experiences ever. My experience in chronological order: - During check in, they asked for a physical...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Strangebrewfellows
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for this honest comment. We regret, that we couldn't meet your expectations and that you didn't felt comfortable while staying with us. We nevertheless hope that you maybe visit one of our other hotels to get a better impression of MEININGER:-) Kind Regards, Your MEININGER Team London

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed for a night in a 4 bed dormitory. It's pretty decent for the price in London. My stay was overall ok but I had a bit of trouble working the shower and running water. There was a period in the shower stall where I pressed the button for water and nothing came out, but it sorted itself out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jade128
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for this feedback. We appreciate that! If you have any trouble with the hotel's facilities,please always let us know, so that we can try to fix these things;-) We hope that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again! Your MEININGER Team London

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 791 in London
1,039 reviews
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#135 of 791 in London
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#75 of 791 in London
341 reviews
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#24 of 791 in London
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel is located centrally and even the Queen has visited it. Starting in South Kensington near Hyde Park it's easy to explore this European metropolis. And if you're staying in: there is a large terrace on the first floor for table tennis tournaments. Gorgeous! Lobby, hotel bar and bistro, a gaming area and seminar rooms - MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation. Welcome to London! ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park

Address: Baden-Powell House 65-67 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Price Range: ₹ 5,012 - ₹ 14,862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
8 months ago
Bury
10 months ago
Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
Lusaka, Zambia
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close to museums”
 of 5 bubbles 828eddar, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't book basic”
  • showers all had varying degrees of mould
  • showers all had varying degrees of mould
  • showers all had varying degrees of mould
 of 5 bubbles yyyy12345, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The best room is for me is 603”
 of 5 bubbles thepugbossd, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Top rooms are quieter and the hostel has an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles SrirangaC, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 5th floor and there wasnt signl for wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles Mator7171, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay