We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thistle Kensington Gardens

Show Prices
#291 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Kensington Gardens
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,790 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,514: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

As we were seeing a show at the Royal Albert Hall I needed to find a good hotel and fortunately I spotted an offer which included breakfast for £109 per night - not bad at all I thought, especially as you can select your room through a visual portal. Location wise, it was the opposite side of Hyde Park but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Layzeedays
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Hotel opposite Hyde Pk great for Central London. Hotel is quiet and clean bar on site. Room facilities are as described and the hotel is a short walk to nearest Tube at Lancaster Gate. Great pub jst down the road and easy walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and its services. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you were particularly happy with our location and the local area. Please do contact us directly next time you visit London. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived to find heating was not working. Reception provided a portable heater and a complimentary bottle of wine with a hand written apology. Room was quiet and comfortable - shower exceptional. Breakfast was of good quality and staff were polite and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jools61
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding the heating. We are grateful...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here for three nights. Weather a concern before I left, hotel staff via email was very helpful in reassuring me that the snow should not be problematic. Nice room, spacious bed, clean. Great breakfast--I loved the fresh grapefruit, croissants and jam choices! A bit of a wait for a table because of a big group on Sunday, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle F
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our philosophy to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and I have shared...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

A very nice hotel with good sized rooms and beautiful views over the park, breakfast was good and everything was good value. The only negative i would say is that we got there and had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready but we were given access to the exec lounge and given free tea and coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris c
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful views over the park. Thank you also for mentioning our breakfast, I will enjoy sharing your review with them.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service accommodated by an early check in and setting up a camping cot for our infant. We had a great view over Hyde Park. Downstairs below the hotel is a garage and shop where you can buy all the food basics and quick meals including baby meals and basics. Its a manageable walk to shopping district of Oxford street...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KelTravelTime
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

We are grateful for your comments from your recent stay at Thistle Kensington Gardens. Thank you for highlighting the benefits of our location and facilities. It is a delight to hear that you had a great stay, if I can be of any assistance when you stay in London in the future, please contact me directly so I can assist.

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location just close to the Queensway underground and bus 94 + 146 which takes you quickly to the city centre. My room was quiet and all okay for a short stay. Breakfast served in the restaurant with a view of a lovely park. Friendly staff. Perfect place for a short stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank svenbroodd
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, It is a pleasure to hear that the location was perfect for your stay and that you enjoyed our views of the park. Thank you again for the feed back and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location and facade. Disappointing, but maybe just the room where I landed. There was a room switch, which was necessary, and for which I was grateful, but still the price was not merited, time was wasted, and I would not go back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savvysolo
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We apologise for the disappointment you have felt regarding the size of your...

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well located hotel just a few steps from the underground. Good location for exploring London. Efficient check-in. Hotel clean throughout. Bedroom a bit on the small size, but this is London. I did however think initially that the bathroom door was a cupboard door as it was so narrow. Thought the tray charge for the room service was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie-the-tripper
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

Following your recent stay here at Thistle Hotel Kensington Gardens, I would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your comments. It is our passion to ensure that we provide our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast (despite some taking your toast) and...

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place for short stay, we had some small problems that I have put a complaint into the management about, nothing terrible just little things that could have been avoided. I am in a wheelchair and we found the hotel accessible, we didn't have an accessible room as they were taken. (the hotel does have accessible rooms) we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
909rossj, Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor. I do apologise that your stay could have been more comfortable, we do try to cater for all our guests and their needs to ensure they have a great stay. Unfortunately on this occasion due to our availability we could not meet this 100%. We are...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#338 of 1,080 in London
849 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blakemore Hyde Park
#295 of 1,080 in London
1,415 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#207 of 1,080 in London
680 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#171 of 1,080 in London
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Address: 104 Bayswater Rd, London W2 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range: ₹ 8,867 - ₹ 15,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#211 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and other travellers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Kensington Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms at the back”
 of 5 bubbles Kaz1560, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose a high floor, be aware that the rooms that overlook Hyde Park, also look onto a busy road, with a petrol station below the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles GRB996, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I like the room facing the hyde park”
 of 5 bubbles Nan220979, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher up and facing the park is nice - Bayswater is a very busy road but the traffic noise was not a problem on the 8th floor”
 of 5 bubbles AlexandriaGrandDad, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views from the upper floors really good.”
 of 5 bubbles ianmB2618BS, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay