We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 336: English reviews
Start your review of The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed one night in Flat 3, and it is basic, no frills, budget friendly accommodation that somehow managed to make a busy, frazzled parent feel recharged. The immediate neighborhood is a little dingy, but that didn't detract from the charm of this place: when you're in the courtyard there are no high buildings in sight, it is quiet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littleLQ
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As a wheelchair user I've often been told places are accessible only to arrive to find they are definitely not! This wasn't the case here. The conference team who I liaised with before my arrival were very helpful in terms of my needs but also were very professional in terms of the arrangements I was making for the whole team....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachelradford
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Yes, this place is religious based/charity funded.... but neither myself nor my partner are religious, and at no point did we feel like we had to be! The rooms were big, the beds were incredibly comfy, there was hardly any noise, the view was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The very kind staff were always on hand and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LongTall123
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed here for business, I'm so pleased to have found the Royal Foundation of St Katharine as it really is a hidden oasis in London and just a delightful 15 minute walk along the Thames Path to Canary wharf. The rooms are simple but perfectly comfortable, good beds, clean fresh bathrooms and many look over the garden so extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laterallife
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Laterallife, Thank you for your glowing review! We are delighted that you enjoy staying with us, and that you find us to be hidden oasis that suits your needs! I will pass on your kind comment about the staff and breakfast to the entire team here. We look forward to welcoming you back whether it be on business or...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this is a wonderful experience, which I will definitely experience again. the hotel is like and oasis with brilliant parking facilities, and although my first reaction when I walked into the room was "where's the TV!" did I miss it? no the whole place as an amazing calming effect, the buffet breakfast is wonderful and the staff are helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1957peter2017
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had such a wonderful experience on your recent stay with us, especially enjoying the calm, relaxing environment that we try to create! We look forward to welcoming you back and I would like to offer you the code 'STK5' to use on our website to get a reduced rate,...

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can't fault it for the price paid. Comfortable, quiet (go for a garden view), nice continental breakfast and within easy walk to Wapping and the City. No TV in the room which I viewed as a positive. Good wifi so if you don't feel you can disconnect then you don't have to (oh the irony of writing this while here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you your review, we delighted you had a quiet and relaxing stay with us, and that you found us to be conveniently located for your needs. We are also please you enjoyed the use of our high speed WiFi, something we pride ourselves on! We look forward to seeing you again here, and please use the code...

Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't expect luxurious bedrooms, but be prepared to be overwhelmed by nearly everything else. The welcome, the breakfast, the kindness and the ambience of the place, the elegant lounge and the carefully prepared supper platter impressed me. As someone with a gluten allergy I was also very happy that housekeeping had even put GF biscuits in my room. I slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tayl0rbr0wne
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Taylor, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted that you had such enjoyable stay with us! I will pass on your kind comments to the entire team here, and we look forward to welcoming you back. I can also offer you the code 'STK5' to use on our website to get a 5% discount for any future...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed over at St Katharine's for one nigh. The staff couldn't have been nicer and even invited me for communal drinks in the dining room, which I thought was lovely. The place is a little tricky to get to from the station (although that could have been my Google maps!) though was very pleasant when I reached it. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found the staff to be helpful and accommodating during your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in one of bedrooms. We pride ourselves as a hidden urban oasis, and so we have taken the decision to not include TV's in our bedrooms. Whilst...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Royal Foundation is not like other places to stay. You get a good night's sleep in very quiet rooms and a very good breakfast for considerably less than you would expect to pay. It also feels very different from other hotels, not least because of the surprising layout - being set in a semicircle round a mature garden bang...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your extensive and kind review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you appreciated our cloister garden set in the middle of St Katharine's house. You are right in stating we do not have TV's in our bedrooms. As somewhere that prides itself on being an hidden urban oasis,...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in a reflective twin which was very clean,comfortable and spacious Good beds and crisp cotton linen A warm welcome lovely staff Lovely communal lounges,a snug and conservatory...very quiet Lovely garden and church on site Perfect location for DLR ...visits to Greenwich The Yurt coffee shop next door has lovely food and good home made bread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review

Dear Bridget, We are delighted that you had such a peaceful and comfortable stay with us, and that you took advantage of our community cafe based in a Mongolian yurt! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and I would just like to let you know, we currently are running a special offer on our website. Use the...

343 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
King Accessible Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Single Room (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,087 in London
3,530 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,087 in London
2,757 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine is a charitable foundation which sits within, yet apart from, the heart of London’s East End. Just minutes from the City and Canary Wharf, our comfortable accommodation offers a secure and relaxing environment and an unparalleled sense of peaceful seclusion. We invite you to explore St Katharine’s and to discover what you may find in this hidden oasis. Simple, comfortable, and all with en-suite facilities, our recently refurbished bedrooms are available both to individuals and members of groups at St Katharine’s. For a long stay or short, take advantage of our proximity to central London, our excellent transport links, and the unrivaled calm you will find here. Our quiet garden and serene chapel are open to all our guests and provide a welcome contrast to the hustle of a day in the capital. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Address: 2 Butcher Row, London E14 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Price Range: ₹ 6,993 - ₹ 13,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Foundation of St Katharine 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Foundation of St Katharine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Royal Foundation of St Katharine staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Royal Foundation of St Katharine staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the parking is superb”
 of 5 bubbles 1957peter2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for inner rooms facing gardens”
  • Lounge area
 of 5 bubbles 275bridgetm, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Range of room sizes and views, if you're going to be in room a lot then ask for a larger room”
 of 5 bubbles simoncade, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The garden rooms are a little quieter if you are not used to city noise.”
 of 5 bubbles marycarolineH, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra £s for a room looking over the garden. I booked on line and didn't know.”
 of 5 bubbles 685riquer, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5