We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 758: English reviews
cambs
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I did write one review for this hotel but it seems to have vanished?..? Getting to the car park was an absolute nightmare, we had to phone up reception and then she cut us off twice and then said she would put us through to someone that could help. She put us through to the kitchens??? No help at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skylinestu
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. There is road works around us currently and the diversion is pretty well sign posted by the council. We are also in the process of changing the entrance to the car park which we are hoping to be complete by the 12th August which will make it very easy in the future to get to...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here on business in late June. Great building, entrance and bar/lounge/restaurant with modern decoration in period setting. Just what I like. Restaurant was very nice and food was quick. Hotel is like a warren on upper levels and floor level changes are frequent. My room was a bit small and very hot. Not sure what the rest of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam P
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review. I was delighted you liked the building and the ground floor areas. Our rooms are all of a different shape, size and design however most rooms are on the larger side. I was also delighted to read you enjoyed Marco's New York Italian our onsite restaurant. Our car park...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Stayed here for two nights for our daughters graduation. Well located. Mixed atmosphere. Lovely clean decor downstairs. Lovely breakfast room. Staff in the breakfast room very exceptional, very polite and very helpful. Bedrooms old and in need of maintainance. Not clean, very dusty. Didn't use the tea making facilities as the kettle was grimy and cups full of dust. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am sorry that part of your stay was memorable for the wrong reasons, please be assured that these issues will be discussed with the housekeeping team and particularly the maid that serviced your room to ensure no further repetition. However, l thank you for your kind words with reference to our lounge area,...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We stayed at the Mercure Leicester during July as part of a trip to visit the Richard 3rd tomb and visitor centre which we can definitely recommend. I'm not so sure we would recommend the Mercure although there were some good points. Firstly the Mercure is a very grand Victorian building located right in the centre of Leicester close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seamoon24
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Disappointed to read you did not like the decor in the room. I was delighted to read the team looked after you in their normal way, you found the bathroom nice with the original tiles and sink from 1898, breakfast good and location great. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Leicester with my fiancée last Saturday. While the staff were friendly, I was a little disappointed with the overall quality of the hotel. Our room was small and very dark with no view whatsoever. I had to turn on the bedroom light to be able to read a book at about 3pm on a...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonson87
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read the room was not to your liking. We do 104 rooms all of a different shape, size and design. Had the team been aware of this i am confident they would have gladly moved you to one of your liking. The car park information is on every website we are...

redhill, surrey
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I stayed on a weekend cheap rate accor deal £40 so wasn't expecting to get the best room in the hotel even being a silver member. I was put on the fifth floor where you have to get the lift to the 4th and walk up some stairs to get to the fifth. The room was nice if a little...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 500josephp
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We cannot fit air con to our grade 11 listed building due to local regulation. However as you found out we do have a large stock of portable fans including a few "big floor" ones you have mentioned for the few hot weeks we have in Leicester. I am delighted to read you liked the...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights Saturday to Monday. On the Saturday there was a party which we were told about on arrival and as we had a 2 month old they put us in a room at the back of the hotel however, the people at the party were using the fire escape which was outside our bathroom window. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewMrsN_12
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is disappointing to read that fellow guest's caused you a disturbance. I was delighted to read you found the room really clean and the breakfast lovely with a good selection. Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Leicester.

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We had an absolute nightmare finding the car park despite the driver having been here before. The road in front of the Grand was all dug up and the diversion signs didn't help one bit. After four trips around the one way system we finally found the exit to the car park! I went in and the receptionist kindly lifted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dweendled
James C, General Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. There are road works round us and the council have put a diversion in place although long winded is pretty well sign posted. The tea/coffee making facilities in the room have what you say however you can have as much as you want. So a note for the next time don't be shy to ask....

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

The Mercure's location for central Leicester cannot be beaten. 3 minutes from the train station but with an ample car park if you drive. It is just a stroll to the clock tower in the middle of Leicester City Centre. Lots of great cafes, restaurants and night life plus shopping in the day. The hotel itself has a great reception...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThadeusT
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fabulous review, which will be shared and appreciated by all of the team We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Mek'ele, Ethiopia
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Old style hotel recently upgraded, but many steps if you're disabled. Pretentious over-priced restaurant. Eat out. Outside smoking area disgusting never cleaned despite notifying reception. Staff casual.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David S
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your valuable feedback Since the start of the warm spell we have noticed more guests drinking outside to which we have asked for more attention to be paid to the exterior areas for clearing empty bottles etc I thank you for bringing this to our attention again

150 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.7 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
807 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
840 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#13 of 41 in Leicester
301 reviews
5.5 km away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: ₹ 5,497 - ₹ 11,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jakntone, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask to be at the back of the hotel front is very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles LittleacornHampshire, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are disabled, make this clear as many of the rooms have multi levels in them”
 of 5 bubbles 43Seconds, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid street facing and near fire doors.”
 of 5 bubbles Shabahoo, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My friends had used The Grand for lunch before..but on this occasion I was not impressed.”
 of 5 bubbles MariaMarcella, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5