We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Generator Hostel London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Generator Hostel London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,157: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Generator hostel London for 3 nights on a weekend. We got a room with 12 beds in it. Every bed has it's own locker under the bed. First, the location of the hostel was good. Located about 5 minutes from the next underground station. Lot of small restaurants and an awesome pub (marquis Cornwall I think)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Swiss
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Generator hostel London is a great 'party' sociable hostel in such a good central location in London. Highlights: -great value for money. I paid about €60 for a 3 night stay. I booked off their website which is perfect if you want to pay in full instead of just putting down a deposit like with hostelworld.com. The hostel website sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niamh K
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Awesome location, 5 minute access to the underground or 10 in the opposite direction to King's Cross/ St Pancras. Downsides: -Bar music plays very loud very late. Every time I'd get up for the loo in the night I'd struggle to get back to sleep. -One elevator for all seven floors. -The design of the bathroom. A narrow room with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LivvyLoveridge
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hostel was dirty, they had awful food, don't get the tacos there more like burritos and not worth the price. I was in an 8 bed dorm mixed, people constantly opening bad closing doors, bed 1 I was in so you could hear everything from outside the hostel. Only good thing is Brendan at desk, he set me up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank asianSurf
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had never been to London before and the generator hostel staff made it so easy and were very accommodating, especially Luis at reception who made an extra effort to make sure my stay was a great one! A really cool atmosphere for solo travelers like myself. 5 stars🙌🏽👌🏼🌟

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parry B
Guangzhou, China
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location is quite good, near king' cross. But the room is too small. And the heating system isn't working very well. Also, the bed design is not as good as Generator Amsterdam. the charger is far away from the bed. We didn't sleep quite well because the noise outside the room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkkkkkkkkkkkkqqqq
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I would probably find elsewhere to stay next time I am in London. I was unhappy with the room and the front desk staff was not always the friendliest. Also the security. one of the roommates brought back stranger to the room who was not a hostel guest.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emilyY8589WI
Sippy Downs, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

generator hostels are really good and have a rather high expectation. this one was no change. the rooms were good and good great, the chill out palces awesome. just the initial arrival was slightly let down with no introduction to the area as to where everything is.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a young woman traveling alone, this hostel made me feel welcome and safe, as well as comfortable that I wouldn't have to worry my belongings. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the social atmosphere was relaxed and fun with a big common lounge and bar area. There were a lot of good options for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michele H
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey Michele H, We are so happy you felt safe travelling alone, this is very important to us. Hopefully you were able to meet some other travellers in our common areas. Yes, we are lucky to be so close to the tube stations which also helps feel secure at night. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Generator...

Mettet, Belgium
Reviewed 1 week ago

i recommand this hotel but not for the food only for sleeping and for the location you have to take towels and an adaptator to charge your phone it is a beautiful deco and rooms are ok it is near a commercial area, near resto and near the station

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 762marieannep
Genlon, Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review

Hey 762marieannep, It is fantastic that you were able to spend Christmas time with us and all your feedback has been shared with our team here in London. Yes our guests will need their own towels and adapters but for anyone who has forgotten theirs we sell them, available 24hours a day. Best wishes, Generator London.

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (444)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (19)
Viewed
1:40
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (232)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (110)
Viewed
Quad Non-Ensuite (12)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Six Bed Ensuite (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Twin Ensuite (14)
Viewed
Twin Non-Ensuite (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#352 of 1,080 in London
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#18 of 803 in London
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: ₹ 2,494 - ₹ 10,310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Generator Hostel London staff and other travellers.
68 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Charlotte, North Carolina
pembrokeshire
Portland, Oregon
2 months ago

See all questions (68)

Questions? Get answers from Generator Hostel London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms close the doors are little noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles lapaldo, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get the ensuite one”
 of 5 bubbles elp997, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There is an elevator but getting to the room can take a bit of walking. It is quite large,”
 of 5 bubbles AndersE663, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“For the love of God, DON'T DO IT”
 of 5 bubbles Chloeonfire32, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for lower floor rooms because lifts can get very busy”
 of 5 bubbles GraciedeGracia, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay