We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Russell

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Russell
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,865 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Russell
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,383: English reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

The four of us stayed in a deluxe twin room (two double beds). The room was elegant and comfortable with a decent hair dryer, iron and ironing board, also a TV, fridge and two comfy chairs. As my eldest daughter said "it's posher than a premier inn". The breakfast buffet was perfectly fine and the service and welcome were excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SimonWhitson
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you and your family had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. Each room has been individually decorated to enhance the charm and style of the room. We are pleased that you enjoyed this as we want our guests to have a relaxing and comfortable stay with us....

Uckfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lovely hotel. Good size room. Staff excellent. However I have never slept so badly in a hotel due to traffic noise all night. We were on the second floor with no secondary glazing. If you book this beware if you want a quiet nights sleep! Maybe the hotel could provide ear plugs in the rooms at the front with no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy B
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay due to the outside central London traffic noise. This is not usually a problem at the second floor level and only wish you had informed us we would have gladly changed your room for you. Please be assured that your comments...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stopped at the Hotel Russell for two nights in November. It is a lovely building, and surprisingly not a lot of noise is heard from other residents whilst in the room. Very roomy carpeted corridors reminded us of an era gone by. Comfortable beds and very helpful reception staff. We did have a meal in the restaurant in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salporritt
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. Each function room has a noise controller in place to ensure that the event does not disturb our other guests, however I do sincerely apologise that this was not the case for you. Please be assured...

Cork
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went to Hotel Russell for a very good friends wedding over Christmas and I have to say it was a lovely place and glad that we stayed there. We got a great deal on trivago for 2 nights and it was definitely worth the price especially for Christmas. The hotel is full of character and charm.Our room was nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CorkSudee
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. I am sorry to learn, however that you were slightly disappointed with the wardrobe position and distance from the shaving mirror. Each room has been specifically designed to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests and we will certainly...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Could not fault the staff or Hotel. Had a lovely weekend break just before Christmas. Staff were friendly and polite. Our double room was clean and comfortable, excellent shower. Nothing to complain about at all. Great location within easy access to tube. Buffet breakfast only had a 2 minute wait for a table at 9am, again could not fault. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carmen B
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each guest feel as relaxed and comfortable as possible and we are so pleased that you provided you with a memorable experience. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Russell...

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stunning hotel- very grand. The service is wonderful with polite attentive staff. Great consierge service which can store your luggage for you. Brilliant location - 1 tube stop from Kings Cross and great access to all major attractions. Breakfast was lovely but be aware at peak times there was a huge Q of people waiting for a table to become...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goosey-moosey
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. I am so disappointed that your bathroom was not cleaned to a high standard as we pride ourselves on this. Please be assured that this has been addressed with our Housekeeping team as we do understand...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel was nice and clean, lovely architecture, great location and very handy to tube. Problems started when I arrived back in Australia and received my credit card bill. I had booked & paid for the room through wotif.com.au but Hotel Russell decided to charge me again. Numerous emails have fallen on deaf ears - not a single acknowledgement!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, however I am sorry to learn that you encountered some difficulty with your charges. To our knowledge we have not received any emails regarding your concerns. I would extremely grateful if you could contact our Guest Relations Executive, Bebita Dhaya at bebita.dhaya@principal-hayley.com as...

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Most surprising thing is that you have to pay for WIFI. Very large and busy hotel. Room had nice modern feel, but just lacking in small details/finishing touches. Breakfast buffet was fine, but nothing to write home about. Bar was cosy for an evening drink. Good views over Russell Square.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us at Hotel Russell. Each room has been individually decorated to enhance the charm and style. I will certainly take your comments on board. Wifi is optional for our guests rather than including this in the rate as we prefer to provide guests...

Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Without a doubt this is the worst hotel that I have stayed in at all year. A part from a front desk that tries their best, everything about this hotel is a pure failure. Many of the rooms are smaller than the hallways that lead to them. The sound proofing is poor at best. The rooms are poorly maintained (broken...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Gpy14
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn of your disappointment. Please let me assure you that we pride ourselves on our high standards and address all guest concerns accordingly. I am sorry to learn that you encountered a pigeon outside of your window. I am sure that you appreciate that this was not within our...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed in this place for a week while visiting someone who lived nearby. Though it's less expensive than other London hotels, I still spent a lot of money. In exchange, I got a bathroom faucet that came off in my hand, a broken safe and a broken towel warmer. I wouldn't have expected a towel warmer or complained about...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank suekush
Julie_Hammond_13, Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment experienced. I am pleased that you have discussed this further with our Guest Relations Executive and do appreciate your feedback as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel. The towel rail switch is located just outside the room and I am...

1,146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1038)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (273)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#84 of 1,080 in London
318 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#320 of 1,080 in London
1,921 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#524 of 1,080 in London
3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#412 of 1,080 in London
937 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#558 of 1,080 in London
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Tempus Restaurant
Tempus Restaurant
Cuisines: British, International, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Russell is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, Hotel Russell is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Russell

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: ₹ 6,547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#53 Best Value Hotel in London
#285 Family Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Russell staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Russell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“specify your view requirements!!!”
 of 5 bubbles JDon18, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front rooms hotter in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
 of 5 bubbles dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
 of 5 bubbles christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay