We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Belmont Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Belmont Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

774 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Belmont Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 756: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We expected more modern surroundings and rooms. The hotel was generally poorly lit and decorated. The cooked breakfast was dry and tasteless. The staff were friendly and helpful but not trained up to a standard expected of this type of hotel. The shower failed halfway through leaving me to rinse my hair under the bath taps. Extremely noisy creaking floors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuartdeakin
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I dined last Thursday (10th November) at the Belmont Hotel before going on to a show at dMH, and had the most attentive service and best quality food we've ever had anywhere. The macerated plums were simply the most delicious sweet course I've ever had! We've been fortunate enough to eat at some excellent restaurants, but this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chrisncarrol
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent dining experience at The Belmont Hotel, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Regards Eloic

Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having arrived early, it was a pleasure to sit, eat and drink in Jamie's bar until I checked in. My room exceeded expectations with lovely decor and a homely feel - the ironing board and iron were a lovely touch. Dinner in another section of Jamie's bar was again very nice and most of the menu was available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leekraushaar
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Great review, thank you very much indeed, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed what the hotel has to offer. We hope to welocme you back very soon. Regards Eloic

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After looking on trip advisor this hotel looked very good, bit expensive maybe but went ahead. Location is good and has free parking. However the rooms were awful. Cigarette burns in the chairs, wallpaper peeling off the walls, old furniture, cracks in bathroom sink, dirty finger prints on shower ceiling. Both myself and my colleague asked for our rooms to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve K
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your time with us, we did not refuse to move you but unfortunately the night you stayed in we were fully booked and were unable to do so. I hope that you will still consider the Belmont when visiting the YMCA or Leicester. Regards Eloic

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We just found this hotel by sheer chance. We were shown a couple of rooms on the evening by a member of staff, a couple "To be refurbished and a couple Refurbished." The refurbished were very good and decided to stay in one of those. We had a problem with a noise in the room so sleep was not great,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pmstudios
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to speak to me on check out and posting a lovely review. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes Eloic

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The best thing about the Belmont is that it is directly on Leicester's exceptional New Walk - a more than 200-year-old pedestrian "road", which will take you directly into the city centre. We were tourists, in Leicester to see their museums, their architecture - and to get a general impression of what kind of (small) city this is. Starting every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wellgrove
Turin, Italy
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Though we only stayed overnight, we appreciated the hotel's cosy atmosphere and the good quality of the rooms - nice decor and cleaning. Position is perfect for visiting the town - take the Georgian pedestrian way, it's about ten-fifteen minutes' walk to the centre. Wide parking in the backyard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joycefrida
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

myself, partner and 2 children (aged 8 & 12) stayed at The Belmont for 2 nights when watching a show at the De montford hall. The hotel is much bigger than I thought it would be, infact I got lost a few times trying to find my way around. We stayed in a family room, which had a separate room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sambo86572
Lincolnshire
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed in this hotel for one night only in October 2016. I didn't get a good feeling from the start. There was broken wine glasses and discarded cigarette packets on the stairs up to the front door. (they were still there the next morning when we left!) I had chosen a room from their website only to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akenny
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Akenny, Sincere apologies for the disappointing experience when you last stayed with us, can I please ask you to contact me to discuss your comments further and hopefully restore your faith in the Belmont. Eloic gm@belmonthotel.co.uk 01162529618

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed as a couple here a few times when visiting Leicester for Tigers games. Easily accessible location with plenty of outdoor parking. Easy walk to Welford Road or the Town Centre. Bar seems to be pretty lively with a good atmosphere on match day but rooms were still quiet later in the evening. Room and bathroom were fairly small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
BelmontHotel, General Manager at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read you enjoy staying with us whilst the rugby is on. Next time you are thinking of visiting please book direct with us, it is always cheape and you are able to get 10% off by mentioning "bookback10" as you have...

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
2.1 km away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#4 of 41 in Leicester
320 reviews
0.7 km away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
806 reviews
5.5 km away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.6 km away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Windows on New Walk
Windows on New Walk
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stylish family-owned hotel in the heart of Leicester. Pretty, leafy location, minutes from the station with free parking. Character Victorian Town House, stylish bedrooms varying from modern to traditional, with latest in WiFi access. Well located for theatre breaks (minutes from De Montfort Hall, & close to Curve theatre) and shopping at the fantastic new Highcross quatter. The place to stay in Leicester. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: De Montfort Street, Leicester LE1 7GR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range: ₹ 5,387 - ₹ 9,919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Leicester
Best Western Leicester
Leicester Best Western
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leicester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Family Hotel in Leicester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Belmont Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Belmont Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 108 is a executive suite, really lovely”
 of 5 bubbles Lindsey878, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask about those recently refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles chrisncarrol, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid rooms 201 and 105”
  • wallpaper coming off
 of 5 bubbles stevekH9009ET, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with windows on the New Walk.”
 of 5 bubbles Wellgrove, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I have no idea!”
 of 5 bubbles LondonBallerina, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay