We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Travelodge London Central Southwark

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Travelodge London Central Southwark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,503: English reviews
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed today NEW

My husband, sister and brother-in-law spent a night at this Travelodge. The rooms were comfortable as were the beds. Despite some bad reviews, we spent a quiet night there despite overlooking many railway lines. Great view of the Shard. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had dinner in the cafe bar and were a little disappointed as the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith T
London
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room and service was as great as usual from a Travelodge however, my evening meal wasn't. The restaurant serves meals between 5pm and 10pm and after working a long shift all I wanted was a nice meal before bed. I ordered the lasagne and was expecting a nicely cooked meal. I didn't expect to get a microwave meal 😕....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gladders G
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the bar café service. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for one evening at the fantastic price of £30. The hotels location was superb for London sightseeing with Southwark tube station just a couple of minutes walk away and in turn a 10 minute tube journey to Leicester Square. The hotel itself was very clean and well maintained. Although our room was a little small it was adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnglishPacker
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as comfort and staff service are the basics of our promise to our customers and we are pleased to see this has been achieved. We thank you again for reviewing your stay and...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room OK-ish, but heating unit seemed defective, so spent a cold night there. No soap in shower dispenser, and faeces on sides of toilet bowl from a previous guest. Felt a bit like the hotel was run by a skeleton staff, with for example no one at reception when I arrived for a good 5 minutes or to take my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the service you have received during your stay, where you felt the hotel did not deliver consistent customer care due to staffing levels. We are also so sorry to learn of the issues with your room and we...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in Jan 2016. Good size room for central London. Reasonably priced especially if you are able to book early. It is right next to Southwark station and it is only a short walk to the Tate Modern. Room was reasonably clean, except for minor tea/coffee stain on the cup. The air-condition can be noisy, and it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattsz
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the noise you experienced. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been achieved. Feedback...

Athens, Greece
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I liked this hotel in general.It was close to the underground,clean and the staff very helpful. However there was no closet in the room only some hungers and at the breakfast there was no cheese and ham.Can you imagine that??

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evangelia-haris
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location and the service from our staff, however we would like to apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is very important as it allow us to improve the service we offer and we would like...

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Surprisingly large room and nothing to complain about unless you unlucky to get room on first floor looking onto viaduct wall. The rom was comfortable, clean and the bathroom had huge fluffy white towels. Soap is in dispensers but seems of good quality. Breakfast is good value and all the staff we engaged with were friendly and you were made...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gpage55
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

We're delighted to receive such positive feedback with regards to your recent stay at our London Central Southwark Travelodge and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to learn you enjoyed the location of the hotel and you found your room to be peaceful and clean. We aim to provide a comfortable stay for our guests,...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband amd I recently spent two nights in this Travelodge and were delighted with our stay. Everything was scrupulously clean and well organised and the service we received was second to none. It was my husband's birthday so we were given a room on the top floor to ensure we had the best view. The staff happily looked up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lindsay G
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel. It’s really important to us that our staff provide a fantastic service to our customers and remain professional at all times so we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the great service from our staff during your stay. Your comments will be passed on to our hotel colleagues...

Gland, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed in Travelodge's before and know what is normal for these type of hotels. However this was reminiscent of a scene in the film 'The Blues Brothers' where the Chicago metro rumbles past the window every few seconds, here the sound of the trains to / from Southwark station from early hours. Also the room walls / insulation were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will A
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing our London Central Southwark Travelodge and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your recent stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer...

Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelodge Central Southwark is located right next to Southwark Station and Blackfriars Bridge, so we could easily take the subway to all the major sights or walk over to central London. The room and beds were a good size, and the staff were helpful and kept our luggage for us after checkout at no extra charge. The unlimited breakfast option...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaminoSeHaceAndando
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge London Central Southwark, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is an absolute delight to hear you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us, especially our bar/cafe breakfast choices and our team members high level of service. We will ensure the hotel team receives a copy of your kind feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon.

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#231 of 1,080 in London
2,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#412 of 1,080 in London
2,382 reviews
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Southwark

Neighbourhood Profile
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard, the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street, foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest attractions such as Tate Modern and Shakespeare's Globe. Despite Southwark's many popular draws, instant calm can be achieved easily by turning down almost any side street. For more urban buzz, a quick stroll across famed bridges like the pedestrianized Millennium Bridge or the ever photogenic Tower Bridge yields access to the very core of Central London. And with London Bridge Station as this neighbourhood's main transportation hub, getting across town (or to anywhere in England for that matter) is a relative breeze.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Southwark

Address: 202-206 Union Street | Southwark, London SE1 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Price Range: ₹ 6,074 - ₹ 13,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Southwark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge London Central Southwark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Southwark Hotel London
London Travel Lodge
London Travelodge
Hotel Style:
#205 Family Hotel in London
#264 Romantic Hotel in London
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge London Central Southwark staff and other travellers.
58 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (58)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge London Central Southwark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for the highest rooms possible. Less disruption from the railways.”
 of 5 bubbles JudithT320, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiter floor is the seventh which also has great views”
 of 5 bubbles 587lindsayg, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 721willa, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles the_calvinator, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the railway.”
  • room with a view!
 of 5 bubbles ExChiefsgirl, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay