We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Harrington

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Harrington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Harrington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 218: English reviews
Cheshire
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We stayed at The Harrington apartments for 2 nights last week and what a find! I have no idea how anyone could find fault here as a couple of reviewers have done. The welcome at reception was friendly and efficient, our request for a high floor had been taken into account. The 2 bedroom apartment we were allocated was excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail99Cheshire
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Gail99Cheshire, Wow, thank you for such a lovely review. We always aim to upgrade customers’ expectations and it is great to hear from happy customers when this is the case. We hope you had a lovely time in London whilst staying with us and hope that you will return soon. Please don’t forget to visit our website to take...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Having read some of the recent reviews we contacted the hotel to ensure we were not booked in to the basement room and were reassured to find we had been allocated a studio room on the fifth floor. We greatly enjoyed our stay and found the staff we met to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean, well equipped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janette T
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Janette T, Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us. We will attempt to make our photoID policy clearer to our guest however we are often constrained by the requirements of online booking partners such as booking.com. We have this policy in place for the safety and security of all guests and staff. As to the £100...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Booked for two adults and one child, only found out when arrived had to pay extra £30 per night for extra bed as child was over 2! Appartment was badly worn, heavy scuff marks to walls and floor, bed loose and uncomfy, bath badly chipped,TV had poor picture and very limited channels, staff miserable and unhelpful. Advertised as Luxury Apartments,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marc d
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Marc d, Thank you for your feedback. Please note that our policy towards extra beds is clearly displayed on our website and all our agents’ websites, however we are sorry if you were not fully aware of this before arrival. It is a common practice in the hospitality industry to differentiate between infants (under 2 years) and children (aged...

Dublin Ireland
Reviewed 26 October 2016

An excellent location 2 mins from Gloucester Rd tube with 3 lines to almost every part of London. Plenty of cafe's, bars & restaurants, shops, Waitrose and Tesco all on the doorstep. Excellent well organised check in, upgraded us to a 1 bed apartment, very spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Big comfy bed, 2 large TV's, small kitchen area with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frandis
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Frandis, Thank you for writing such a brilliant review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your recommendations which we have taken on board. We have also made sure that maintenance are aware of the issue with the bathroom door. The parking tip is a really good one for any guests coming in...

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

This place is a scam for your money,the staff are very rude and disrespectful as they laughed at me and my partner explaining what the previous receptionist had said to us about getting the 100 refunded back into my account the following day which was a lie, I would never stay here again Worst experience ever in a hotel👎👎 never...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RChery
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review, 28 Nov 2016 Dear RChery, We are sorry to hear about your experience at The Harrington as this is definitely not the high standard of service for which we are normally known. There should never be an occasion when our staff are rude and disrespectful. I can assure you that...

Athens
Reviewed 29 September 2016

only one minute from picadilly line and a nice walking distance from South Kensington, I think it will be my first choice from now on for business purposes. At a very good price I had a whole appartment, very clean and modern, rare to find in London

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerkouv
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Gerkouv, Thank you for feeding back to the Tripadvisor community. It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our wonderful location. Hope to see you back soon, and don’t forget to book with us directly to take advantage of the offers for returning guests. Kind regards, Patrick

Birmingham
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Had a one bed apartment on 3rd floor. Lift so small only just fits in 2 people with 2 bags! So we used stairs most of the time. Bed was very hard and you can feel the springs. Small shower room. Large lounge and kitchen area. Well equipped kitchen. You need to take ID. Either passport or driving license to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellingSolo_11
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear TravellingSolo_11 Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We will look into your comments about the hard bed, and make sure there is no issue with the springs. We find that many customers prefer a slightly harder mattress, although this is really down to personal preference. For the safety and security of all guests we ask for PhotoID...

Westlake Village, California
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed at The Harrington with our family for one week this past June. The location is excellent with only a two minute walk to the Gloucester Road Tube Station. There are a lot of great restaurants and shops in the area. We felt this is one of the best areas to stay in London as it is a convenient...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JMH1986
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear JMH1986, Thank you for taking the time to write with feedback. Our 2 bedroom apartments are indeed a good size for families. We continually monitor our apartments and have taken on board our comments regarding the general décor and maintenance of the apartment. Kind regards, Patrick MacPhail

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I been to this hotel 3 times with my family and I cannot say enough great things about the hotel and staff. The only reason I am giving 4 stars vs 5 is because the apartments are so outdated and has water infiltration.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerBalt
The_Harrington, Marketing Manager at The Harrington, responded to this review

Dear Livia B We are pleased to hear that you have stayed with us several times and that you always enjoy your stay. Could we please ask you to send us more details about your last stay so we can look into what you mean by water infiltration. Kind regards, Patrick

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

We had our 6month old daughter with us and stayed in this gorgeous little studio style apartment which was basically underground - we had skylights along the roof which were built into the footpath above us. It was cool and different and we loved our little bunker away from the bustle of London when we had enough sightseeing in this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kellie854

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#427 of 1,088 in London
519 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#631 of 1,088 in London
34 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#131 of 1,088 in London
537 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Cheval Harrington Court
Cheval Harrington Court
#3 of 837 in London
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighbourhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in chic South Kensington, just two minutes' walk from Gloucester Road station and with many shops and a wide variety of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens is a collection of spacious serviced apartments including studio apartments, one bedroom apartments and two bedroom apartments. Designed and furnished in a contemporary style, your serviced apartment provides much more space and many more facilities than a London hotel room at excellent value in one of the best central London locations. Travel direct to other parts of central London as well as from London Heathrow and from the Gatwick Express at Victoria Station. Most of London's main museums, the Royal Albert Hall, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park and exclusive shopping in Knightsbridge are all within walking distance. Your apartment is air conditioned and has a comfortable lounge and dining area, a well equipped kitchen or kitchenette and has flat screen TV with satellite channels and newly boosted free Wifi. Make The Harrington - 1 Harrington Gardens your London address. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Harrington

Address: 1 Harrington Gardens | South Kensington, London SW7 4JJ, England (Formerly Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Price Range: ₹ 10,567 - ₹ 23,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harrington 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Harrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avni Luxury Serviced Apartments Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Harrington staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Harrington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early!”
SAhmed2014, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid basement rooms. They are a little older and more run down.”
823christians, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 294 has a flashing light outside which might annoy some light sleepers.”
Trevor679, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floor”
Gail99Cheshire, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms have nice street views”
Frandis, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5