We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The New Alvon Hotel

Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (11)
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (1)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Very clean and decorative family run bed and breakfast hotel located central blackpool less than 5 minutes walk from the central coach station,blackpool tower,winter gardens,shops, clubs,town centre,most attractions,beach,promenade and only 4 doors from the most popular workingmans club called the H&A. Our rooms range from twin double,single most of which are ensuite have central heating double glazing,flatscreen digital Tv,tea&coffee facilities.we cater for 21 quests couples,families,small groups that are booked through an organisation,sorry no stag or hen groups Our prices are from £20pppn breakfast included optional evening meals are offered midweek (not weekends) We have some excellent Monday to Friday deals b&b or BBEM (contact us for prices as they vary throughout the season) We have a lot of excellent tripadvisor reviews and have just received our 5 star health & hygiene award September 2015. Please get in touch for any kind of inquirey/booking we look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
Property amenities
Public Wifi
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Trendy
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
437Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
144Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
108Reviews
61Photos
0Q+A
11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 90
  • 13
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Sorry no chance I’ll be comin again to sleep on them terrible beds I’m sorry, it’s cost me a week off work I’m on tablets where I don’t know whether I’m comin or going, I work for myself so I’ve lost money there, then it’s costing me money to see a chiropractor each time to sort
Read more
Response from Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel
Responded 3 Sep 2018
Hi Chris I would just like to say when you arrived on Saturday and I went through the breakfast menu as I do with all the guests and what you didn't like you cross off I asked what your wife don't like and you said fried bread the same as me I didn't see her so I assumed she had gone to the shops whilst you booked into a double room so that was two breakfast's wasted as you didn't have the decency to say you was on your own. I explained to you breakfast was served between 8.30-9.00 and will not be served after that time, then at 9.15 you rang from your room asked if we were still doing breakfast and we said unfortunately not. Then,On sunday midday you said to my partner have you got a couple of tablets as you said your back was hurting and was going for a lay down as you had been walking along the prom that day and did not mention anything at all about the bed I must point out they are good standard hotel mattresses and we have never had any complaints about them in all the 16yrs we have been trading its obvious that you must have a firm mattress at home because of your back problems.Also you mentioned about the room size, it was a good size bedroom in fact we get a lot of returning guests that request that room when making a booking If you want an ex large room then i suggest you go for the bigger luxuries hotels that are more expensive, and yes i asked you for some more money from you as it was what was owed to us you were given your invoice of the cost,and finally if you decide to go home early because of your back problems that is entirely up to you we do not give refunds, we have a business to run,Anyway at the end of the day you give your opinion i give mine that's what Tripadvisor is all about and now that you are resting maybe you should find 5 minutes of your time to read all the excellent comments from just some of the guests that have stayed here.We wish you a speedy recovery.
Read more
Trish and John were great, The breakfast was really good and well cooked and presented. My wife is lactose intolerant and could not have butter so Trish went and got some lactose free. She could not do enough for us and our friends who we went with.
The room although on the small
Read more
Response from Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel
Responded 23 Aug 2017
Hi Emma, thank you for your lovely comment and that you enjoyed your stay here,and yes those matress protectors can be a nuisance especially in warm weather but unfortunately we have to have them for health and higene purposes,hope you all had a good run home we look forward to seeing you all sometime next year many thanks Trish & John.
Read more
this was are second stay at the alvon. trish and john are polite and could do anything more for us, the breakfast was hot and plenty and the alvon is in a great location fot the pier, tower and all the shops.
Read more
Response from Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2017
Hi tony thank you very much for your comment it was good to see you again and we look forward to your next visit,from trish & john
Read more
Both me and my hubby stay here every august for the punk festival both Trish and John are the most politest people going n the breakfast is fantastic hot and served with a smile (trish) the room we have is great shower red hot and runs brilliantly tea n coffee in our room too
B
Read more
Response from Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel
Responded 8 Jan 2017
Hi Lynne, thank you so much for your comment about your stay at our hotel like always its a pleasure to have you and shaun stay here time after time we are already looking forward to your next visit in august,take care see you then x
Read more
Where could I start?! The room was freezing cold, to the point we had to buy a heater and extra blankets! The bed had a bloody waterproof mattress protector, I don't think I had one of those as child! Breakfast wasn't that great either, we sat for around 5 minutes before offered
Read more
Response from Newalvon, Owner at The New Alvon Hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2017
1) well where do I start oh yes from the beginning!!! The hotel heating has been on continuously throughout your stay as we do for all guests umm perhaps you didn't notice the self controlled thermostat on the radiator 2) yes we have waterproof and cotton mattress protector its to do with health & hygiene but then you wouldn't know that as our shower unit has not been used throughout your stay 3)As for breakfast you said to me (trish) I am abit funny with food at the moment as I'm 24 weeks pregnant you asked if it was tinned tomatoes or grilled because you don't like tinned so we gave you fresh grilled tomato instead and as for the other 3 guests they had eaten their cereal you was still eating yours so of course I'm going to give them their English breakfast and as for the pot of tea or coffee it may of been 5 minutes it was probably to do with the fact I was asking you and your other half if you had a good night out that's how polite I am to guests 4) As for dinners Guests have to let us know in advance if they require evening meals when you telephoned to make the booking for new year my partner asked you was it for b&b or b&b and evening meals and you said b&b so that was your choice 5) Its amazing what pregnancy does to the mind, this comment has not by any means made me think OMG what are guests going to think about our hotel because there is another 103 very very good trip advisor reviews to go by and we get a lot of guests that have stayed here before come back time after time "Enough said"
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementThe New Alvon Hotel
room 10 shower room
Photo provided by managementThe New Alvon Hotel
room 9 shower room
Photo provided by managementThe New Alvon Hotel
room 7
Photo provided by managementThe New Alvon Hotel
stairway to room 6 + 7
Photo provided by managementThe New Alvon Hotel
room 4 shower room
Previous
"Best breakfast ever had in a b+b anywhere"
"Book early"
"The Hotel was in a perfect spot , and it was very peacefull"
"we stay in room 4 ,havent seen any other rooms but judging by the standard of room 4 they will be excellent"
"en-suite rooms"
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$ 60 - US$ 69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBlackpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing