We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Howbeck

Booking.comUS$ 171*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Howbeck
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Howbeck
See the most recent reviews
Showing 930: English reviews
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed in the Meregill room. It was lovely with a great bathroom complete with large whirlpool bath and v powerful shower. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were very good. Can't fault any of it - apart from the weather!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments on your review of The Howbeck. We are very pleased you enjoyed the spa bath and power shower as well as your choice of breakfast. Hopefully next time you come to stay, the weather will be as good as your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The...

Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed during a weekend in January. Suite was excellent, as were the staff and the full breakfast. Nothing at all to fault with our stay. I have stayed at a number of hotels in the area and this is up there with the best of them. Will be booking in again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Plattdh
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Howbeck. It is so rewarding for us to see you think we are one of the best hotels in this area as we are constantly trying to better ourselves and hopefully this shines through. We are all so happy you had an excellent stay and hope to welcome you again...

liverpool
Reviewed 24 January 2014

recently stayed here for my birthday for two nights on January the 10th and 11th in the windergill room.had a great time the staff are so friendly and nothing is any trouble for them the rooms are spotless and so welcoming as the staff the rose petals and bottle of wine and chocs made it that extra special .we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelagh m
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to write such a wonderful review of you stay with us at The Howbeck. We always try to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible when staying with us and it sounds like we did this as you are happy to recommend us, which we thank you for....

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Recently booked a weekend away at The Howbeck scheduled for the end of May 2014 for a surprise birthday present for my husband. Unfortunately due to personal circumstances I had to cancel the booking in January 2014 and contacted this hotel to do so, and also enquire as to whether I could obtain the £100 deposit refunded. I spoke with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah D
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review, we welcome feedback so we can continually improve and would like to take this opportunity to reply. First of all we where very disappointed to hear you felt you where spoken to in a rude an abrupt way. As manageress I personally spoke to you on the phone for over...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed one night in Greenburn MiniSuite. From the get go we had a great time. Hotel is tastefully decorated throughout. Our room had a big bed; chocolates; rose petals and fantastic bathroom, with a spa bath and fluffy robes.. All was spotlessly clean and exceptionally well appointed. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and everything was delightful....especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ENB346
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about The Howbeck, our staff and our food. We are so pleased we were able to make your stay so special and will definitely look forward to welcoming you both back.

Saltaire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed in the Greenburn mini-suite and had a fantastic stay. Everything from the room, to the location to the breakfast to the service and friendliness of the staff was exemplary. We had dinner one evening as well and that continued on the theme of a very high standard - highly recommended, its become our annual Lake District retreat!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluemoon315
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Howbeck. We are so pleased that you think The Howbeck is a wonderful place to stay and all of your positive comments reassure us we are doing ourselves proud, supplying excellent food and service. If you wish to book in the future please inform us you have stayed with us...

Bramhall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Howbeck this weekend in the Meregill room. Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff, and any request we had, was dealt with, with a smile. The room, with four poster bed, the complimentary chocolates, rose petals (cute touch) and wine, was just lovely. The only thing I can say was purely personal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaKnox
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are all very pleased you had such a lovely weekend with us. We are always looking for ways to improve on our customer service so it is very nice to hear that the staff were always smiling and helpful. We take great pride in our rooms and the added extra we supply to...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in the Capelcrag suite for one night, the room was booked as a romantic package and it was absolutely lovely; on arrival, rose petals were scattered over the bed and a bottle of bubbly was waiting on ice. The romantic package was fantastic and I would definitely stay at the Howbeck again. The room was tastefully and warmly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc M
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our romantic package and liked, what seems like everything, in your room. We are very blessed to be situated where we are as guests have the choice of a lazy afternoon in their room, enjoying television or the spa bath or a relaxing walk into picturesque Windermere...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Guest House was spotlessly clean, and the staff really helpful and friendly. The room was Lothwaite bed was really comfortable however the bathroom was really small particularly the bath. We stayed here for a weekend visit. Breakfast was good, with a good choice. We would return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your weekend break at The Howbeck, it is very nice to see your comment that you will return. Thank you very much for your kind comments about both our helpful staff and the cleanliness of our establishment. We are pleased you found your bed comfortable and enjoyed a good breakfast after a good...

north lincolnshire
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We booked The Howbeck for our 10th wedding anniversary treat..and a treat it was. We stayed in the Retreat Suite for 2 nights and Greenburn mini suite for 1 night (the Retreat was already booked). Everything in the Retreat was amazing, from the beautiful bed to the massive bathroom with romantic lighting to breakfast being served in our suite..at a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tripadvisi24
Manageress_12, Manager at The Howbeck, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your brilliant review of your stay at The Howbeck. We are all so pleased that you found our Retreat Suite amazing as it is a very special suite and we are glad between staying in The Retreat and Greenburn, that you had a very enjoyable stay. Thank you also for your comment on...

218 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (100)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.9 km away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,317 reviews
6.4 km away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 km away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 km away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxury AA Rated 5 star highly recommended, recently fully refurbished guest house just 2 mins walk from Windermere centre. A member of the "Best loved hotels of the world" all rooms have fantastic en-suites some with jacuzzis & massage showers. We have 1 luxury suite with private entrance and patio, double jacuzzi air bath, mood lighting, 2 tv's etc. If you are looking for somewhere special you will not find better in Windermere! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Howbeck

Address: Howbeck New Road, Windermere LA23 2LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 10,497 - ₹ 15,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Howbeck 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Howbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howbeck Hotel Windermere
The Howbeck Windermere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Howbeck staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Howbeck staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was downstairs quite close to reception so we could hear people coming and going but it wasn't a problem for us.”
dawntbates, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely however the retreat is our favourite as it has fabulous in-room facilities and a beautiful private patio area.”
273sallyn, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Mickleden room at back of hotel. We didn't hear any noise at all.”
katb52, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Deepdale has a good view”
801Radz, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in the Deepdale room but heard about a 4 poster bed room ;-) maybe you should ask,,,, either way the rooms are amazing”
, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 171* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$ 201
Orbitz.comUS$ 201
Agoda.comUS$ 170
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates