We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Show Prices
#138 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,788: English reviews
boston, ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll start this by saying that I read many of the reviews of this hotel, and thought that the very low scores had to be outweighed by the positive ones. Unfortunately, the people who DO rate this so positively must be at a very different location, or else there's a big difference between "good" and "bad" rooms. I had an... More 

Helpful?
Thank milesandmiles
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear milesandmiles, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Kingsley. I am most concerned and really disappointed to read about your experience and I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you due to the lack of service you experienced during your stay. It is definitely not indicative... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked the hotel for one night on a businesstrip. Late check in guaranteed room. Arriving late, as planned, the front manager could tell that there was no room due to overbooking. And took hours to find a room at a sister hotel, quite a distance from where i was to stay (which was kind of important in the first place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cato D
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Cato D, Thank you for your feedback of Thistle Holborn The Kingsley. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused to you due to us having to book you out at a short notice and can understand your frustration in being booked out late at night. However, due to an error in our system we were unfortunately overbooked on that... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel, good location within walking distance of Holborn and Tottenham Court tube stations. Unfortunately I had booked one nights stay with Booking.com - excellent process - and at the last minute added an additional night directly with the hotel. Upon arrival all appeared well but on checking what my card had been pre-authorised with the room rates didn't match... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheznez
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Sheznez, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback from your recent stay with us at The Kingsley. I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly and polite and the location to be ideal for your needs. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused to you due to the miscommunication... More 

Exeter UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose to say here because of it's proximity to the Harry Potter plays. It was expensive but I researched nearby hotels and it is comparable for the very central location. Our room was very comfortable, not large but perfectly decent. We had a very good night's sleep despite being on the road side of the hotel. The hotel overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katyed
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Katyed, Thank you for your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We strive really hard to make sure that all our guests have a really pleasant stay and me and the entire team are really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. As you mentioned, one of the assets of the hotel is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Will definitely stay here again. Checking in and out very easy. Fantastic location, easy to get to Covent garden or Oxford Street. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. We had an executive king room which was fairly spacious. Shower was good pressure. We parked at Bloomsbury square car park- you get 50% off if the hotel validates your ticket. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank conlo
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear conlo, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and highlighting all the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. The hotel is fortunate enough to be in an enviable location close to all the attractions and amenities. I am also delighted to read that you liked your room and am very pleased to know... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night in October in an Executive room. Could not fault the room at all - a good side with a nice comfy bed. Good, clean and modern bathroom with a nice rainwater style shower over the bath. Location is decent for the west end if you are wanting to go to one of the theatres. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank CornishTraveller100
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear CornishTraveller100, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am really happy to read that you found the hotel clean and comfortable with pleasant staff. In fact, we pride ourselves on the level of service and the facilities that we provide to our guests and nothing motivates... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a special weekend planned for my girlfriends birthday, I chose the Thistle Holborn on recommendation and having looked at reviews I gathered we would be staying somewhere of great quality. Everything was great up until we decided to lock our door before we where going to go to bed, we booked a Junior suite room which wasn't cheap... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Adam S
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Adam S, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel -Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley and providing your valuable feedback. I am disappointed to read about the issue you experienced with your door lock in the night and I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. You will be glad to know that this has now been resolved.... More 

Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I needed to be close to Oxford street & Covent Garden for business this hotel put us 5-10 minute walking distance from these two popular attractions & just a short 10 minute walk from theatre land too. The junior suite was perfect for children to have their own space, rooms are very clean & newly decorated. Maid service was excellent.... More 

Helpful?
Thank laurahernglobal
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear laurahernglobal, Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and highlighting all the aspects of your stay that you enjoyed. The hotel is fortunate enough to be in an enviable location close to all the attractions and amenities. I am so pleased to read that you were extremely satisfied with your stay and enjoyed our... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We selected this hotel for our film crew while working at the British Museum, which is very close by. Our assumption was that a business-grade hotel at this price point would offer us an efficient and professional level of service. As all film crews, we arrived with heavy gear, we needed business support from front desk, we needed an early... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Chukotka
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear Chukotka, Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Kingsley. I am most concerned and really disappointed to read about your experience and I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you due to the lack of service you experienced during your stay. It is definitely not indicative... More 

Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I stayed for the second time at this hotel. The location is great to walk to museums, theaters, shopping and the tube. Nice that you have easy options of staying in rooms with twin beds (helps when you are traveling with friends and not a spouse!), well appointed and well priced

Helpful?
Thank diner57_10
Nameet_Asher, Manager at Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley, responded to this review

Dear diner57_10, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and your valuable feedback. I would also like to thank you for your continued loyalty by staying with us again for the second time and I hope that this forms a part of many more future visits to come.. As you mentioned the hotel is... More 

520 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (308)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
1:36
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (114)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (160)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (23)
Viewed
Executive Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,078 in London
1,185 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,078 in London
2,854 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#383 of 1,078 in London
914 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent extensive £10 million restoration and refurbishment program at the hotel, every area of the hotel has been transformed – our bedrooms have been completely modernised with a contemporary design and vibrant soft furnishings. Our public areas reflect the new contemporary style but retain elements of the hotel’s traditional Edwardian features. London landmarks like the British Museum and Covent Garden and Oxford Street are within easy walking distance. Just five minutes from Holborn and Tottenham Court Road Tube Stations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley

Address: Bloomsbury Way, London WC1A 2SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Price Range: ₹ 12,243 - ₹ 23,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Kingsley By Thistle London
Thistle Bloomsbury
Kingsley By Thistle Hotel London
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in London
#79 Romantic Hotel in London
#101 Business Hotel in London
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't pick a single!!”
 of 5 bubbles alessandragH8422AM, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The annex is cold”
 of 5 bubbles mic19662016, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Found the room to be noisy from what ever was going on outside first thing in the mornings. Sounded like bottle banks being emptied etc!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 615bazc, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are two single travellers, make sure that you ask for the beds to be separated.”
 of 5 bubbles U5611DGtoms, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms 202 and 204 which were both quiet”
 of 5 bubbles jaybrox, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay