We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Booking.comUS$ 39*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 127*
US$ 39*
Great Deal
US$ 47*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Smart Camden Inn Hostel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Start your review of Smart Camden Inn Hostel
 Click to rate
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived at the venue with my two friends, i was asked for i.d by the rudest man on the planet, i did not read the small print, so did not know that i would need i.d.And instead of being helpful he was so rude and said oh well no i.d you will have to go, i told him, i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterwoods11
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent 4 nights at the hostel,which is well placed for transport links to the city centre,only 200 yards from Camden Town tube station (Northern line). The staff were friendly and helpful;and the breakfast's basic with cereal and toast,but it was ok, but tended to get busy after 8.15am,as the kitchen is quite small. To compensate,however,meeting of the guests in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blackpoolsteve2015
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Decent hotel. Good location. The staff was a bit grumpy but it was cheap and close to central Camden. The breakfast was crap. I would go there again if it's only for one or two nights. We had a 8 bed room for our large company.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to to leave a review we really appreciate it. Our breakfast consists of tea, coffee, cereal, toast and spread, it is free for all guests. We are surprised to hear that you found our staff less than friendly, we will look into this matter and apply new practice where possible.

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Basic but meets our needs from a hostel. - Beds small, mattresses cheap, packed like sardines in bunk beds with tiny bathrooms and not enough plug sockets or storage space. One fridge for all residents very full. One tiny winding staircase and five floors. + However, two lounges each with comfy padded seating and tvs was nice, as was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burygirlkeeper
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and comments, we are happy that you found our staff proficient and friendly with out hostel making a good base of operation for you stay in London. I am happy to inform you that we are slowly upgrading all our rooms to include more power outlets to help with the great demand .

Marshall, Texas
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

I really like this hostel. It is only a short walk away from Camden Market and the tube station. About the hostel, I will say that space was cramped at times, especially in the reception and kitchen area. I also paid for a locker (£1 per night) but never could get it to open. (I was refunded.) Some great things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HeatherOfTexas
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and for giving us such a high score, we are really please that we impressed. We sorry for the trouble with the locker but happy help with the situation with a refund. just to clarify, Luggage storage is available before and after your stay, it is free before checking in and £2 when checking out....

Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Staying in an 8 person room i was surprised by how small the room was. The rooms was very cramped especially when 3or 4 people where on the moving about the room at the same time. The bed were terrible. At 5"10 I'm not overly tall yet my head and toes touched the wall at either side. While there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write us some comments, being in such a copacetic location, it does come with is downside in reduced living space, but with our variety of rooms we can accommodate any guests specific requirements. All our rooms use European standard sized bed 190 cm, this can be an issue for...

Paris, France
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This hostel was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The rooms, common areas and corridors were cramped and the noise in the hostel caused me to have very little sleep. The staff were unhelpful and unprofessional, taking 30 minutes to check me in and discussing other guests in front of me. Hygiene was bad and everything came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke J
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with and for reviewing you experience. With are aim to offer affordable accommodation in one London most active boroughs, space does become a premium sadly, fortunately we have a range of room size to select from to accommodate each guests particular needs. We are surprised to learn that you check-in took so long, what is usually...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed here for 3 days overall a nice stay tho there are a couple of problems the beds are slightly on the smaller size I'm 5'9 and if I fully stretched out then I'd hit the ends so if you are taller then me you may have a problem. And the staff I won't say rude but a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Callum L
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review and comments they will help us pin point where future improvement be performed in the future. Our are European standard sized bunks, you are correct that very tall person may have difficulties. We are surprised to hear that our staff appeared distance, we will try our hardest to give our guests the warm and friendly...

Reviewed 16 March 2017

If yoi choose to stay in a hostel you have to accept not amazing clean condition. Taken that into account I was really satisfied with my staying here, prices are cheap ( I am not sure you can find better in London) and the location is very good since it is situated in the lively Camden Town. I can recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Domiziana M
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review us , we really appreciate your feedback. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with with us and thrilled about your recommendation. We pride ourselves on our cleaning standards but will take you feedback to heart and seek to improve upon ourselves in the future.

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

I've stayed in hostels before knowing that on a budget, both privacy and bathroom space are compromised. There's also the constant reminder to keep valuables safe at all times, which for £1.50 per night you can use your key card to lock, but not recommended for large luggage (didn't bother me at all). This hostel had to be the worst...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha M
Smart Hostels L, Public Relations Manager at Smart Camden Inn Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a review, your comments are always welcome to help improve our service. We are saddened to hear that we you found the hostel in a state not to your liking. We have a very dedicated housekeeping staff who clean every room daily, if there are any concerns regarding cleanliness please inform the reception so they...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (120)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Second Six Person Dorm with Shower (18)
Viewed
Second Six Person Ensuite Dorm (19)
Viewed
Six Person Dorm with Shower (10)
Viewed
Six Person Ensuite Dorm (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Britannia Inn
#7 of 15 in Ilford
154 reviews
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camden
York & Albany
York & Albany
#653 of 1,063 in London
296 reviews
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Camden

Neighbourhood Profile
Camden
Famous for its sprawling cluster of markets and shops as well as for an embrace of all things counter culture, Camden offers a concentrated version of London street life. From bargain shopping and people watching to rubbing elbows in its abundance of pubs and bars, Camden is the place to be for many a Londoner. It is also home to some of the hottest live music venues in Europe. As packed as Camden High Street and its tributaries can get during the weekends, this neighbourhood is right next to some of the city's most beloved outdoor spaces, namely Regent's Park and Primrose Hill.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Less than 547 yrd from Camden Market, the Smart Camden Inn is located in Camden's pubs and clubs district. Camden Town Underground Station is a 5-minute walk away and provides direct access to London city center. A 24-hour front desk is provided and there are no curfews or lock-out times. Tourist information and assistance is provided 24-hours and discount tickets for major attractions are also available. Free luggage storage is available for early check-ins. The Jewish Museum, Regents Park and central London are all within 15 minutes' walk. London Zoo is less than a 20-minute walk from the Smart Camden. A large TV features in the common room and a shared kitchen with a refrigerator is also available. Self-service laundry facilities are offered on site. All rooms are mixed-sex or female-only dormitories. Linens are provided and security lockers are available in all rooms. Shower and bathroom facilities are shared. Camden is a great choice for travelers interested in Theater, Museums and Culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Smart Camden Inn Hostel

Address: 55-57 Bayham Street, London NW1 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden
Price Range: ₹ 1,009 - ₹ 4,877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Camden Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smart Camden Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Camden Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Smart Camden Inn Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book here.”
peterwoods11, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Room I had was next to the main road,but it was really only a side road, and was fairly quiet”
blackpoolsteve2015, 12 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with private bathroom”
268marlynw, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the lower floor if you have luggage”
blathnaidm2016, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I booked in a 6 bunk room but was tiny. Maybe rooms with more bunks have more space.”
426katy, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 39* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$ 47
Priceline
AMOMAUS$ 127
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates