We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Church Street Hotel

Show Prices
#469 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Church Street Hotel
Church Street Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Church Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 372: English reviews
Carndonagh, Donegal, Ireland
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Cool hotel, really well decorated and the room was lovely. Lots of patterned tiles and great attention to detail, the place was spotless too. The toiletries were posh, the free chocolate a lovely touch, and the hot sauce came (the oddest hotel freebie ever) was sizzling. The honesty bar was a lovely spot to sit for drinks; great as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blaise H
Westport, Ireland
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Had a lovely weekend in London recently and stayed at the Church Street Hotel. It's often a challenge to find decent good value accommodation in London, so this was a real find. Our room was great, plenty of space, beautifully decorated, and the TV, DVD player and AC unit were a real plus. All the rooms are a bit different...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frances H
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2014

From the outside it doesn't look much, but inside you come into a Mexican / Spanish experience, with Mexican religious artifacts everywhere, from paintings to stained glass. The service was excellent and all the staff friendly. Quite the best breakfast I have ever had, and the evening meal was very well presented and excellent too. Although the building has an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 913ludovicm
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It is difficult to find decent affordable accommodation in London. The compromise here was the location but the bus service is excellent and in 20 minutes you can be in the centre of London. We hadn't realised we had booked a shared bathroom so were a little disappointed when we arrived. The staff were extremely helpful and managed to rearrange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy029
Lucia G, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ZIggy, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. I am very glad that you enjoyed with us. We do have indeed quite a few room types; I am pleased to hear that we managed to accommodate your En-Suite request. Our aim is to make a difference when compared to other hotels in London. We truly...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I booked a king size room for 1 night. The room was very nicely decorated and the shower room was lovely. Staff were very nice and helpful. Unfortunately we were kept awake by noises from the kitchen, which was under our room, until about 3 a.m. I enquired the next day what the noise was and was told it was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 1963todd
Lucia G, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Todd, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking your time in writing a review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests as it is an opportunity for us to grow, develop and improve our product and services. I am delighted to hear you liked your room and the unique decor of the hotel. We do...

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Bit quirky but the bedroom was clean, the bathroom was small but functional, plenty of toiletries provided and hairdryer. The room also had air con which was great in this muggy weather. Helpful reception staff and for the money it is really good value as far as London is concerned. Would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lynn K
Lucia G, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynn, Thank you for your review and for staying with us! I am very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. We are proud to be able to offer a unique product trying to meet the business traveller needs as well as leisure ones. We are looking forward to welcoming you at “la casa” again on your...

phoenix, az
Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you have looked at hotels in London then you know the going rate has gone too far. We looked for several days on the various booking sites for a hotel that was reasonable and chose to go with the Church Street Hotel. There are a number of different room types available with some including an ensuite and others with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank phoenixtravelerlover
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We've stayed here a couple of times now, when we've been working in South London. It is, well, just marvellous. The rooms are always interesting, the staff are always helpful, the restaurant downstairs serves excellent food all day and there's an honesty bar. That's what really sold the place to me, the fact that they treat their guests as though...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard B
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Yes, this hotel is cute and quirky, but they seem to have put more thought into the tiles they chose than into how the rooms actually work. For £155, our room (supposedly deluxe) was quite small and felt more like a cell. There was just one tiny window high up on the wall, so we couldn't even reach it. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank veggiedyke
Wincanton
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Clean & comfortable and if you have a room at the back, little traffic noise. Car parking in church yard about 5 mins walk £5 for 24 hours good value. Nice restaurant with good choice of breakfast. Honesty bar where you can take a drink and make a note on a pad what you have had for adding to room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank horace33

277 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (129)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Habitacion Mambo Rey - Deluxe King En-Suite Room (31)
Viewed
Habitacion Unico - Standard Single En-Suite Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Chelsea Guest House
#311 of 1,088 in London
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#583 of 1,088 in London
142 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#424 of 1,088 in London
199 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#610 of 1,088 in London
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: ₹ 5,572 - ₹ 11,727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Church Street Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
North Richland Hills, Texas
over a year ago
Leicester, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Dana Point, California
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Church Street Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Important to note London's noisy but triple glazing at front helps. Ask for room at back for a quieter room or one on higher floors.”
Booshruth, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room which doesn't look in to the main road as there are pubs below and numerous ambulances using that road all night.”
SteveR914, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“very near Maudsley Hospital and IoPPN conferences”
gunas530411, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get aircon rooms away from the open bar....”
angelo65Geneva, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we had a "superior" room because we knew we wanted air conditioning however, our friends also had air. also, not all rooms are en suite.”
thundering-pause, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5