We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Show Prices
#158 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,852: English reviews
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The room I got was nice and well equipped. The location is good (2-minute walk to the Holborn tube station), yet the street is not extremely busy. The staff was helpful and arranged all I requested. I'll definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vaclean
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear vaclean Your review was very pleasing to read. We take pride on guest satisfaction, and I can see on this occasion we satisfied and exceeded your requirements. I do hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future, please contact the hotel directly to make your reservation. Warm regards Vicky Marshman General Manager

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights, didn't have any issues. Room was clean and everything I used worked. I had breakfast included and although I only had cereal each morning, there was plenty choice if you'd prefer cooked or continental. Location was good too, Piccadilly was a 15 main walk away and there was a tube station close by. Staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Liam G
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear LiamG Thank you for your review. We are delighted your 4 night stay met your needs and you found our hotel to your satisfaction. Please do contact us directly to make your next booking we would love to welcome you back. Warm regards, Vicky Marshman General Manager

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015 via mobile

When looking for a place to stay we searched on trip advisor and this hotel came up at a similar price to the nearby Travelodge (which I've previously stayed in and wouldn't return to). The room was a deluxe double- we were given a choice at reception of what floor we wanted and we didn't have a preference, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lucie R
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear LucieR Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our location appropriate for your needs. I hope you can come back and visit us soon Warm regards Vicky Marshman General Manager

Bayern, Germany
Reviewed 23 April 2015

We spend six days at The Kingsley for our first wedding anniversary. The staff was really nice, we received an upgrade to the next category, which was good, because the room was a bit bigger and we had some bathrobes and slippers in this. A nice touch was the free dessert, waiting for us in our room on our anniversary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear JessicaT Thank you for your review. First I would like to congratulate you on your 1st Wedding Anniversary. I am pleased you chose to spend this momentous occasion here with us at Thistle Holborn the Kingsley. May I apologise for the shortfalls in service you encountered. This is not the normal standard of service we strive to achieve. If...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Fantastic hotel! Great location, the room was spotless and the beds are very comfy. Fab breakfasts with lots of choice. The staff are lovely and nothing is to much trouble. Have been to this hotel 3 times now and would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nick S
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear NickS Thank you for your review. We are delighted with your comments. Please let me know if you are returning to the Hotel in the future as we would love to welcome you back. Do contact me directly if you would like to make a booking on 0207 242 5881 Warm regards Vicky Marshman General Manager

Melling Liverpool
Reviewed 22 April 2015

Stayed here at the weekend with my daughter for her 16th Birthday, I emailed them before hand to tell then it was her birthday and to request a nice room, on arrival we were upgraded and the staff had left a cake and card in the room, such a lovely touch, it really was a lovely start to a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LedoMellingLiverpool
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear LedoMelling Liverpool Thank you for your review. I am delighted the team were able to meet your expectations on your recent visit. And I am pleased you chose to celebrate a momentous occasion here with us at Thistle Holborn the Kingsley. I hope your daughter enjoyed her birthday and the cake we provided. Just a small gesture we offer...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I love everything about Thistle Holborn, the Kingsley. Thanks to the power behind this hotel that made my stay lovely. Alex, who is helpful and courteous at all times. Anca and Chiara and Diane, thank you. I do not normally remember the staffs of the hotel where I stayed at but in your case, it is definitely an exception because...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JetsetterJC101
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear JetsetterJC110 Thank you for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to read your review. For you to remember some of our team members names and for us to give you a "homely feeling", shows our service on this occasion exceeded your expectations, and this is what we strive for here at Thistle Holborn the Kingsley. I will personally...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 April 2015

The staff is the darling of this beautiful hotel. Their never ending smiles and assistances made our stayed here memorable even though they are few incidents happened along the way on our 3 night stay which was on the 14th April till checking out on the 17th April. First incident is that no one helped us on the staircase going...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yuszry
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear yuszry Thank you for your review. We are delighted you found our staff welcoming. I am sorry you experienced some minor incidents along the way. Our team pride themselves on their service and they will pleased to read your review. We hope we can welcome you back to Thistle Holborn the Kingsley soon Many Thanks Vicky Marshman General Manager

paisley
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Third time at this hotel, and as before wonderful staff, polite and ever so helpful. i received a phone call few days before we left for London by the hotel and was asked what the purpose of our visit was. I said it was my husbands 50th birthday and to my delight, we were upgraded to an executive king room,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kerr2401
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear kerr2401 Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to receive your positive review. I do hope your husband enjoyed his 50th Birthday celebrations in London. I have shared your lovely feedback with the team, including Chido who I am sure will be over the moon she was able to meet and exceed your expectations. We hope we...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 April 2015 via mobile

Stay at this hotel in Soho,London Easy to get to by can from Victoria Train Station Close to Holborn subway station and Its of biz stops across the street Very good value away from hustle and bustle London is pretty expensive city so be ready money wise and mentally... Having said that there are few very good places to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stan P
Vicky M, General Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear StanP Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found our Hotel location to be just right for your requirements, we certainly are located in a vibrant part of town. We hope we can welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Vicky Marshman General Manager

541 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (330)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Bloomsbury
#57 of 1,086 in London
3,037 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,086 in London
1,352 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#240 of 1,086 in London
3,002 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#404 of 1,086 in London
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: ₹ 12,818 - ₹ 20,993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#126 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
9 months ago
Dublin, Ireland
London, United Kingdom
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6th floor very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles timbo46, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road may provide a less noisy environment, however this is London. !”
 of 5 bubbles foxtomlin, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suites are large and comfortable and quiet. They use modern heating and cooling without the use of air ducts and vents. Excellent!”
 of 5 bubbles AdamMcCoy, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a single!!”
 of 5 bubbles alessandragH8422AM, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The annex is cold”
 of 5 bubbles mic19662016, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5