We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Chelsea Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Chelsea Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 639: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting London . The guesthouse is spotlessly clean and very comfortable stay . Staff couldn't do enough and were very pleasant. Only short trip on bus in and out of centre so location was perfect . We have found our home from home stay when visiting London . Already booked our next stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael M
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Michael M, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the guest house spotlessly clean and comfortable, the location ideal and the team very pleasant. It is a great honour for us when guests return to stay with...

St Andrews
Reviewed 19 June 2016

Booked a hotel in Islington for our first stay in London only to turn up and have the dodgy looking manager tell us it was closed and leave us wandering at the back of 10 pm. Thankfully Chelsea Guest house were able to take a booking at short notice. The staff were very nice and welcoming and supplied a comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikemN3518NY
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

I book the guest house for Irish June Bank Holiday and did not expect much after reading some of the comments. I arrived to the hotel early and wanted to leave my luggage, but then the staff had my room ready for me, which was a nice surprise. The room and bathroom were clean and comfy. The staff went out...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nan009
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Nan009, Thank you for kind review of your recent stay with us at Chelsea Guest House. It is always a pleasure to read such lovely reviews about my team and the service they have provided, as well as such lovely words about the guest house. As you mentioned, we are ideally located for the centre of the city which...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2016

Rooms are modern and fairly clean. Staff very friendly and free coffee and biscuits in the rooms. Oh, and excellent and fast free wifi. Downsides - slightly noisy (i was on the ground floor by the entrance) and the rooms are compact. If you are of large stature, you may not be able to easily wash your face in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Impoverishedstudent
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Impoverishedstudent, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Chelsea Guest House. I am pleased that you found your room modern and clean, and the amenities suited your needs. I am sorry that you found your stay slightly noisy, we do have larger rooms and rooms which are also towards the back of our...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 17 June 2016

Great Stay. Lovely room. Very convenient for traveling into the center of London as there is a great bus service. John Halligan is a great asset to your business! Nice little cafe recommend for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dublinbased040
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear dublinbased040, Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I am pleased that you found the location ideal for your needs. Your comments have been passed onto John, who thanks you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards, Danielle Mort General Manager

halifax in england
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We stayed here on Friday 10th June 2016 as we was seeing Adam Ant at Brixton O2 academy. The staff are very friendly and will do anything for you. The room was comfortable with a decent shower, if i was going to be critical, Tea and coffee in the room would have been awesome.There is car parking for a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie M
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Ronnie M, Thank you very much for your 5* review of your recent stay with us at Chelsea Guest House. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay whilst attending the Adam Ant gig at Brixton O2 academy. We have many guests stay with us attending gigs and concerts at the Brixton O2, and also the closer Clapham...

Sandown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Small awkward room with no bedside cabinets, no where to put my suitcase, tv placed high on the wall which was odd, carpets stained and dirty looking - everything was just a bit cramped and not as clean as I would have liked... Being placed next to Reception was not ideal as I was woken throughout the night with noisy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kimpP4464XB
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear kimpP4464XB, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Chelsea Guest House. I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, as you mention we do have a great team on site who are friendly and welcoming, and always here 24 hours a day to assist our guests with anything they may need before,...

London
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Staff were very friendly and polite, location is very central, rooms are clean, have good facilities and are very decent and the value is very good. There is no problem with places for food nearby (no inhouse catering). OK, it's not in Chelsea - but I knew that!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank batterseamark
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear batterseamark, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read a 5* review, and I am happy you found the team friendly and polite, our location ideal, and rooms clean with good facilities and good value for money. We always strive to ensure our guests have all they need...

portsmouth
Reviewed 7 June 2016

plush lobby. Not so plush downstairs, but that wasn't an issue. Room was plain, but clean, with a window, small but hot shower and clean toilet. More than we would pay elsewhere but that is London eh? A perfectly fine budget option, with friendly reception staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank woodydog666
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear woodydog666, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased you found our reception team friendly and the room to suit your needs. As you may have seen during your stay we are currently undergoing some renovations, which means many of our rooms are being modernised and are to include tea and coffee,...

Oxford
Reviewed 6 June 2016

The staff were friendly & helpful, the room/bathroom were clean. The only problem we had was that the booking website said "Full English breakfast, £5 per person, per night" but hotel staff told us that they don't do breakfast at all. Other than that, everything was great, will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisatT5749TK
Chelsea Guest H... L, General Manager at Chelsea Guest House, responded to this review

Dear lisatT5749TK, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and found the room clean and comfortable and my team friendly and helpful. We do not offer breakfast on site, but offer a voucher for £5 for a local cafe just 30 seconds walk from the guest...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#252 of 1,077 in London
636 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#406 of 1,077 in London
396 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Tune Hotel - London, Canary Wharf
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#563 of 1,077 in London
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Chelsea Guest House. Chelsea Guest House is conveniently located close to Central London and closer still to the famous and bustling Clapham where you can enjoy the selection of stylish independent boutiques, bars and restaurants on offer to suit every taste and budget. After your long day's sightseeing, a trip to the theatre, shopping or perhaps a visit to the vibrant night-life on offer in London, come back and relax in our warm and friendly guest house where your comfortable bed and well appointed room awaits. Our staff ensure excellent all round hospitality and service. Chelsea is hotel accommodation near to London's finest theatres of the West End, Brixton Academy for music concerts and shopping of the Kings Road and Kensington High Street.So enjoy the convenient location, special comfort and incredible value of the Chelsea Guest House. Contact us directly for special seasonal packages and offers! We look forward to seeing you soon.... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea Guest House

Address: 372 Wandsworth Road, London SW8 4TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: ₹ 5,122 - ₹ 8,492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chelsea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Guest House Hotel London
Chelsea Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#49 Best Value Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chelsea Guest House staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Knoxville, Tennessee
Swansea, United Kingdom
9 months ago
San Juan, Trinidad
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not over the McDonalds drive thu loudspeaker!”
 of 5 bubbles Clubfiz, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a rear room as the front face on to a busy road”
 of 5 bubbles patsiesmith1, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring coffee as great to have kettle to use they do give you some tea and coffee ”
 of 5 bubbles batty1967, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Everything was great. Only the greying towels let things down”
 of 5 bubbles sjk668, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“No lifts so be prepared for stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Anne2102015, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay