We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

PubLove at The Crown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
PubLove at The Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Lille, France
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Publove is a really pretty place, and the staff is really really nice and smilling. But unfortunately we had some little troubles during our stay. First, toilets and showers weren't so clean and there was a dirty smell in there. Secondly, beds aren't confortable, we could feel the springs of the mattress. And last trouble, it wasn't staff fault but...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank camillec126
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice staff and fantastic showers but very few charging points in the rooms and no common spaces or lounges except the pub down stairs. Overall it is okay for short stays at budget costs. The provision of nice large showers and bathing soap is quite commendable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Houvest
Alin I, staff at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hello! About the charging point in the rooms, if there aren't not enoght, people can use the ones situated in the bar during 24 hours with any problem. You are more than welcome to come back! Take care! The Crown

York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The water in showers was Luke warm. The beds were very squeaky and could feel all the springs. The rooms smelt really bad of stale air. The staff were very rude. They packed up the breakfast early and when I asked for some they were very rude and just said you should have come down earlier. They also advertise laundry...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymousH7707CY
Alin I, staff at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi there! Breakfast is served from 7-9, but at 9 the staff start to take off everything, otherwise the bar will be opened when breakfast is still on the tables... You are right, in the website is written we have got laundry facilities, and actually we haven't, it is a mistake, but there is one just 2 minutes walking and...

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Probally one of the best hostels ive stsyed in in the last 20 years .staff and simplicty is exellent , rooms are clean and the bar is 24 hours which in all fairness gives them 10 out of 10. Look forward to my next visit.well done.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marksD7828UN
Alin I, The Crown Team at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks a lot for your feedback, we're really happy that you enjoy so much your stay in our hostel ! See you soon !

Dumfries and Galloway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Greeted by very friendly staff, hostel was nice and clean and breakfast was superb. Stayed for dinner which was also very good. Only thing to let it down were the showers, thy could do with a little bit of tlc but apart from that Excellant value for money. I would definitely recommend!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fionaa615
Alin I, The Crown Team at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback ! Take care !

Stockholm, Sverige
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Nice small place for a short stay. Nothing for a backpacker as the place doesn't have a kitchen for the customers to use nor laundry possibilities. Also the rooms don't have much space for bigger luggage as the lowest beds are so low there's no room for a suitcase underneath and the lockers a just about big enough for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stjarnflicka
Alin I, The Crown Team at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your feedback, and thanks for your suggestions, it helps us to improve our facilities in the future. See you soon and take care !

Nowhereland
Reviewed 14 January 2017

This hostel suited my needs perfectly! Great value for money. Only problems: No washroom on top floor (you need to go one floor down) and only 3 toilets. Wifi also patchy on second floor, but otherwise good connection.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marthasS4977FG
Alin I, staff at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks a lot for your review! We have got 3 different routers for the different floors to avoid problems with the connection... We will check them just in case. Thanks! Regards, The Crown

Breda, The Netherlands
Reviewed 28 December 2016

The hostel facilities are average, could be a bit cleaner but further oké. The bar on the main floor is a nice extra, it was very busy when I was there. Security is also good and the staff is very friendly!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ingeborgr746
Alin I, staff at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hello! Our housekeeper team clean the building every morning, and even if during the afternoon something is dirty the staff can clean it, because we understand that after a while, with so many people in the hostel, is difficult to maintain it cleaned. We are very happy you had a good time here, we invited you to come and stay...

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Staff unhelpful, bar very noisy, it's cheap for a reason. Plus points are it's a convenient location (about a 10-15 minute walk from the station) and they do food and drink (the hostel is above a very noisy pub). Staff are overworked and extremely unhelpful. Some lessons in basic customer service would not go amiss.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
Alin I, staff at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hi there! The staff always tries to help hostel guests, most if they are new in London, so we don't know what kind of problem you could have... The bar downstairs is opened until 12pm on the weekends, after that time the music is off. Regards, The Crown

Nancy
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We were arriving in the night and the staff was very kind to welcome us. Like every day. Furthermore it was very good that the breakfast was included in the price of the room. Our room and the bathroom was clean. We really enjoyed to stay in this youth hostel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 149maudt
Alin I, staff at PubLove at The Crown, responded to this review

Hello! Such a lovely review, thanks a lot! Hope see you soon again! The Crown

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Backpackers
#213 of 816 in London
120 reviews
Pimlico
PubLove at the White Ferry House
Clapham / Battersea 
Clapham Guest House
Clapham Guest House
#131 of 561 in London
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#199 of 816 in London
152 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
PubLove at the Exmouth Arms
New Cross Inn Hostel
#454 of 816 in London
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
London's Legendary Backpacker Experience is a night in a PubLove pub in the heart of London. Party in the bar, raise a pint of London ale and feast on London's top five burger. The Crown is the PubLove for London's coolest village, and red bus rides to the West End. PubLove at the Crown is an award-winning backpacker hostel above a traditional London pub. We have comfortable beds, in-room security lockers, 24 hour reception, and a great team of PubLovers to make your London experience the time of your life. We also have an on-site burger kitchen serving London's top five burger and a wide range of damned good drinks waiting for you in our glorious London pub. Continental breakfast, fresh linen, and Wifi are all included in your stay. We also offer complimentary luggage storage, free walking tours, and laundry facilities. PubLove at the Crown in Battersea, in the heart of South-West London, close to Clapham Junction; one of the busiest railway stations in Europe and gateway to all of England. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PubLove at The Crown

Address: 102 Lavender Hill | Battersea, London SW11 5RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea  , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Price Range: ₹ 807 - ₹ 3,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — PubLove at The Crown 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your PubLove at The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PubLove at The Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from PubLove at The Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't have any”
 of 5 bubbles Houvest, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Steep stairs, small rooms, weak WiFi at the top”
 of 5 bubbles stjarnflicka, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“bring your own padlock for the lockers, bring a multi-plug adapter and maybe an extension lead”
 of 5 bubbles L2068OTpaulw, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Nothing to say, people was cool with me as I was with them!”
 of 5 bubbles S7FUNoob, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Good value for money and lovely little pub, lots of character. Felt right at home there.”
 of 5 bubbles brave172016, 11 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5