We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

International Students House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
International Students House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for International Students House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I was looking forward to the stay at the ISH after we checked out the beautiful pictures on the site. However, the room was dark and dirty, floor uncleaned. Furthermore, the staff at the counter told us that there were hairdryers to be found along the corridor, but these were nowhere to be found. If not for the affordable price...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank awesometayzer
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review

As our website clearly states the images are only a selection of our rooms and we cannot guarantee that this will be the room you will be allocated. We are very sorry to hear that you did not find your room clean and this will be investigate further. With regards to the hair-dryers, they are available on a selection of...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked a quad room. The picture/video on the website showed four single beds and four wardrobes. When we checked in, we were firstly given a room with 2 single beds. Subsequently, upon realising their mistake, the reception rechecked us into another room (smaller than the original room given to us) with 2 sets of bunk beds and one wardrobe....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TravellerSL_06
229ISH, Manager at International Students House, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room you were allocated. As it clearly states on our website the room images and videos are only of a selection of our rooms. Summer is one of our busiest periods and we cannot guarantee what room you will be allocated during your stay. Please accept our...

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 27 May 2012

A friend of mine was visiting from Holland and was his first time in London, we wanted to stay somewhere central and cheap. The location of the hostel is perfect as it is across the street from Great Portland underground station and bus stops. Also down the street you can find a local tesco as well as restaurants. This place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank youngSaudiTraveller
yorkshire
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Clean tidy rooms, very basic but at these prices wjat can you expect.. Great bar which was so cheap which we never expected given the location!!! All the staff were lovely except in the breakfast bar where they were plain rude, but when youre having a good time you cant let a grumpy over worked cook spoil things!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loveuk123
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed at ISH for a few days in early July and my first impressions were pretty good. I stayed in an 8 bunk female dorm - the room was quiet and each bed had a curtain for privacy, as well as a little shelf and power outlet set into the bedhead so you never had to fight over the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank asingleturtle
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stayed here for a week in August, the location is fantastic, the building is across the road from the subway and it's an easy walk to Regents Park, Oxford Street and all the main attractions. I was given a brilliant map on arrival which the place produces which i'll keep and use again when I return in January. There...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jake S
Toronto
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This international student house is truly a travelers hidden gem! I travel to uk alot and spend most my summers traveling europe. I spent the entire summer of 2010 in London and rented a flat at this place. It was the best value and amazing location located in central london between baker street tube station & euston station off marlybone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Passport-Kid
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2011

When we arrived we saw there was building work going on and we thought we'd made a mistake. We checked in and the staff apologised for the disruption (it's being renovated) and we were given the keys to our room, which was clean and spacious. We stayed for a week in total and we both loved it. Lots going on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank passthenurofen
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I have stayed at ISH for more than 15 days(out of practical reasons and not because I like the place!!). My primary reason for staying here was that it was right next to the tube station and close to most central locations where you could walk. This is the rudest possible hostel because the reception ladies are basically dumb. If...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank w0rldmy0yster
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The only thing this place has going for it is the Bar - and my goodness you'll need a drink! I have never stayed in such a terrible place before, and having travelled extensively throughout Eastern europe this is saying something. The room was not clean, we had no hot water for the duration of the stay and excessive noice...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jimmy0234

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#504 of 1,063 in London
905 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Melia White House
Melia White House
#289 of 1,063 in London
6,529 reviews
Marylebone
Americana Hotel
Americana Hotel
#691 of 1,063 in London
403 reviews
Fitzrovia
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
LSE Carr-Saunders Hall
#64 of 823 in London
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Fitzrovia

Neighbourhood Profile
Fitzrovia
This sophisticated and sociable slice of Central London is a shopper’s paradise, offering the latest fashions, gadgets, and souvenirs. Fitzrovia is conveniently located between the major retail thoroughfares of Regent Street to the west and Tottenham Court Road to the east, with a handful of well connected Tube stations dotted around the area for easy transport. This neighbourhood is a favorite among foodies as well, with an impressive number of quality restaurants, pubs, cafes and food shops vying for your patronage – especially along Charlotte Street and near Goodge Street Station.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
International Students House (ISH) is a student residence and a unique social, cultural and recreational centre. ISH is a central place to meet people from Britain and around the world. International Students House offers accommodation in single, twin, quad and multi bed rooms. We are located in zone one opposite Great Portland Street tube station and only a ten minute walk from the delights of Oxford Street and attractions such as London Zoo and Madame Tussauds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about International Students House

Address: 229 Great Portland Street | Marylebone, London W1W 5PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Price Range: ₹ 1,424 - ₹ 3,519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — International Students House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
International Students House Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from International Students House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from International Students House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“En suite is nicer than a dorm room, and if you are an album, you have access to the Goats Flat”
savvysolo, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sleep in a room with friends if at all possible. I didn't sleep in the dorms, but whatever room you do sleep in try to do it with someone you know.”
amethystloucks, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at the top floor were nice with a splendid view to the park”
MariaS616, 3 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Go for en-suite with private toilet facilities.”
721antony, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
“go for the single en suite when available.”
Kinkyschmink, 1 Nov 2013 | Read review
5 of 5