We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elmwood Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 104*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 104*
US$ 104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Elmwood Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elmwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 334: English reviews
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 December 2016

The guy who checked us in wouldn't stop talking on his phone while doing the check-in. He gave us a small double room with the walls that had scratches, plugs wouldn't work and the shower...let's not talk about the shower. Not worth its price - 94€ - that included a small breakfast, but that was the most decent part of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AntiaGV
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review towards your stay at Elmwood hotel and sharing your opinion with other future travellers, we apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay at our hotel, they receptionist was talking in the hotel bussines line with booking agent , and usually as they work solo situation like that can happen, but we apologies, the call...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We barely had room to walk around the bed, had a sheet and brown blanket so was cold. Water leak to celling,damaged fire door and holes to the flooring. Our friends room was tiny and the had no hot water in the shower, so they had to borrow our. Not the relaxing start to a girls weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kirsty B
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused. it would be more beneficial if you have reported your issues to our 24 hours front desk to offer you immediate relief to the problem. If you please feel free to contact me direct with some details about your staybin order...

Reviewed 25 November 2016

The first person we meet was called John, he was like all the gentlemen on reception very polite & a pleasure to speak to. We were in room 28, it was clean, fresh white towels, bed comfortable, yes you can hear outside BUT we both slept really well, we did not eat breakfast as we had to be out for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kernow T
John G, Owner at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel & sharing your experience with future travelers. It was our pleasure having a nice couple like you in our little budget hotel. You should have told us that you celebrating your 25th anivetsity at least we would have left a simple gift for you in the bedroom...

St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The Ritz this ain't, but you know what The Elmwood is perfect for a short break. My husband and I stayed with our 11 year old son. For the price it was brilliant for a base for somewhere like London. Yes the room was small,(double and single bed),and the bathroom was more like a cupboard, but it was ideal for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra H
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Debra, Thank you for your kind review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel & sharing your opinion on line with the future travelers , we are pleased to have your family at our little hotel & in behalf of the hotel managers and staff please accept our regards until we welcoming you again in the near future.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 5 November 2016

La ubicacion es excelente, el personal muy amable y el desayuno muy bueno y es gratis. me fui de Londres 8 dias y cuando volví, regresé a este hotel asi que lo recomiendo. En la zona tambien hay vida nocturna. La estacion central de kings cross pancras esta a 100 metros. The ubication is amazing, the recpcionists are very kind!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arucha81
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your time sharing your opinion towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel with future travelers And thanks for giving us top stars We enjoyed having you at our place & in behalf of the hotel managers & staff please accept our regards , We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I'd rather sleep in a tent. This place was deplorable. We only stayed a night but really contemplated leaving to go to a hostel. The room was small with a soiled comforter. We opened the door to the bathroom and it smelt horrible, I can't even describe it, maybe mildew and body odors. The shower curtain had dried white...substances we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chanel J
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback towards your recent stay at Elmwood Hotel, And sharing your personal opinion with future travelers. We apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will take the points you mentioned very serious and we will deal with it soon, to avoid the same issues to happen again in the future. One more thing ,...

tonbridge
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed here on Sat 22nd and booked 2 x double rooms as some friends were meeting us. We arrived at about 13:30. Check in was simple enough and nothing really to write home about. The room we had was on the same floor as the reception. It had a double bed, tv, tea & coffee facilities and a small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavinc
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments also sharing your opinion with our future travellers , Your comments is appreciated & truly we are a budget hotel in central London, Regarding the safe box inside the room without batteries , its is mentioned on the guest information paper inside the room that to activate the safe contact the reception staff.

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Well, on the plus side the room, number 11, was dirty old disgusting dark dingy. The mattress was at least 50 years old, totally unacceptable, Not a bad if you were back packing in India but shocking for a hotel in the heart of London. It would have been far more comfortable to have slept in the car. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Chris, Thank you for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed of your stay at Elmwood hotel. We will take your comments very serious and we will pass it to the hotel owners in order to deal with all the weak points you mentioned as soon as...

Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after coming back from Disneyland and staying here was a disappointing way to end to our time away. The only positive points was that's it's close to St Pancreas and Kings Cross and near all shops and food outlets. Arrived at around 7pm and was shocked when me and my Husband walked into what is meant to me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh F
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review

Tanks for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel, We are very sorry to hear that you weren't satisfy from our service. We apologies for any inconvenience caused during your short stay at our hotel. We have taken the points you mentioned very serious and we are dealing with it now and for sure we will treat all...

Burnley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We booked the Elmwood Hotel because of it's proximity to St Pancras, and we didn't want to spend an exhorbitant amount. The room was down a very narrow twisting staircase, which was very difficult to get suitcases down,and a shocking fire hazard. The tiny room had 2 beds, a single and a three-quarter, and the smallest en-suite ever, the lighting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris L

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (127)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#554 of 1,063 in London
884 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#738 of 1,063 in London
536 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#533 of 1,063 in London
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#945 of 1,063 in London
272 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#94 of 555 in London
565 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#71 of 555 in London
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighbourhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Address: 19 Argyle Square | Kings cross London, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range: ₹ 5,579 - ₹ 14,208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elmwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
906iand, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“My sister stayed in a room facing the main square-could not sleep for gangs outside - a rear room might be better but no view if you do!”
  • Peeling furniture
LesleyCMC, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not sure mine was on Third floor, no double glazing.”
martinrR8801FG, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“no lift lots of stairs”
FarmerGilesRutlandUK, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 28 spotless”
kernowt2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 104* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
TravelocityUS$ 104
Hotwire.comUS$ 104
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates