We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD England
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$287
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Trip.com
$172
View deal
Travelocity$287
Orbitz.com$287
travelup.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (472)
Room & Suite (220)
Dining (54)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 17/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bedford Hotel
Updated 17/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#383 of 1,199 hotels in London
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Czech, Polish
1567Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 399
  • 730
  • 331
  • 65
  • 43
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Erin B wrote a review Yesterday
College Station, Texas10 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful hotel for a stay in London! Only a 7-8 minute walk from the Holborn tube station and close to the British Museum. Had a very clean, comfortable room. Got a garden view which was wonderful because there was hardly any street noise. Also had a wonderful English breakfast with many choices as well as lattes and cappuccinos included! Would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
alisonp5528 wrote a review May 2022
Kendal, United Kingdom13 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Wonderful hotel, great location, 15 mins on foot from Euston station, walking distance from theatres and museums, and many landmarks, Wonderful friendly staff. Considering it’s a 3 star hotel, I was well impressed. Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again. Oh, and it also has an amazing garden!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Elsa Karamzadeh, Guest Services / Front Office at Bedford Hotel
Responded 15 May 2022
Dear Alisonp5528, Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback on your recent stay at the Bedford Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were won over by our fantastic staff. Our location is one of the reasons our guests choose to stay with us and we are glad that you were able to benefit from this. I am also pleased that our hotel was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bedford hotel. Kind regards, Agnieszka
Read more
Charles H wrote a review 3 Jul
2 contributions
Staff are very welcoming and attentive. I arrived earlier than anticipated and they had 1/184 rooms prepared for me. Had a view of the garden. Chose it for its locality & facilities. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Hojati , Guest Services / Front Office at Bedford Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear O2086GQcharlesh, Thank you for your amazing feedback of the Bedford hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were won over by our fantastic staff. I am also pleased that you consider returning to us and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Shirin Hojati Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Belvelly wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions
Had a very nice stay in this hotel, room was good, staff friendly and helpful. Great location for main attractions and convenient to underground. Two suggestions for improvement as follows: 1. The selection of non-alcoholic drinks in the bar is poor, no non-alcohol beer or cider on offer, which are freely available in practically all pubs. 2. Tea served at breakfast not great. There appears to be a shortage of individual teapots! arrived in a cup one morning and was barely tepid. Also wasn't breakfast tea, tasted like Earl Grey or similar. Second morning, it was breakfast tea but decaffinated. These are small issues, but it's the small things that make the difference once the big things are done well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
John L wrote a review Jun 2022
Newquay, United Kingdom71 contributions80 helpful votes
This would have been a largely positive review but for a couple of issues. I’ll get to them in a moment but first I’d like to say that the biggest asset of this hotel is its staff, all of whom were unfailingly polite and professional, from the front desk to the restaurant, and even the cheerful maintenance guy that I bumped into. The breakfast is, as mentioned elsewhere here, excellent, with a great range including a full English if you want to construct one. All the comments regarding rooms at the front of the hotel are true - it’s on a main road and even if there are quiet periods, they only permit you to get to sleep before a Motorbike or remapped car with minimal silencing comes roaring past, waking you with a start. A situation exacerbated by the fact that, in common with many UK hotels in this price range, there is no air conditioning, and so you’ve to leave your windows ajar during the 5 weeks of the English Summer. I raised this with reception and they transferred me to a room at the back with a minimum of fuss. A charge was mentioned but waived. Presumably, during busy periods, this is not an available option. The rooms overlooking the garden are lovely and much quieter. Both rooms were cosy and had everything you'd need, including a safe large enough to take a laptop. My main issue is that on check-in, the receptionist required a preauthorisation. It was explained as a formality and, because I was sleep-deprived, I went along with it. This, in effect means that for a £630.00 stay, I have been charged twice. Having done some research, this is a charge which is placed by hotels meaning that they’re holding your money if you put lots of services etc on your room bill. Understandable at a spa hotel, but the Bedford is not that, and £630.00 is completely unreasonable given the circumstances. I raised this with staff several times, making it clear that I was unhappy, and received vague reassurances concerning bank delays and ‘the weekend’, it’s now over a week since I checked in and the debit has finally been reversed by my bank after a 52-minute phone call. I will never again book into a hotel that requires this preauthorisation. If you’ve read this far, then well done. Finally, the Bedford is in a great position for exploring London. Handy for transport links and walkable from the West End, or further if you have the stamina.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at the back on higher floors are a must.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Hojati , Guest Services / Front Office at Bedford Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear L9674FLjohnl, Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at the Bedford hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were won over by our fantastic staff. However, I am truly sorry about the inconvenience you experienced in regards to the preauthorisation matter. I will investigate more with the team to make sure this will not happen again. Please feel free to email me at am-bedford@imperialhotels.co.uk if you wish to discuss this further. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Shirin Hojati Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Sugar_bird wrote a review Jun 2022
Irvine, California18 contributions
+1
I was positively delighted by the staff, facilities, and amenities at the Bedford. I was in London for work--and on a tight budget (not all work that necessitates travel comes with a big travel allowance!). The Bedford hit the spot: clean, comfortable room. Compact, but space enough to work at the desk and move around. Nice amenities, including a great in-room tea making supplies. Good fitness center and excellent breakfast. What's more, the staff were really helpful sorting out my need to leave earlier, and gracious about refunding one of the pre-paid nights of my stay. Frankly, I expected less for the price. I can't wait to return to London and stay again. Even with a bigger budget, I'd go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Hojati , Guest Services / Front Office at Bedford Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear moegoe63, Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback on your recent stay at the Bedford Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you were won over by our fantastic staff. I am also pleased that you consider returning to us and I look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again for your review. The Bedford team looks forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Shirin Hojati Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
pauldm58 wrote a review Jun 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom37 contributions30 helpful votes
Excellent location with a beautiful garden restaurant which on a hot summer day is perfect for an evening drink and meal. Car parking below the hotel is very reasonable at £1 an hour. Nice rooms but no air conditioning.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Laura R wrote a review Jun 2022
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
I stayed at this hotel for 4 days with my adult daughter. We had a spacious room with 2 twin beds. Initially we were on the side facing the street, which was very noisy. Shirin at the front desk was lovely, and very helpful. She was able to switch us to a room overlooking the beautiful garden. It was much quieter. The breakfast was excellent as was the bar. Location can’t be beat. I would happily stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Lawrence H wrote a review Jun 2022
7 contributions8 helpful votes
room had no air con, windows only open a few inches, booked garden view, all we could see was the roof of an out building and staff sat on stair smoking, the noise from air con was like a jet engine, this was supposed to be part of our Golden Wedding celebration, nightmare ...........
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Hojati , Guest Services / Front Office at Bedford Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear LawrenceH504, Thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback on your recent stay at the Bedford Hotel. I am truly sorry to hear that we failed to provide a great service on this occasion and that therefore you did not enjoy your stay with us. I can assure you this does not reflect the standard of service we strive to provide to our guests and I have passed on your feedback to our teams here to make sure it does not happen again. I would be glad to discuss this further with you, if you wish to send us an email at am-bedford@imperialhotels.co.uk We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Shirin Hojati Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
niallryan3003 wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
The rooms have no air con, so if the weather is warm in London the rooms can be sweltering. The breakfast was good, the WiFi weak, mattress was basic, common areas nicely presented. Some of the bowls in this group are better than others.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Shirin Hojati , Guest Services / Front Office at Bedford Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear niallryan3003, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at the Bedford hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will make sure to pass on your comments to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bedford hotel. Kind Regards, Shirin Hojati Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$156 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bedford hotel london
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandLondonBloomsbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
184
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bedford Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bedford Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The British Museum (0.3 km), THATMuse,Treasure Hunt at the Museum (0.3 km), and Faulty Towers the Dining Experience (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bedford Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Bedford Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bedford Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bedford Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Shell, Bloomsbury Street Kitchen, and Beck's cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bedford Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Bedford Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bedford Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Polish, and Czech.
Are there any historical sites close to Bedford Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Churchill War Rooms (2.1 km), Tower of London (3.5 km), and Houses of Parliament (2.3 km).
Is Bedford Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.