We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express London City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express London City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 792: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express London City
 Click to rate
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Exceeded our expectations. Quiet room, lovely bathroom, crisp white bedding. Very busy Good Friday with queue for breakfast & Supervisor Souad sorted tables & cheered us with her smiley bubbly nature.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HartleyDi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is very close to the tube, Shoreditch, and other public transport. The breakfast is poor, the hot food is brought out of the kitchen in plastic containers and dumped (literally) into the buffet containers. The eggs are made from powdered reconstituted eggs, the toasters burn the toast, and the general atmosphere is a mess.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very friendly staff who were always approachable, buffet breakfast was constantly refilled, room was very clean and comfortable, I had a room at the back so not sure if the noise of the Main Street would be a issue for these rooms

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simon N
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

No complains for room and location in chich areas close to tube the breakfast is the worst (I have been travelling more than 44 countries and countless cities this one for chain hotel is the worst bag quality sausage so smelly scamble eggs we stay 3 nights only have bf 1 time and it was more than enough if I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Attentive staff..very clean hotel room...very comfortable beds...great breakfast...will definitely stay here again. Convenient location...although further from sites as thought there is transport very close to get into central London. .tube station 5 mins walk..bus into Oxford Street number 55 in couple mins walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrex999
Manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Convenient location. And you know what you're getting. One of the two lifts was out of action though it turned out not to be an issue. But some of the staff need to get some training in how not to treat customers as poor people who can't afford to stay anywhere better. A bad start, as the room card didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSalfordOne
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst in London. Location was decent and rooms okay and as expected for a holiday inn express. Rooms were double glazed but still noisy overlooking main road made much worse by an external air vent which made the noise factor a lot worse. Poor nights sleep as a result and wouldn't stay again. Could do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London City, responded to this review

Dear Lee G, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are pleased to know you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. On the other hand, we are very sorry for the unexpected experience you had with the outside noise. We understand the discomfort this has caused you. We take our...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had stayed here before so knew what to expect for the £160 per night fee but was very disappointed. The room was bitterly cold. Turning up thermostat to 26c had no impact and a call to reception inferred no solution. I asked for additional bedding to counteract the cold however there is only bedding for each room with none to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill68
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good standard hotel, with adequately sized and equipped rooms right in the centre of hipsterville, Shoreditch! Decent rates and good breakfasts. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help....at any time of day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monte C
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed 2 nights whilst my daughter was at a barbering course at London School of Barbering. Clean and adequate. Breakfast included, good variety of cereal, fruit, toast cooked food or pastries. Free parking for blue badge holders or 30 pounds per day. Friendly, helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H

349 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (233)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (87)
Viewed
Double Room With Sofabed (35)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#303 of 1,088 in London
516 reviews
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#90 of 1,088 in London
302 reviews
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shoreditch

Neighbourhood Profile
Shoreditch
The western front of the edgy East End, Shoreditch is a perennially trendy haven for anything “street” – be it art, food, or fashion. With its handful of well connected transportation links dotting its perimeter, along with an ever increasing variety of shops, hotels, bars, and restaurants, it's easy to explore this trend-conscious and youth-oriented neighbourhood. There's a lingering post-industrial grit about Shoreditch, but because it shares a border with “The City” financial district, the influence from its upscale neighbour can result in fascinating outcomes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Express by Holiday Inn London City. Our hotel is ideally located on the doorstep of the City of London, with the financial districts of Broadgate & Bishopsgate just minutes away for our business guests. We have excellent transport links for the London Underground and Kings Cross & Liverpool Street National Rail terminus not to mention St Pancras International Station for the Eurostar. We sit on the gateway to Hoxton Square, Shoreditch & Brick Lane, whatever your reason for visiting London we are an ideal base for exploring this vibrant area of London. If culture & history mixed with London s coolest restaurants, bars & shopping is what you want then you have just discovered East is the new West! Fear not, for we are also ideally located for London s attractions such as Tower of London, Tower Bridge, Bank of England, Tate Modern, St Paul's Cathedral & South Bank to name but a few. We have just undergone a full refurbishment of our Lobby, Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Meeting Rooms to reflect the cool, contemporary urban location we reside in. We have 224 purpose built bedrooms, all of which are light and spacious with large desk space all rooms are en suite with refreshing power showers as well as a newly installed state of the art interactive television & in room movie system. All of our guestrooms, meeting rooms & public areas are equipped with high speed wi-fi internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London City

Address: 275 Old Street, London EC1V 9LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Price Range: ₹ 8,545 - ₹ 17,920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London City 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London City Hotel London
Holiday Inn London City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express London City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on the 4th floor at the front. Quiet room. Night time revellers but no problem sleeping.”
HartleyDi, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter, in summer make sure you ask for your windows to be unlocked as it can get stuffy even with the ac on”
montec933, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Quieter at back of hotel.”
344RachelH, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not room 516 which had heating and cooling issues.”
michaellV3625WC, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Always check reviews”
tosink2016, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5