We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Normandie Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Normandie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Normandie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 103: English reviews
California
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Seemed OK to being centrally located, nice people (I thought) decent cheap Hotel I guess. We went out and came back at 11.30pm and the outside of the hotel had transformed there were prostitutes all over the place and rats running around the garbage left on the street. It only got worse. Once in our room we noticed the curtains...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mtwtraveler
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Looks like mold on the ceiling. Room not filthy, but not clean (soiled wall light switches, sticky surface bedside table, etc.). Not one single touch of charm. On the other hand, the desk concierge was very helpful. Breakfast was ok--I didn't tour the kitchen so trust it was relatively clean--(no refunds available so I tried to think positive to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LeahPhoenix
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Nice family run place in the center of London, polite and helpful staff. Paddington station is very close which helps the ease of transportation. Kensington Gardens and Palace is just 10 min walk from the hotel which is a pleasent way to spend your day. Hotel room was nice and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natasha, Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your holiday and liked your room. I look forward to perhaps seeing you again now that the hotel has been renovated.

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

It's a good hotel if you're looking for something for cheap price and close to Edgware road but then again there are other hotels for same price that are better, this is a good hotel but needs upgrading, very poor bedding, heating facility wasn't very good though we were given an electric heater. I didn't really enjoy my stay, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moh K
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay. We are actually decorating the hotel now and replacing the bedding.

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Very very poor, needs a good clean, updating and new window from dripping & mouldy , it's a throw back to the 30s Chewing gum left on the head board, mouldy in corners on the carpet, could hear the traffic through the rattling Windows all night, hand towels for bath towels, no tea or coffee in the rooms, the only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you were not happy with the room . We advertise that tea and coffee is available on request as some people do not want it in their room. If the traffic noise was unbearable you could have asked to change for a room at the back. Also if you had mentioned that the taps were...

Liverpool
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Read some terrible reviews upon booking this, but got was the cheapest I could find for when I wanted. My sister from Australia was visiting and I wanted to show her round London so wanted something much nicer, but we aren't high maintenance and knew we'd be out all weekend and only using this as a place to get some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael_Jamieson
devon
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Great location.....whole hotel needs updating drastically. Poor house keeping and complete lack of attention to any detail. No toiletries or hand towels or bath mat. No tea or coffee making facilities. Bed linen clean but holey. The top stairs coming away from the building. Not sure what was going on with the lights...... Would not stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaznal
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise that you were not complelely satisfied with your stay at the hotel. Tea- and coffee-making facilities, as well as toiletries, are available on request and the bed sheets could have been changed for you with minimal disruption if you had mentioned your concerns during your stay. I have checked the top stairs and staircase and have found noting...

Bled, Slovenia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

It's an excellent choice when you need a place to sleep in London. The hotel staff is very kind and friendly, rooms were cleaned every day. Full English breakfast is included in the price, there is free wi-fi. It's only a 10-minute walk from Marble Arch and Oxford Street. I'll definitely choose it again when I go to London and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bled_SloveniaCilka
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel satisfactory. I look forward to see you again.

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Well no bed bugs in our 2 rooms in a few days... The building is old so you get the Victorian feeling of an old London houses which is interesting as well (squeaking stairs, small corridors, small rooms...). We slept ok, the breakfast was good - all as expected in this price range. The best thing is location - so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank izi f
Andy M, Owner at Normandie Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. I hope you will be returning to the hotel and please make yourself known to me when you do. If you are not happy with anything please speak to the reception staff and we will help you with any problems.

Paris, France
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Writing this review is long overdue for me, but here goes. We were lured in by the cheaper price and the central location (Paddington) which would allow us to explore London with ease one last time before leaving Europe. We had spent the previous few months using AirBNB for our accommodations, but decided we wanted to change things up and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt S

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 km away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#659 of 1,077 in London
304 reviews
0.1 km away
The Gresham Hotel
The Gresham Hotel
#841 of 1,077 in London
569 reviews
0.0 km away
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#736 of 1,077 in London
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#839 of 1,077 in London
430 reviews
0.1 km away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#640 of 1,077 in London
389 reviews
0.2 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#672 of 1,077 in London
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Normandie Hotel

Address: 96 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: ₹ 4,682 - ₹ 9,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Normandie Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Normandie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Normandie Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Marquette, Michigan

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Normandie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms 3 & 4 (ground floor). They are by the stairs door going down to the basement dinning room .. lot of noise from 7am.”
 of 5 bubbles nautibuoy2015, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no lift so if you are not able to manage many stairs ask for a room on lower floors”
 of 5 bubbles little4pink, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms effected by road noise due to single glazing to windows”
 of 5 bubbles brianjwpalacio, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“No room in this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles mtwtraveler, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles kaznal, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay