We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA London St Pauls

Expedia.comUS$ 47*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 115*
US$ 47*
Great Deal
US$ 115*
US$ 115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA London St Pauls
YHA London St Pauls
Panoramas (41)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA London St Pauls
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Snaith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

As a school we have stayed in many YHA hostels. This was by a long chalk the worst. Dirty, tatty, the bedrooms and bunks were dreadful .. The stack system was akin to being in a coffin. Many of the students complained about itching in bed and I am convinced there were fleas in coffin/bed. The bells of st pauls...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 101Amanda
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi 101 Amanda, Thank you for taking the time to review YHA London St Pauls. I have written to you by email regarding you review. In order for me to look into this I would appreciate you contacting me stpaulsmanager@yha.org.uk I have also written to the school to gain more feedback. Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I stayed at St Pauls YHA for 2 night with a school group visiting London. We had breakfast both days which was what you'd expect from this type of hotel, it was still nice and filing. The rooms were not super clean and were a bit dated but I've seen worse, this goes for the bath rooms too. No major...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Conner_Kearey
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Conner, Thanks for taking the time to review us at St Pauls. I will pass on your comments to my team especially the Food and beverage team as you enjoyed breakfast. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future regards Steve Roberts Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I stayed earlier this month. Value for money is 5* for the location in a fairly quiet back street about 1 minutes walk from the Cathedral. It was an 8 bed dorm. I thought it really needed a night light so the night owls did not disturb everyone else when they entered the room late and switched on the bright...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 60esque
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi 60esque, Thanks for taking the time to review us at YHA St Pauls. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will of course pass on your kind comments to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager

Keith
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I came to London for a meeting, and when I do this I usually stay at St Pancreas Hostel. But it was full, so I came to St Paul's instead. My first impression was that the reception staff were brusque and unfrieñdly - and they remained so throughout my stay. The dorm was fine, but the shower room was smelly;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanButts
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review St Pauls. I would appreciate it if you would contact me regarding your comments about the team in reception. We strive to give our guests excellent customer service and it appears we have fallen short on this occasion. With regard to the showers, we have just had 6 of our showers renovated...

Udine, Italy
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I was quite disappointed by the quality of the accomodation and services. First of some dormitories accomodate up to 8 people and the individual and common space is very little. Showers (separate from toilets) are few and very basic. Bathrooms small and with few facilities, A power point is missing in the shared bathrooms. On top of that St Pauls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank silvie70
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us at St Pauls. Its unfortunate you were disappointed by the quality and services at the hostel. You are right our showers and toilets are separate and we are unable to put electric sockets in bathrooms (Shower rooms) for safety reasons. You also mention about the cathedral bells, as our websire states...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

As a first time solo traveller I was so pleased to stay here. Hidden away down a side street it is rather shabby to look at but quaint non the less. Was expecting it to be inundated by people much younger than myself but pleasantly surprised to find a wide mix of ages from very diverse backgrounds. The communal rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J C
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi JC, Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear my team were friendly and helpful and you found our communal space commfortable and spacious. Apologies for the showers being out of order, this was because we were renovating 6 of our showers which Im pleased to say are all now in working order. We really look forward...

Immingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015

I've stayed in the hostel a few times now so know what to expect. Cheap, no frills, but clean, safe and comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast. This time we'd requested a specific room which we'd been in before but were a bit disappointed to have been put in a 3 bunk room instead of the double bed and bunk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Be.n, Thanks for your kind review. With the tube strike sunds like you had a bit of a time of it!!. Great to hear that your felt safe and the breakfast was decent, Ill pass on your comments to the team. Sorry you didnt manage to get the room you requested, unfortunately at peak times this can prove to...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

I stayed here last weekend the reception & lounge were high quality as was the breakfast area. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the private rooms whilst they are clean they need to be redecorated, painted walls already flaky patches by windows there used be tv in room ariale socket there holes left in wall in room. If it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

It is more than 30 years since I first stayed at Carter Lane YHA, as it was then known. I have stayed several times over the years, flashing my gold life membership card. It is a few years since I was last here, but it was very convenient for the Stansted Express that my companions, a couple with pre-teen daughters,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
stpaulsdeputy, Duty Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Kind regards, Leigh Duty Manager

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

This hostel is located in central London about 100 meters from St Paul's Cathedral and a short walk from the Millennium Bridge, the Tate, The Globe and much more. We stayed in a 4 bed family room and we had a great nights sleep and a good (all you can eat) breakfast that set us up for the day. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Duncan C
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Duncan, Thank you for your great review. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay with and your kind comments about the team, quality of food and friendliness of my team. I will pass on your comments to my kitchen team about you enjoying our all you can eat breakfast. Probably the best value breakfast in the City. Really great point...

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Eleven Person Dorm (25)
Viewed
Modern Five Person Dorm (14)
Viewed
Modern Single Room (12)
Viewed
Modern Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Quad Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#65 of 837 in London
377 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#134 of 837 in London
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
68 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#17 of 837 in London
1,122 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 837 in London
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighbourhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighbourhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighbourhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Price Range: ₹ 1,902 - ₹ 10,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
11 months ago
Newcastle-under-lyme
over a year ago
26 days ago
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Mpls, Mn
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from YHA London St Pauls staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room as far from the cathedral as possible and near a bathroom.”
7catm, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lift. Might be a struggle for the older traveller.”
verony, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“view of St Pauls available from some rooms”
nortonanna, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Again, it's London, to get any accomodation at this price is a blessing.”
dafyddw2014, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs and a second pillow. Alternatively bring a ligature to slowly strangle the life out of a snorer. ”
grahaml275, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 47* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 115
PricelineUS$ 115
Hostelworld.comUS$ 48
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates