We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

735 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 718: English reviews
Norwich
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was curious about this hotel so during another stay in Leicester I have decided to try this one. It is all fashioned but ok'sh. I was not impressed with a view over inner yard but at least I was above the roof of conservatory as venue place ;/ Still I think that price was a bit too high. Bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rikanika
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I attended a Christmas Party & meal & the soup was cold. I had to ask twice for more bread rolls. I had the vegetarian main course which was nice but not very filling. More vegetables with it would have been good. The tart for pudding was nice. I don't drink tea or coffee and it would have been good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 588Paula
James C, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you felt your meal was cold and disappointed you did not relay this message to the events manager in your room. We have served over 1000 meals this weekend and no adverse comments on the night. On a positive note I was delighted to read you enjoyed your main and dessert courses....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Looks nice but pretty disappointing stay. The room was too dark to get ready in and only had one very badly placed mirror, my colleague woke up with a rash all over her body and didn't even get an apology, just a "it might be the laundry detergent", my other colleague had to ask the cleaner to vacuum his room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julianoble
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, l am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay or your breakfast with us. Secondly, l was sorry to read that your friend discovered a rash and hope they have fully recovered now but with respect we will not apologise until we are confident that it is something that we have caused. With regards to the housekeeping issues...

March, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was very friendly and accomodating.The marketing manager Rob especially made us feel really welcome and we had quite a chat. I found it strange that the disabled toilet was on the 2nd floor as what would happen if the lift broke down or there was a power cut ? very disturbing thought. Marcos restaurant was very disappointing as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback which will be shared with all the team. Firstly, all standards are in place should we have a power cut or lift malfunction. I am sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal in Marco's and that we were unable to redeem ourselves at the time, please contact Luke the...

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spending time in Leicester with friends and stayed in the Mercure despite some of the reviews. All I can say is that the hotel was more than satisfactory. The rooms were small but adequate - clean and nicely decorated. Very comfortable beds and not at all noisy except for a party on Saturday which finished about midnight. Drunk guests were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very pleasant feedback, which all the team will be happy to read. We do hope we can welcome you back again in the near future when l am confident your next stay will be as pleasant as this one.

Reviewed 1 week ago

cost of staying here it is very over priced it is not a 4 star hotel it needs a complete renovation having to climb into a bath to have a shower is not 4star finding the car park is not easy and then payed over 100 pound a night they want 8 quid a day to park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronniemelling
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations but thank you for taking the time to write your review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Centrally located and spacious. Not especially expensive. Car parking at £8 per night. Marco Pierre White restaurant within the hotel. Disconcertingly egotistical decor as EVERY (huge) picture in the restaurant is of him! Breakfast is fine. Room was a wee bit tired, the bathroom especially but very clean and well stocked. Wish there were proper steam irons not the usual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BristolPavs
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive and fair comments regarding the hotel, team and location.

Leeds
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was clean, bed was comfy, service is good, and the hotel has its own car park albeit it at a cost. The only negative was that the shower was at an awkward height meaning that I had to bend down to shower properly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesgH7971XT
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay albeit the shower. We will ensure to put this on your profile for future reference We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked into this hotel on our wedding day and had a slight problem (because of some incorrect information from another staff member), that the lovely reception staff sorted out and were very helpful. Before our wedding we had drinks in the bar. The look on the girls face when I ordered a cocktail was total shock, I think she...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALM_MAM_16
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I was so sorry to read some of your comments, as customer service is the forefront of our business as you thankfully found ou at breakfast Please be assured that we will speak with the team involved with your meal to ensure this does not hap[en again. However, I thank you for your kind comments regarding breakfast and the Reception...

Lisburn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am currently on my last night stay at this hotel and it's safe to say I won't be back. It is unbelievably expensive for what you get. When you walk through the doors it is absolutely beautiful, don't get me wrong and the staff are lovely but that's about the only good points. Once you step in the elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tartansurprise
Shirley M, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review but thank you for your constructive comments. Firstly, the hotel was particularly busy on the night of your stay, due to a party and some of the guests staying and returning to the hotel in the early hours of the morning were less than considerate to others. It must have been very irritating...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.7 km away
Hotel Maiyango
Hotel Maiyango
#12 of 41 in Leicester
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
774 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
806 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel, where Victorian charm meets modern comfort in Leicester city centre. Enjoy a fabulous meal at Marco's New York Italian, our onsite restaurant by prestigious celebrity chef Marco Pierre White, or relax in the bar and lounge and catch up with friends over a cocktail or two. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel

Address: 73 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 6ES, England (Formerly Mercure Leicester City Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: ₹ 5,212 - ₹ 12,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leicester Hotel Leicester
Ramada Leicester
Leicester Ramada
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Rochester, Minnesota
over a year ago
uk
over a year ago
Bath, United Kingdom

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms rather on upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles rikanika, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles jillcoulsonc, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4th floor is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Alshoes, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles 66amandas, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles james595832, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay