We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Principal London

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,866 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Principal London
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,384: English reviews
devon
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This was a Travelzoo deal. We have had cheaper deals than this, but it isnt a moan. The hotel is old, but clean and comfortable. Some minor things need attention. A smarter Manager would see this and get things sorted. We were however disappointed with one thing. As a special request on booking I did want nice rooms and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redlandrover
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely of our rich heritage and have ensured that this has been well maintained over the years. We are pleased that you enjoyed this. Our team pride themselves on their high standards and ensure that each room is cleaned to a high standard all the amenities required to make...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Impressive building and great location round the corner from Russell Square tube station. Room was nice enough (258), with large bathroom, but room window was frosted glass and wouldn't open which was a problem as the air conditioning didn't seem to be able to cope with the heat in the room. Finally got to sleep one night when there was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deeman52
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I do apologise for the misunderstanding experienced. The windows on higher level floors do not open for health and safety reasons. The air conditioner in each room has a setting of 19 degrees and I am sorry if you found this too warm. I only wish you had informed us of...

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a friend and I as we were going to see a show at the Adelphi theatre. Found a brilliant deal for a twin room especially for Central London. The hotel is literally next door to the tube station and there are many restaurants nearby to enjoy. Beds were comfy and room was clean. My only two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsharris14
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comfy beds and our ideal location as we are a stone’s throw away from many of London’s major attractions. I am sorry to learn that you found the room too warm and only wish you had informed us as we would have done...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The exterior of this hotel is very impressive as is the entrance and ground floor, reception good with helpful staff. In places the hotel is a little tired, e.g. ground floor toilets with toilet roll holders hanging off the walls, some furnishing in the room rather warn and very disappointed with the lack of free WiFi that one tends to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kedwar01
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely proud of rich heritage and have ensured that this has been well maintained over the years. We strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel and I am sorry that you encountered a loose holder in the bathroom. We have a mixture of traditional and modern...

Leeds
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Booked this hotel for one night on the internet as our party needed a place to stay overnight en route from Heathrow back up to Yorkshire. I was expecting some sort of faded grandeur, so was well impressed by the warm welcome, gorgeous interior, pleasant rooms, sparkling bathrooms, lovely bar, terrific breakfast and obviously cheerful and upbeat clientele. The interior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol I
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests. We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Russell in the future. Kind regards Bart Luijk Hotel Manager

liverpool
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed recently for london palladium sho w, Dame Edna ,room 218 rear of hotel was just fine,staff lovely,breakfast great choice,altogether a nice place to stay. My wife and I have visited this hotel three times in the last few years an each time we have been delighted with our stay. Thankyou to all of you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cards091
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a lovely stay with us. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that we have achieved this on many occasions for you. We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have just had a weekend at the hotel. All the staff are friendly and helpful. The concierge from Kenya is a lovely man. The rooms are good, the Tempus bar is good but not quite enough seats on the Saturday night when we returned to the hotel as it was very busy. The breakfast is excellent. Good choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andre B
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter. Please be assured that your very kind comments...

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My daughter and I won a night's stay in this hotel. We had a super time. The interior of the hotel is fascinating as the designer also designed the Titanic. The restaurant is nearly identical to that on the ship. We had a really good meal there, for no more than any London restaurant. Our room, a superior twin, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pianist52549055
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you and your daughter had a lovely stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and we are so pleased that this was the case for you and your daughter. Please be assured that your very kind comments...

Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed stayed here over christmas and had a great stay.the room s we're very clean and spacious.the location is very good only 2 min walk to russell square tube station, Covent garden is only a 10 min walk away.breakfast was very good with a good selection. Will def stay again. The xmas decorations were lovely to!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stubuh
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are absolutely delighted that you had a wonderful Christmas stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to make each visit memorable for our guests and I am so pleased that we had an enjoyable visit as we strive to create and maintain high standards at our Hotel. It will...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Having stayed at this hotel five years ago and enjoyed my stay, I decided to book it again over New Year for my honeymoon. I have to say that the hotel seems to have been neglected over this time and was not up to the standard I was expecting for the money paid. The main problem was the room which...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Julie H
Bart L, Manager at The Principal London, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am so disappointed to read your comments. I only wish we had known that this was your Honeymoon as we would have made your stay extra special. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board. I do hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you...

1,169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1039)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (274)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (224)
Viewed
Bathroom (88)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (392)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Double Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#66 of 1,089 in London
333 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#328 of 1,089 in London
1,984 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#518 of 1,089 in London
3,273 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#406 of 1,089 in London
967 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#315 of 1,089 in London
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are delighted to present The Principal London which will open in stages throughout the course of the summer, and will fully launch in September 2017. The Principal London is an iconic establishment nestled in the heart of the city. Whether you wish to indulge in a spot of shopping or want to host a conference at one of London's most exclusive addresses, The Principal London is the perfect base for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Principal London

Address: 1 - 8 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England (Formerly Hotel Russell)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: ₹ 18,525 - ₹ 44,149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Principal London 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Principal London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#285 Family Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Principal London staff and other travellers.
53 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (53)

Questions? Get answers from The Principal London staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“specify your view requirements!!!”
 of 5 bubbles JDon18, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“front rooms hotter in the summer”
 of 5 bubbles carletons875, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a suit which was huge but tired - loved it!”
 of 5 bubbles JohnNerding, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Suits are a must”
 of 5 bubbles dorosweet37, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High floors great views! Really pretty Suite Top Corner under the turret”
 of 5 bubbles christinenB7733WT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5