We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Civil Service Club

#137 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of Civil Service Club
 Click to rate
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I recently held a business meeting for 20 people at this venue. It is really conveniently just a 4 minute walk from Charing Cross Underground. Our meeting room was on 2nd floor which we could reach by stairs or elevator. The room was lovely and set up perfectly with pads and pencils at each seat. Plenty of water, tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JacquiiJohn
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was attending a business meeting which was held in the Civil Service Club. Travelled down from Scotland on 21/3/17 and stayed overnight here. The room I was allocated was on the 5th floor and although very clean it was very tired and in need of updating. There was a smell in the room and there was no water from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judith773
SuzanneMudd, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. I would appreciate if you would contact me at pa@civilserviceclub.org.uk and tell me which room you were allocated so that I can look into this further. Many Thanks

United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The central location is good, the accommodation in my view is pretty awful. I had a single room, which was on the 5th floor. No lift goes direct to this floor, you have to get out on the 4th and walk up some quite steep stairs at the end of the corridor. That wouldn't necessarily have been a deal breaker...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anfio
SuzanneMudd, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. Please would you contact me on pa@civilserviceclub.org.uk and let me know which day you stayed and which room you were in so I can look into this further. Many Thanks

Lancs
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really couldn't fault our time here in London. Supberb location near Trafalgar Square and lots of tube stations on the door step. The staff were great and booked us taxis when we needed them. The room was perfectly fine with everything you need. Breakfasts were good. The bar was busy most evenings. Drinks and dining are relatively inexpensive here....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shazzadawn
SuzanneMudd, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed you stay in London and at the Club. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm a member of the Civil Service Club, but I'm aware that the club offers membership subject to conditions. However I want to share my experience for anyone considering membership. Today I attended our AGM, and as usual the Club was warm and welcoming with a relaxed atmosphere. Our meeting was held in the main dining room because of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colin N
SuzanneMudd, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoy being a member of the Club, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We visited London for 3 days and stayed at the Civil Service club for two nights. This is our second visit to the club and I must say we had a great time. The staff are very welcoming and helpful the food was very good the beer was great all at good prices you will not find anywhere in Westminster....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ray d
CivilServiceClub, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Have you taken advantage of the cards we have for our guests to borrow, giving free and reduced access to many of London's attractions? We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Facilities for meeting and refreshments very good. Lunch had been pre ordered. Food and service exceptional. This was a very convenient location and was ideal for the number of people attending. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
CivilServiceClub, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

London
Reviewed 2 March 2017

A members only club for serving and ex- civil servants in the heart of Whitehall, with excellent facilities, accommodation, good food and drink and very competitive prices. Dining Room and meeting rooms availalble for hire. Well worth joining and lots of special offers all year round including comedy nights, special trips and events

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Simon T
CivilServiceClub, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoy all that The Club has to offer. We are releasing our next set of events over the next few weeks, if you haven't signed up for the email notifications please contact office@civilserviceclub.org.uk and they will add you to the list.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

I booked the Civil Service Club main dining room on the 1st floor to host the annual Met Police Walking Club dinner. This was our 3rd time. We used to host it at the New Scotland Yard but NSY was sold off and we had to look for alternative venue. We love the Civil Service Club. The room is spacious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 7729Rowing
CivilServiceClub, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. It was a pleasure as always to host your evening. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

Private members club for those that work as as British government employee. I attended the Winter Barbecue as a quest. £32.00 for a four course meal. Head Chef Dave Wilson’s Winter Barbeque Menu Thursday 23rd February First Course Crab Cocktail Americana with Avocado & Lemon Second Course Bourbon Iced Tea Crush Third Course 12 hours Slow Cooked Jacobs Ladder Beef...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
CivilServiceClub, Guest Relations Manager at Civil Service Club, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food on the Winter BBQ evening, it is very difficult to address this when you don't specify what exactly the issue was! I have checked, and we received no complaints on the night, or the following day when many of the dishes were sold as 'Daily Specials'....

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#105 of 1,064 in London
4,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#361 of 1,064 in London
2,628 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#18 of 1,064 in London
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Westminster

Neighbourhood Profile
Westminster
If you only had an afternoon to experience London on a grand scale, Westminster would be a wise place to start. The ornate Houses of Parliament and Westminster Abbey sit adjacent at a corner of Parliament Square, and a short stroll along The Mall leads to Buckingham Palace. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column are just up the road as well. As captivating as the architecture is, the wonders of Mother Nature are highlights of the area too. St James's Park (arguably London's loveliest), the expansive Green Park, and pedestrian friendly tree lined paths along the river showcase the exquisite manicure provided by English gardeners. Just beyond the landmarks and the gorgeous outdoor spaces, quiet residential squares and age old local pubs offer a more subdued take on this global seat of power in the heart of London.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Civil Service Club

Address: 13-15 Great Scotland Yard, London, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Civil Service Club Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Civil Service Club staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Civil Service Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great accessibility and right in the heart of Westminster”
colinn73, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“what food you get tastes ok but don't go for the service!”
Ceridwen53, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back might be quieter but can't be 100% certain about that.”
MrsElsea, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 301, 401 & 501 as these double as fire escapes”
Killeboy, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Poor service”
davidF6459QM, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5