We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Phildene

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Phildene
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Phildene
See the most recent reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Although from outside it doesn't look special the inside of the hotel is lovely. Our room was beautifully appointed and little extras like wine and chocolates made it special. Shower room was immaculate as was the pure white bed linen and towels. Lovely place to stay, owners were very obliging, breakfasts good. Only down side was finding somewhere to park...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Sandra, Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again. Regards John & Lorna

county durham
Reviewed 27 October 2014

We really enjoyed our stay they look after you really well the rooms are beautiful they have coffee maker and others facilities the breakfast are lovely plenty to eat john and lorna are nice people and they look after you really we'll going back next year love Sandra & Kevin from country durham

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandra m
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Sandra & Kevin, It was a pleasure meeting you both, thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.com we look forward to your return visit. regards John & Lorna

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago with the family for a short break. While everything is very clean it just didn't feel very special to us. Lorna is lovely and tries make you feel very welcome - unfortunately we couldn't say the same about Mine Host as the only time he spoke to any of our party was to ask...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank misterhugo59
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Bungal, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com Sorry you were not happy with your visit to our great seaside town, your comments have been noted, As I did not see you apart from when you were checking in, I don't know when Iwas suppose to be able to talk to you. I...

Reviewed 26 October 2014

Me and my partner stayed here in September for two nights and had a lovely time. On arrival we were given advice on the best places to view the fireworks and how to get around easily. Everything was clean and tidy and the room was what we expected. Would definitely stay again on our next visit and reccomend to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauramc92
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Folks Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com Your comments are Appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. Regards John & Lorna

Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2014

My first time to this B&B has been amazing. What a gem of a B&B it is. Lorna and John made myself, my partner and her parents very welcome from the start, even got a coffee and biscuits given to us on arrival. Bedroom was very comfortable and very well decorated and spotless. The breakfast we had was the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisPort2014
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Karan, John & Maureen, thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. we look forward to your return visit next year. Regards John & Lorna

Cumbria
Reviewed 19 October 2014

initially booked 4 superior double rooms but there was only 3 available so was given a free upgrade to a king. Then had to cancel 1 room due to one of our friends being ill. Be aware that they have a 30 day cancellation policy and you will have to pay in full if they don't re-let the room. Luckily...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xcasiox
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Folks, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com / your comments have been noted, all hotels B&Bs Guest houses have cancellation clauses in their booking procedures, this ensures we are able to offer fair rates. Our showers are not power showers but are gravity fed therefore have limited pressure. Thank you for your...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2014

Just arrived back to scotland last night after our stay with john and Lorna. After being to blackpool over 20 times( love the fun) I found a hotel that's been my favourite. John and Lorna were fab! The rooms sooo clean and modern. Everything you need there. Breakfasts were amazing, all u want really! John and Lorna chatty and great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linsay M
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Lindsey & Peter, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to your return visit. Regards John & Lorna

Reviewed 12 October 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Phildene! John and Lorna were excellent - such a friendly service with nothing being too much trouble. A lot of thought went into room design and hospitality, with great detail to breakfast menu options (esp. for vegetarians/vegans) The locatiojn of the hotel is very convinient right of the promenade with handy tram stop, quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sasha N
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Sasha & James, It was lovely meeting you both at the weekend, thanks for your time and comments on reviewing your stay with us. Regards John & Lorna

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2014

A holiday break that my mother and I fully enjoyed. Both John and Iorna were both lovely accommodating hosts and looked after us really well. My mother is 73 in November and I took her for a couple of long walks on the Saturday to which she became very tired. When we arrived back at the hotel. Quite rightly I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADKLMANCHESTER
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Folks, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and you kind comments, it was a pleasure meeting you both and we will be pleased to welcome you back Regards John & Lorna

Reviewed 23 September 2014

On arrival the owner realised we was a gay couple and we got a look of disgust off him followed by a question "you do realised you've booked a double room?" He then kept murmuring things to himself, we felt that uncomfortable and not welcome that we didn't go down for breakfast, the room we stayed in was tiny to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DavidOsborne1203
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

We do not know why you have decided to review us in this manner, we are a gay friendly hotel who have a number of happy gay & lesbian customers who return year on year, as well as gay friends, we also employ gay & Lesbian Staff. In fact you state I said you do realise you booked a double...

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
3,028 reviews
1.6 km away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
2,971 reviews
0.2 km away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#36 of 911 in Blackpool
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 911 in Blackpool
1,132 reviews
1.3 km away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 911 in Blackpool
189 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 911 in Blackpool
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Phildene

Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range: ₹ 3,983 - ₹ 8,095 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Phildene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only saw the suite but it was excellent.”
davemL4685XU, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Worth paying extra for the suites.”
483golfer1, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't upset the owner!”
Vandalheart, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Suites are good value - the extra space is worth it”
88JanM, 2 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has single rooms that are of an excellent standard.”
DavidW611, 1 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Travelocity
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates