We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hillthwaite Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hillthwaite Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hillthwaite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,350: English reviews
London
Reviewed 10 July 2015

This hotel lets itself down on the detail. It's most definitely a three star hotel but has the airs of a four star one. First, the positives. The location is excellent, although it's a pretty steep climb from the road if you don't have a car. Our first impressions were good because Edward on reception was first-class. He'd already been...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank L0nd0nLawyer
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear L0nd0nLawyer, many thanks for taking the time to post your review regarding you recent stay at the Hillthwaite, it was pleasing to read that you found the location of the hotel to be excellent, it was nice that you were met by Edward who was so helpful to you even before your stay via email and could finally put...

Ripon
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hillthwaite Hotel. The hotel is situated on quite a steep hill, which was fine for us but probably wouldn't be great for the less able. It is about a 10/15 minute walk into Bowness itself which was lovely in the nice weather. Our room was nice, although quite small...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Rachael D
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael D, thank you so much for your review about you recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay especially the service from the staff. I am sorry that you felt the pool was freezing it is normally kept at a very nice temperature. Thank you again for your review and we look forward...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Visited here twice now. In January and again in July as it was so good. Service received was fantastic, food amazing and great value considering the quality. I had an Occasion room both times and it was well worth it. Although I was disappointed with the water pressure in room 30. The pool, sauna and steam room were also excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sass1980
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sass1980, thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review about your recent stay with us. I am so glad to hear that you exceeded your expectations in all areas. I am looking into your comment in regards to the water pressure in room 30. Once again thank you for your review and we hope...

Reviewed 7 July 2015

My partner and I booked a weekend here in June. We booked a cosy room, but when we got there we were quite disappointed as the room just looked onto a yard, and it was quite noisy when people walked past to the pool and as there were toilets opposite our room. However we do not like to complain and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SARS19
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear klr1912, thank you for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoyed your first room and couldn’t sleep at all on your first night. It was so pleasing that we could solve this matter the next morning and were able to move you to a better...

Dubai
Reviewed 5 July 2015

The hotel is situated in between Windermere & Bowness which is convenient. One of their rooms is ideal for a family with 2 young children as it has one room with a double bed, one room with bunk beds and a sitting room in between. The bathroom & room was very modern. The room, bathroom and premises were spotless. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fayoula
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fayoula, thank you for posting your rewarding review about your recent stay, it was nice to hear that you felt that everything was spotless and I am glad that we met your expectations, it was also great that you enjoyed the room and the location. I will ensure your comments are passed on. Once again thank you for your...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

2 night Travel Zoo break. Classic room instead of cosy double but still on the small side. refurbished room and bathroom lovely. No view but didn't bother us as we went and sat on the terrace in the evening. Lovely setting and view. Used the pool and spa, changing facilities a bit tight and wish I'd taken a robe so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathhal
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathhal, thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. We could have provided you with a robe as there wasn’t one in your room. Please rest assured that I will pass these comments on to the team. Once again thank you for...

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

This is a lovely hotel with views towards the lake and an excellent restaurant. We booked through Secret Escapes and decided to go for one of the 4 Classic Plus rooms which have the view. Ours was Number 33. It had obviously been renovated quite recently and was excellent. The bathroom included a classy walk in shower and a jacuzzi...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DavidGH59
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DavidGH59 thank you for taking the time in posting your rewarding review about you recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed the lovely views and found the restaurant to be excellent. Please rest assure that I will pass these comments on to the team. Once again thank you for your review and looking forward...

Richmond, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Second visit after being enticed back with the lure of a refurbishment. The pictures on the net show a stunning setting for a great get away in a fabulous hotel. However we were given a room no 31 that must have been in another hotel. With dated décor, dirty carpet, cracked bath panel, poor knocked about furniture and sockets in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichmondTraveller_13
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RichardTraveller_13 thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us. Your views are extremely important to the way in which we manage the hotel; the issues you have raised relating to Room 31 have been looked into and we are currently working on correcting and improving these areas, and we do have...

London
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed had a 3 day break at the end of June for my husband's birthday and were not disappointed. The hotel is incredibly clean and in a great location with free parking. We stayed in the Wordsworth suite which is exactly as pictured and was the room I requested at the time of booking. It has beautiful decor, small...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bostewa
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bostewa thank you for taking the time to post your wonderful review about your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were not disappointed . It was pleased to read that you found the hotel very clean and that you enjoyed all the facilities within your room. I am glad that the food and service...

Reviewed 30 June 2015

The staff all helped to make our stay with family and friends a really memorable one. The food, rooms and service were excellent. There were 19 of us and we had a whole area of the restaurant to ourselves which made it really private. All our guests commented on the choice and quality of food. We even had a complementary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill F
Hotelonthehill, General Manager at Hillthwaite Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill F thank you so much for your great review. I am glad that we met your expectations and that we made your stay with your family and friends really memorable. I am very glad that you enjoyed your dining experience in the restaurant, Please rest assured that I will pass these comments on to the team. Once again...

742 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (481)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (217)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Bedroom (21)
Viewed
Double Bedroom (28)
Viewed
Pool (5)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room with Balcony (25)
Viewed
Standard Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
1.0 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,281 reviews
5.8 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,010 reviews
3.7 km away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
902 reviews
1.1 km away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hillthwaite Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 9,883 - ₹ 18,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hillthwaite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere, Lake District
Hillthwaite House Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Windermere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hillthwaite Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
3 months ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hillthwaite Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front has lake views”
 of 5 bubbles maamjones, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“beautiful superior room at top of stairs on floor 1 first door on left.”
 of 5 bubbles atypicalpen, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front top floor have good views of the lake”
 of 5 bubbles sovlike2015, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 28 had a lovely lake view”
 of 5 bubbles M7461VDsharons, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Occasion room 15 has views of Lake Windermere and mountains in the distance.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsssb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5