We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Home London

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Home London
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Home London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2015

It was an horrific hostel. Please do not stay here. Location is great but it's not worth the money. Better to stay somewhere else and travel a couple of tube stations into London than staying here. Room was tiny and dirty, my window didn't close, staff was unhelpful and guests had no respect for each other. I stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana R
KXJourneys, General Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi Mariana, we regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us.All private rooms are serviced and cleaned upon departure and the access codes changed.Had you reported an untidy room to reception,our staff would of dealt with it promptly.After your notification we have had a meeting with all staff members reminding them of the importance of handling room codes,and...

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Service was excellent. Breakfast milk appeared in my opinion to be off, not sure if it was the type of milk, but I saw other individuals throwing away their milk. The location was great. I just thought that the kitchen could have been more accommodating for late arrivals, or at least this can be indicated that their is a cut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 131elsad
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. We close the kitchen and common areas as a way to try and keep the noise down in the hostel during the night to ensure our guests get a good night sleep. Hopefully we will see...

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 16 June 2015

I stayed 2 nights in a room for 3 female. There was a triple deck bed and a small dressing table. I got second floor of the bed, and could not even sit on the bed, had to hunch my back. It's too narrow for everyone, even short asian woman. Breakfast was not horrible, but the bread was too hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sefromkr
KXJourneys, Shift Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Unfortunately there’s not much we can do about the size, the building is quite old, which restricts how much we can expand. We utilize the space we have as efficiently as we can. Thank you for your feedback.

Thonon-les-Bains, France
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Having done MANY hostels with sharing rooms, I wouldn't expect that bad of a stay. Poor quality building, rooms are shared between 12 people, sometimes more. Too many people in a way too tiny space. The "resting room" and the kitchen are always crowded, and there is NEVER any quiet space EVER; being in a one month course where we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kam7TB4
Nick W, Guest Relations Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Dear Kam, Thanks for staying with us. Wow seems like you had a tough time and didn't like sharing with people. We always recommend locking your back ( locks at reception) or using a locker £ 7 per month for a micro vault. leaving cash in a shared room is always risky. Actually during the day the common areas are...

Durham
Reviewed 8 June 2015

It was an overall good friendly atmosphere met some really cool people there and the stay was comfortable! I wish to stay longer but I had to leave early to stay with a friend! All in all it is a good hotel to stay in!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nazhagali
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there! thanks so much for leaving such a great review1 hopefully you'll be able to stay longer with us on your next trip to London :)

Reviewed 5 June 2015

We booked our double room through lastminute.co.uk. On booking I did not realise that the room was not ensuite. The room was fine and the bed was quite comfortable (but a bit creaky). It was a bit noisey throughout the night but this is to be expected in a hostel. Check out is at 10 a.m. A free continental breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maireados
KXJourneys, Shift Manager at Home London, responded to this review

We do try to keep a handle on the noise, this is the reason why we shut the backyard at 9.30pm and make sure all of the common areas are cleared and locked by 2am. However if there is excessive noise and it is reported to reception, we would take immediate action. It should state on our hostel page that...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Serving the purpose of cheap stay in convenient place. A welcome bonus is; you get friendly and helpful staff and meet new people. Good choice of spacious and clean rooms and facilities. Continental breakfast included, with good choice of cereals and spreads for on toast and far better then expensive hotel I stayed. The only negative point is that it's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dutch_in_UK
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there1 thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review1 hopefully we will see you on your next trip to London :)

Reviewed 4 May 2015

A great hostel easily accessible in the city centre - I was attending an event at Twickenham and was able to commute easily especially after midnight. A great price for a 6 bed dorm in the centre of London. Locally there are a number of good eateries and watering holes including a nearby Tesco, it is nearby Kings Cross where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jbeaton93
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. `We are so happy that you enjoyed you stay at our hostel. We try to keep the noise to a minimum during the night by closing off the smoking area at 9:30pm and the common areas at 2am and doing regular checks of the building to make...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Journey's London King's Cross Hostel is less than a 10-minute walk from the King's Cross station stop from the metro, perfect for getting to the hostel and for traveling to anywhere in London and they have accessible staff that are willing to answer any questions you may have. The breakfast is a great way to start the day before setting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
journeyskingscross, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. Hopefully we will see you on your next trip to London :)

Liverpool, England
Reviewed 19 April 2015

I booked a 3 bed dorm, specifically asking for a bottom bunk due to disabilities. When I arrived I was told I'd been allocated a top bunk. I was then offered a 6 bed dorm for "half price" which in reality was £2 or so less than if I'd booked it anyway. The only thing that persuaded me to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank looprevil
KXJourneys, Manager at Home London, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your stay this time. Our hostel is located just 5 minutes walk from King's cross and St. Pancras station therefore we have to make the most out of the space we have in order to keep the prices low. Our housekeepers are always around in the breakfast area to...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#728 of 1,077 in London
391 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#553 of 1,077 in London
851 reviews
Keystone House
#371 of 791 in London
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#52 of 791 in London
556 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#71 of 791 in London
1,846 reviews
Central Station
#314 of 556 in London
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish backpacker’s accommodation located 1 minute from Kings Cross and a half an hour’s walk along the beautiful Regent’s canal to Camden’s famous market, bars and nightclubs Our vibrant social areas are ideal for meeting like-minded travellers and the occasional jam session. The kitchen’s well equipped with FREE tea and coffee and the lounge is a relaxing chill-out space with a large TV and a great library of books and DVDs all free of charge. Dorm beds each with their own power, light, set of curtains and lockers are available for security. For more comfort and intimacy, our private double or twin rooms have a large, comfy double bed, desk, tea and coffee set, flat screen TV, DVD player and safe. FREE high speed WiFi is provided throughout the whole building as well as a great FREE breakfast which includes all you can eat pancakes. King’s Cross Station is 1 minute away providing fast connections around London and its airports and Eurostar Service.The British museum is a 20-minute walk away and Oxford Street is just 10 minutes by tube. Home London requires valid ID for all guests; you will be asked to provide this on arrival. Cancellation policy: Cancellations accepted by email up to 48 hours prior to start of stay. First night is payable if cancellation is within 48 hours of stay. In event of no-show then full payment will be charged for the booking. By booking the customer agrees to these conditions and the charges on the listed card given at the time of booking. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred. Check In: New arrivals can check into their rooms after 2pm each day. Guests may arrive earlier and leave their luggage in our free luggage storage. You do not have to be a member of any organization to stay at Home London, however, we do require that some form of valid photo identification is presented upon check in, preferably a Passport, I.D. card or driving license. We will require a £10 cash deposit on arrival for the keycard, towel and locker hire. Check Out: Check out is at 10am and guests must hand all security cards, locker keys back to reception. Age restrictions: The property only accepts guests aged 18 years and older. Exceptions made for a 16 and 17 year old travelling with a parent or legal guardian. Please note that this hostel is not recommended for elderly guests. Group bookings policies: For bookings of 6 people or more, different rates and conditions apply than advertised on the website. 50% of the total will be charged at any time after the booking and it will be non-refundable in case of cancellation. The remaining balance will be charged 2 weeks before arrival and will be non-refundable in case of cancellation or a no-show. A security deposit of £250 (cash/card) is required upon arrival for incidentals. This deposit is fully refundable upon check-out and subject to a damage inspection of the accommodation. £10 min charge for card payments. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Home London

Address: 54 - 58 Caledonian Road, London N1 9DP, England (Formerly Journeys Kings Cross Hostel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: ₹ 1,557 - ₹ 6,701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Home London 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Home London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journeys London King`s Cross Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Home London staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Home London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for top bunk and a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles GandyStreet, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Its a smelly bunker.”
 of 5 bubbles carolinacO2063RY, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“For a better nights sleep I would request a room on the upper floors.Although the downstairs bathrooms are more spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles cariman2016, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go to other hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles noeliao656, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Take the top bunk. Middle bunk - Problem in climbing. Bottom bunk - You will be disturbed by other room mates walking around.”
 of 5 bubbles PannuTraveller, 13 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay